We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oily and greasy” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sipz Cafe

Sipz Cafe
5501 Clairemont Mesa Blvd, San Diego, CA 92117
(858) 279-3747
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #644 of 4,058 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $1 - $20
Restaurant details
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Oily and greasy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I wanted to like Sipz Cafe but the food was just incredibly oily. The drunken noodles was full of oil and the large cup of water they supply you with won't get rid of that grease on your tongue so well. I thought that Ranchos Cocina next door had better dishes than Sipz.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    22
    7
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tourist trap”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Even though they label themselves as a vegan diner, the food is pretty much a heart attack waiting to happen. Mock meats drenched in salt and msg isn't really healthy for you.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Vegans and Vegetarians Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I really enjoy coming here. The food is sometimes so hot when you get it you have to wait to eat. There are so many choices. Before I learned I was gluten intolerant I tried a few of the mock meats, the chicken in their spicy basil dish was really good. Now I get it with tofu. I like their fresh spring rolls. Haven't tried their 'sushi' but most mock meats contain wheat gluten so I'll stay clear.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley, CA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very good vegan food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Food well prepared, very clean place, workers friendly.
Prices reasonable. Lots of variety on menu. Didn't try their fake "meat"--usually that's what makes or breaks one of these places.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
“Super Tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Super Tasty, Super CLEAN and Super Fassst Excellent Service! "Fish" is Nori wrapped mock fish cake-I preferred the "Beef" in the Drunken Noodle (so tender and well flavored) and the Sticky Rice Mango was divine-a little schmear of barely warm rice covered with warm coconut sauce and crushed peanut. Yum yum. Happy Food.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sipz Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Sipz Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sipz Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.