We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good vegan food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sipz Cafe

Sipz Cafe
5501 Clairemont Mesa Blvd, San Diego, CA 92117
(858) 279-3747
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #618 of 3,693 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $1 - $20
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Silicon Valley, CA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very good vegan food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Food well prepared, very clean place, workers friendly.
Prices reasonable. Lots of variety on menu. Didn't try their fake "meat"--usually that's what makes or breaks one of these places.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    9
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
363 reviews 363 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
298 helpful votes 298 helpful votes
“Super Tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Super Tasty, Super CLEAN and Super Fassst Excellent Service! "Fish" is Nori wrapped mock fish cake-I preferred the "Beef" in the Drunken Noodle (so tender and well flavored) and the Sticky Rice Mango was divine-a little schmear of barely warm rice covered with warm coconut sauce and crushed peanut. Yum yum. Happy Food.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great VegetarianThai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

we actually went to their newest location in Hillcrest, CA. The food was fresh and delicious. I had the spicy basil dish with tofu and brown rice. Perfect and delicious. Plenty of food, in fact I took most of it home for the next day. Had thai iced tea with boba also. Delicious! My husband isn't vegetarian and he really liked it also. Keep it up Sipz!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA (and all over)
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“LOVE IT!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Some of the best veggie food I've had, and I've had a lot. This place makes me miss the west coast something FIERCE! (Why can't we get these places in Boston???)

EXCELLENT service from the host (who gave us free cupcakes because the wait was longer than planned- and it was only 10 minutes), DELISH dishes, good prices, overall awesome.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Pricy and disappointing.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

We had high hopes for this restaurant based on the awards hanging on the wall, but this was a serious let down. Everything we tried was a weak substitute for a meat dish, and since we we weren't hoping for a meat dish anyways, all the flavors seemed off and unbalanced. There are so many creative things that can be done with vegetables in Asian cooking. I wish whomever came up with these recipes put more thought into how to celebrate the ingredients they had on hand, and less thought into how to mimic meat. If we wanted that, we'd have gone elsewhere.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sipz Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Sipz Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sipz Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.