We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a great FAMILY HOTEL” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2576 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #9 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Kapolei, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“This is a great FAMILY HOTEL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

My husband and I travelled with our 4 daughters, ages 13-5. We got a 2 bedroom suite. Our room was super clean. The breakfast was ok and the breakfast room got a bit crowded after 8am.

This hotel, I thought, was a little far from the downtown area, but if your renting a car, I guess you'll be fine. It was close to Seaworld.

This was a family hotel, so I suppose if it were just my husband and I, we would have preferred something a little more trendy and closer to downtown.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    223
    41
    18
    8
See reviews for
522
184
27
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

Great stay. Clean, nice fabulous. didn't try breakfast because of early flight, but you can not beat the location. Central to everything. Thanks trip advisor ,your ratings never steer me wrong.
There is a good reason that this hotel is #3 in San Diego. Clean, nice and quiet.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adamsville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

We stayed Stayed at this hotel for four day Halloween weekend. Our family had one one BR Suite and one two BR Suite. We checked-in early evening and had no wait at all. Our room keys were already ready and we hit the complimentary dinner and cocktails that is offered Monday through Thursday Nights. We reserved a 2-bedroom suite and were given a room on the top floor of the north tower which had a nice view of the Marina and Coronado skyline. The suite was very spacious and excellent for groups. 2 bedroom , 2 bath, living room, and full kitchen. Parking was free and it as just a short drive into downtown or a $20 cab ride away (which can be called by the front desk). There is free internet in the room, a free Hot breakfast consisting of Eggs, Bacon, Breakfast Potatoes, Waffles, assorted fruits, rolls, and fresh juices and coffee. The hotel actually had alot of amenities: pool, outdoor fireplace, fitness center, pool table, and a basketball ball court.
We were worried about noise because of the airport but surprisingly that was not an issue, we used the hotels free shuttle service to and from the airport and it was quite convenient. You can take bus to Old Town and visit there, or catch the San Diego Transit Train at Old Town to visit stops on the way - Fashion Valley Mall, or if you're going to football game at Qualcomm Stadium (This is your best way to go) Train Drops you off at Gate 3 of the Stadium.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

My husband and I stayed here in October. I was a little concerned that since it was near the airport it might have been a little noisy, but we did not hear any noise whatsoever. My husband and I loved the room. It was huge and came equipped with a full kitchen which was stocked with utensils, oven, microwave, kitchenette table, sink and even dishwasher. This opened out into the living room which had a huge writing desk, sofa and flat screen TV. In a spearate room was a king size bed which we both found very comfortable and another flat screen tv along with two night stands. I appreciated that the bathroom sink and mirror was separate from the rest of the bathroom. Breakfast and dinner was included in our room rate. Breakfast was great! They offered waffles, eggs, bacon, fruits, cereal, bagels, toast, juices, coffee among other items. We did have dinner on 2 nights out of our stay. Dinner was adequate, just don't expect grandma's home cooking. All this for a rate of $159 a night. I thought it was a very good value. For those who did not think it was in a central location, I do not understand what would be considered central in San Diego. Yes you need a car in San Diego because it is a very spread out city and requires highway/freeway driving to get to most places. The layout is similar to LA but on a smaller scale with less traffic and you don't want to be without a car in San Diego. It is not like San Francisco. Our longest drive was about 20 min or so to get to La Jolla, took about 10 min or so to get to the Zoo/Balboa, less than that to get to the seaport/USS Midway area and about 15 min or so to get to Point Loma/Cabrillo. We would have rated this place five stars but the only thing that brought the rating down for me was that there was a hint of a cigarette scent inside of our room but not outside. We were in a non smoking room but maybe the smoking section was on the same floor as us. The air was a little stale and my husband's allergies worsened a bit in the room. It might have been the ventilation system, and there might have been some dust in it. As for the room itself, it was very clean. Overall a very good stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

This hotel was clean and staff helpful. Its handy to many things although you need a car as its not exactly central - but this is reflected in the reasonable room rate.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

Stayed at this hotel for one weekend night over Halloween weekend. On travel with a small group of friends for a night out in Gaslamp and the Charger game the next morning. We checked-in early evening and had no wait at all. Our room keys were already ready in a informative check-in package with a nice welcome letter from the manager (Nice touch!). I reserved a 2-bedroom suite and was given a room on the top floor of the north tower which had a nice view of the water and san diego skyline. The suite was very spacious and excellent for groups. 2 bedroom , 2 bath, living room, and full kitchen. Parking was free and it as just a short drive into downtown or a ~$20 cab ride away (which can be called by the front desk). This place would be perfect If it was walking distance to gaslamp. There is free internet in the room, but was kinda slow as in most hotels. The free breakfast had a good selection of food including fresh juices and coffee. The hotel actually had alot of amenities(pool, bbq, fitness center, pool table, bball court) I wish I was able to use, only if my trip was more than 1 night. I must also note that my girlfriend left her purse in a drawer after we checked-out and thought she lost it. However, the hotel took the time to call me and let me know she left it and that we could pick it up. They have very honest housekeeping! Check-out was as easy as a phone call to the front desk. As a Diamond member, I really enjoyed my stay and would def recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl City, HI
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

We stayed at this hotel from Oct 8-12th and traveled with my mother and our family (two adults, and two toddler aged children) while we visited the San Diego area. This hotel was fabulous for families with young children that need the extra space to relax and wind down at the end of a busy day. The hotel was clean, the rooms were clean and spacious and the complementary breakfast was not only delicious (make your own waffles, scrambled eggs, assortment of breads, bagels and muffins, fresh fruit, cereal, breakfast meat, assortment of juices, coffee, tea and hot chocolate) but a time saver for families with young children. The pool was also very nice to swim in at night as it was heated to a comfortable temperature that I didn't even hesitate to swim with my 20 month old in the early evening.

The location of the hotel was also minutes from the airport, minutes from the market (Vons and Trader Joe's and had great eating places within walking distance. The area outside of the hotel was very quiet and we felt extremely safe walking around with our young children at night.

Additionally the staff was very friendlly and helpful.. and as a result of my experience here I will try to stay at a Homewood suites anywhere I travel from now on.. if they were all as good as this one, this chain of hotels will truly be my home away from home...

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station

Address: 2576 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Diego
#4 Family Hotel in San Diego
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego Airport - Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Homewood Suites Liberty Station
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.