We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Pearl Hotel to your Saves list
The Pearl Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1410 Rosecrans St (at Fenelon), San Diego, CA 92106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #18 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
San Diego, California
1 review
“Awesome spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I decided to surprise my girlfriend with a little staycation for our anniversary and we were not disappointed. We've been to the restaurant for the dive-in but this was the first time staying in a room. The staff is amazing! They are so accommodating and genuine. It was such a special night for both of us. Thanks Pearl for providing such a unique and memorable experience! We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModernTraveler10, Owner at The Pearl Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We're so happy you chose the Pearl for your special occasion. We do have an all-star staff! Greatly appreciate the support and hope you keep returning to our hotel. Make it a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    134
    33
    28
    17
See reviews for
47
275
73
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The Pearl is a very nice hotel with clean rooms and good service. It has a pool and restaurant but no breakfast arrangements, only coffee from the bar. That is not a major problem because there is a grocery shop ("Ralph's") within walking distance, where you can get provisions. I had a ground floor room with a patio where I had breakfast (see photo). Starbucks, MacDonalds and Dennys are all within walking distance. The Ocean Beach bus to Downtown (Route 923 - every 30 mins) stops on the corner of Rosecrans and Nimitz (near Ralphs). You can buy a Day Pass (Regional) $5 + $2 which also allows travel on the Trolley from Downtown. I recommend the Trolley return trip to Old Town using your pass. All in all a pleasant stay with very friendly staff.

Room Tip: I recommend a ground floor room with access to a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModernTraveler10, Owner at The Pearl Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thanks for the kind review. We're very happy that you enjoyed your room & your stay at the Pearl. Greatly appreciate your support and hope you can return for a visit soon. Tell a friend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

The pearl is an awesome place to stay. The staff goes over and above to make sure you have what you want. The food is fantastic. The chef, Elliot Townsen, is amazing. His food was so good!! I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModernTraveler10, Owner at The Pearl Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
On behalf of the entire Pearl crew. Thank you very much for your review. Your support means the world to us. Guest experience is a top priority of our entire team. Hope to see you soon. Tell a friend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Sad to say I did not have the best time here. I really don't have anything nice to say. Used to frequent regularly but since they have changed management customer service has gone way downhill! Inego and Kimberly used to bring us fresh fruit by the pool and when I rented cabanas we were well taken care of. This will be my last visit to the pearl. We were not allowed to park at the hotel and the spot we moved out of was never filled during our stay, and 4 of us in the room were told to quiet down at 8pm. Oh yeah and don't write a negative yelp review...we were threatened with a lawsuit when a poor review was given.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModernTraveler10, Owner at The Pearl Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Very sorry you feel you had a less then stellar experience at the Pearl. I will be looking into your stay. I take each and every review very seriously. While our management team has changed a bit, ownership and pride of ownership has not. Guest experience is paramount to me and our company values.

i hope you will give us another try. feel free to reach out to me directly to discuss further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Amazing place...step back from the city and enjoy a rerlaxing and friendly hotel. Restaurant has amazing food and the staff make this place...can be a bit noisy during the evenings because of the events they hold but nothing to worry too much about!

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool are nice but can be a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModernTraveler10, Owner at The Pearl Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for the support and we appreciate your 5-star review. Glad you could visit us and hope you can return for another stay. Please tell a friend. Make it a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I’m not sure why this hotel gets so many raves. Pleasant staff aside, it’s a refurbished, very generic 1950’s motel with modest amenities in the rooms. Our personal ‘patio’ was a shallow cement slab overwhelmed by a wall, with room enough for a bench and no more. An apartment building loomed over the patio wall, making us feel as if we were the fish in a bowl. There was little natural light in our room. At $250/night [holiday rates] I wouldn’t have expected to pay $3 for the ‘boxed’ water in the room, and would have hoped for more than only ‘free’ coffee in the morning, however decent that coffee was. The pool is microscopic. As many have commented, the bar/restaurant is quite noisy, as is the street-side traffic. A disappointment.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModernTraveler10, Owner at The Pearl Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Appreciate your review and support. your comments are noted and will be discussed at our next manager meeting. Our staff does rock!!!. they work hard to provide amazing guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I walked into the Pearl with my husband with high expectations. Several of my friends have been to the Pearl before, and all have raved about their wonderful experiences, so of course I had to hold them to a high standard. Let me tell you, the Pearl and their staff did not disappoint! As soon as we walked through the door, we were greeted by the front desk with genuine smiles and friendly conversation. The general manager, who introduced herself as Natalie, told us that if we had any issues, to not hesitate to give her a call right away. How nice! (Although please note we did not encounter any issues!!)
We stayed in a "Strand" room and it was lovely. My husband, who sometimes has back problems sleeping on new mattresses, said he had never had a better night's sleep! Absolutely adored the goldfish that came in the room, too!

For dinner, we lounged poolside at EAT at the Pearl. From our drinks to our appetizers to our entrees, our meal couldn't have been better. The server was very attentive and friendly, and gave us some great recommendations.
This place is funky, has a vintage, quirky vibe, and a great place to hang out either just for drinks or for a full meal. Although I recommend staying at least a night in the hotel as well, to receive the full experience. This was a great first stay at the Pearl! I can safely say that we will be back again and again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModernTraveler10, Owner at The Pearl Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Appreciate your awesome review!! We're honored you've name us your favorite hotel in SD. Thank you for your support. Glad you got a chance to enjoy our poolside restaurant too. Please come back soon! Tell a friend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Address: 1410 Rosecrans St (at Fenelon), San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in San Diego
#35 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#35 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pearl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearl Hotel San Diego
Pearl San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pearl Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.