We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Pearl Hotel to your Saves list
The Pearl Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1410 Rosecrans St (at Fenelon), San Diego, CA 92106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Diego, California
1 review
“Top Notch Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Wonderful rooms surrounding a great restaurant. I've been eating and drinking at The Pearl for years and it never disappoints. Plates and drinks are on par with some of the best in town. What's different about The Pearl is that they do it in a fun and unique way, completely void of pretension. Finally had the opportunity to stay in one of the poolside rooms. Much like the feel of the restaurant the rooms have a vintage charm with all the modern comforts and amenities you'll ever need (I was tempted to steal a pillow). If you're a fan of one of a kind boutique hotels stay at the pearl, relax by the pool, have a drink and treat yourself to a fantastic dinner.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModernTraveler10, Owner at The Pearl Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thanks for your kind review. We truly appreciate the local support and are glad to hear you had the opportunity to stay a night with us. Come visit again soon. The Pearl shines brightest when you are here. Make it a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    144
    36
    28
    17
See reviews for
51
298
76
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Angeles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This hotel is reminiscent of European pensions. Very different than the website pictures. Goldfish in each room. Very noisy until about 11 pm due to proximity of the bar. Great swim in tiny pool in am.

Room Tip: Be prepared for different - not your Hilton/Holiday Inn experience - but cheap :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModernTraveler10, Owner at The Pearl Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at The Pearl. We are definitely not like the big box/chain hotels. We are a family owned boutique hotel that strives to provide top notch guest service and quality accommodations. Very sorry to hear about the noise challenge on the evening you stayed with us. Hope you will consider giving us another try in the future. Make it a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

What a hidden gem! It was such a great stay and the service was above and beyond - the entire staff was extremely helpful, especially Meghan at the front desk who checked us in! We loved the style of the rooms (we had mirrors on the ceilings!) and the atmosphere of the restaurant at night. We went with our servers recommendation and the brussel sprouts are to die for! We cannot wait to come back on a Wednesday night for movie night!

Room Tip: Request a room with a patio/balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModernTraveler10, Owner at The Pearl Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
On behalf of the entire Pearl team, thank you for the great review. We truly appreciate the support. Glad you had a chance to enjoy the restaurant and hope to see you at Dive-In Theatre. Fun times. Make it a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This place is awesome. The rooms are awesome, the people at the front desk are beyond awesome, and don’t get me started on the food and drinks. What a great vibe and experience. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModernTraveler10, Owner at The Pearl Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Appreciate you taking the time to leave us a great review! Your support means the world to us. Thank you for supporting local business. Hope to see you again soon. Tell a friend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed here for a friends wedding and it was amazing! The service we had was unforgettable. The front desk girl that checked me in was Jen and she was very knowledgable about the area and places to go see and do in between the wedding. And the bartender made some awesome drinks. We enjoyed our stay very much. The only thing I would say they could change is their parking situation and some kind of breakfast with their awesome coffee but other than that I would definitely come again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModernTraveler10, Owner at The Pearl Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
THANK YOU for the RAD review!! We truly appreciate your support of our family business. Hope you can return for another stay. Make it a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison Heights, Virginia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I was there several years ago and I have always planned to come back. From the restaurant that uses local produce, breads and meats, to lying in a pool and watching a movie at the 'dive-in' screen it was a wonderful place to not worry about the logistics of travel. It's homey in all the right places, refined as well. The staff all speak English (surprise!) and go out of there way to make you feel welcome. Wonderful moment: lying in a hammock next to the pool in the early morning cool, reading a book when a staff member calls across the pool 'you need more coffee?' and then trots around the pool with a carafe for a refill.
The room was nice with a platform bed and comfortable amenities. I need to get back here and not leave for a few days.

Room Tip: The ones on the back hall are quieter. If you have a car, pick one that is on ground level so you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModernTraveler10, Owner at The Pearl Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
On behalf of the entire Pearl team, thank you for your kind review! We appreciate you. Thank you for returning to stay with us. Love the visual image you provided. Our staff strives to provide top notch service. Hope to see you again soon. Please tell a friend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearny, New Jersey
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This hotel was cute and trendy. Great Restaurant on-site offering movie night every night on the outside screen over the pool. Short stay but had an awesome experience! They also had beach cruisers for guests to use while staying there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModernTraveler10, Owner at The Pearl Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thanks for the great review. Glad you enjoyed our little Pearl Hotel. Always striving to provide the very best in guest experience. Come visit us again soon. Tell a Friend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Address: 1410 Rosecrans St (at Fenelon), San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#22 Family Hotel in San Diego
#35 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#37 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pearl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearl Hotel San Diego
Pearl San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pearl Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.