We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best and Trendiest Hotel in San Diego for the "it" crowd...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Save Saved
You added Hard Rock Hotel San Diego to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #62 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best and Trendiest Hotel in San Diego for the "it" crowd...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I have not liked a hotel that much since we vacationed at the ME Hotel in Cancun, which was such an amazing hotel with top notch service. Well, the Hard Rock San Diego has also that trendy vibe that late 20's-30's, people-watching, "it" crowd really love to be around. We drove from L.A. where we live and brought with us two friends that were visiting SoCal, so we decided to stay at the Hard Rock Hotel in San Diego. The main reason why we stayed at the Hard Rock San Diego was their location and of course their famous "Intervention" pool party which happened this past Sunday (it usally does every weekend in the summer).

So here are the pros of this hote: 1) Location, 2) Clientele, 3) Property/Amenities, and 4) Service
And as far as the cons go: 1) Security in Pool Party (that's about it...)

I don't give it a five star rating due to a little incident that happened to my girlfriends and I during the pool party but after speaking with the front desk manager, Brian, he made sure that we would come back again and we certainly will. I do want to thank him personally for making sure we still had good time in the hotel even though we were forced to leave the party by the violent men that handle the security at the pool party. The place is filled with intoxicated people, but let's face it, it called "Intervention" but they should have researched the incident before we were forced to levae. This won't discourage us from coming back again but I think they should have better training for their security staff which acted like dumb gorillas around my girls and I. But again, locations is amazing, the rooms are comfy and super chic, loved their rain showers in the bathrooms. A very nicely decorated hotel with rockstart memorabilia all over the place. Check out Maryjanes' for breakfast at the hotel. It was delicious.... we'll come back and again thanks Brian for bringing reason and comfort to our experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda H, Guest Relations Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Glad Brian could turn the stay around…see you and your friends again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,031 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,148
    513
    183
    95
    92
See reviews for
183
510
126
749
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here with our tween boys. Great location, very modern and "cool". We stayed Sun to Thurs. Big party for 21 and older at the pool. Saw a couple drunk people but nothing obnoxious. we didn't have any noise at night. Lots of hot girls for my husband to ogle. Good breakfast spot around the corner called the Broken Yolk. Have to valet park, expensive.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda H, Guest Relations Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Glad you and your family had a great time! Come visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Spent 4 days at the Hard Rock with a crew of 16. Concierge services hooked us up with transportation to TJ, had awsome recommendations for local eats with a group our size, and were super easy to work with.
Service rocked! Everyone from the cabana girl, to table service waitresses rocked.
Aside from kick a-- service, the Hard Rock provided the perfect vibe for our Bachelor trip. Hotel has a party fell with a boutique look that fits a Rock Star experience.
Can't wait to visit again, mostly because of how we were treated!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda H, Guest Relations Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Glad the bachelor party rocked! Excited to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I think what impresses me most about the Hard Rock Hotel San Diego is that they learn you preferences. From day 1, the staff is learning to learn the name of every guest. Now some of you may disagree, but I say 'give it time'. Maybe not on your first trip, maybe not on your second, but by the time you're on your third and 4th stay, believe me, everyone in that place knows who you are. The hotel remains a favorite based on its location in the Gaslamp, its surrounding by culinary adventures and 2 of the most fun nightlife venues in the city. I love HRHSD. When I stay in the gaslamp, its the only place I'll stay.

Room Tip: Corners are always choice if you can get one. If you're a fan of crowds and people watching req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda H, Guest Relations Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thanks for the great review and glad to hear the staff knows you well! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My fiance and I had an awesome time at the Hard Rock San Diego! The service was great from check-in, housekeeping, valet, restaurants to bar services. It's a party location on the weekends for sure but the volume never reached our room and I really wouldn't have noticed anything in my room. Speaking of rooms, it was great. Really nice clean modern look with a functioning ac (either on or off) which isn't always the case in some hotels! :) The location was really central in a nice neighborhood and the lovely Gas lamp district was on the same street with a lot to see.

A great stay all in all! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda H, Guest Relations Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for the review, I was happy to read you and your fiancé had a wonderful time and enjoyed our various services…hope to see you again, maybe for your honeymoon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Husband and I went away for the weekend and chose the Hard Rock. We had never stayed here before and we loved it. If you are looking for a quiet hotel this, may not be the hotel for you. If you are looking for fun, lots of energy, dancing etc.. this is the spot. There are a lot of younger people which may be why the hotel hallway was trashed with food and liquor bottles when we went out for breakfast the next morning and there was the occassional smell of Marijuana. But if you can overlook that it is a great place to have a good time.. We will now be staying at the Hard Rock each time we come to San Diego.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda H, Guest Relations Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Glad you enjoyed the lively energy and atmosphere! Look forward to seeing you next time you and your husband need to get away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

If you are visiting San Diego this is the only hotel to stay at.

I would have given 5 out of 5 had it not been for the fact we did not receive the rooms requested 2 x rooms with 2 queen beds. There were no twin queen rooms available so I politely requested a rollaway bed. I was informed due to the size of the rooms rollaway beds were not allowed as they were a fire hazard. Despite this I was told to go to the room and dial down for a rollaway bed and they should just bring it. This seemed very unorthodox but I did as requested. When I rang guest services they told me I wasn't allowed a rollaway bed because the room was too small and it would cause a fire hazard. After 20 hours of travelling I was in no mood to settle for this. We were then offered 2 suites which both still only had a king size bed. I was informed however that there was enough room for a rollaway bed. Thinking the additional bed would be FOC I went ahead and accepted their proposal. Once in the new rooms I again requested the rollaway bed. I was informed that there would be a charge of $30 per night per room. When I questioned this I was told we had been given an upgrade and would not get anything else FOC. I therefore declined the bed and requested extra bedding as there was a large sofa in the living space of each room.

Despite our initial problems this hotel was fantastic. Anyone staying here must visit the 207 club and also Nobu. They compliment the hotel extremely well.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda H, Guest Relations Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for the review! I apologize for the problems with your room type and rollaway beds. Contact us in advance in the future so we can help ensure this does not happen again. I hope that you were able to sleep well and that you enjoyed yourself at our venues….until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hard Rock Hotel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Address: 207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#16 Business Hotel in San Diego
#21 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#58 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel San Diego 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Rock San Diego Hotel downtown is where VIP service meets urban-chic design with world-class dining and ultra-hip nightlife for an unforgettable experience that rocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Jetsetter, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock San Diego
San Diego Hard Rock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.