We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay in San Diego” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2576 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #8 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Shawnee, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Stay in San Diego”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This hotel is a great place to stay for families visiting San Diego. The location puts you 15 minutes from the Zoo, Sea World, and Mission Beach. There is also a great public park just minutes (walking) from the property. The manager's reception, in which dinner is served, certainly helps on cutting expenses while on vacation...the breakfast was great as well. I will certainly be staying here on my next visit to San Diego. Forgot to mention Free Parking.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick B, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thanks for staying with us and writing the wonderful comments! You highlited many of the great amenities here, so thank you for that and we look forward to your return trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    242
    45
    19
    8
See reviews for
556
200
30
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cucamonga, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

My family and I booked this room in anticipation of our trip to SeaWorld. Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted by the lobby staff. The lobby was clean and well appointed. While checking in we were informed that our room had been upgraded to a two-room suite. When we entered the room my family and I were pleasantly surprised with the accommodations. We found the room was comfortable and nicely furnished. We were so happy with the room that we ended up booking the room for an additional night. There is a Starbucks and restaurants within a 2 - 3 minute walk and it is a short drive to SeaWorld. I will book there in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick B, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for the great comments! I am glad your family had a great time at our hotel and in our fine city. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaysville, Utah
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We chose this hotel for its proximity to the airport and then discovered we were within 10 minutes drive of everything else we needed or wanted to do. Our dinner and breakfast were included in the rate of $203. Dinner was excellent - fried chicken, mashed potatoes, green beans, mac and cheese, salad...! We probably saved more than $60 by not having to eat at restaurants for those two meals. The room was cool and comfortable. It had a refrigerator and everything you would need to fix your own meals. I would recommend this hotel for business travelers as well as for families wanting to go to Sea World or hit the beaches - only 10 minutes away!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick B, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind remarks! I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast and dinner menus! We have a great location as you mentioned, and a great staff. Thanks for staying and we look forward to a return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

My husband returned from deployment and we planned a one night get away. They had told us over the phone we could check in early, we rode our bikes down, and our room wasn't ready for hours. We then found the bike rack at the edge of the property and we asked if there was somewhere else we could leave them, they said sorry, no. We had the latest greatest lock, which we found cut clean through the next morning. Bikes were gone. We went to the front desk and they said there was nothing they could do, wouldn't call the private security, and were unable to shuttle us home, 2 miles away.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick B, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
We are so sorry about your bikes being taken! This would definitely be a major set back in being able to enjoy your get-away.

I have spoken to our staff and several remember taking with you. We store bikes behind our front desks all the time, so I don't know what happened with you. I'm guessing that we didn't offer, and you didn't specifically ask this, so maybe that's why this option wasn't given? We definitely remember telling you about storing the bikes in your room, as several guests will do.

As far as not offering you a ride back to your home...we would always do this for any guest that asked...especially under your situation. No one remembers you asking for this?

We are good caring people that take care of our guests and each other whenever we can. We are sorry that this happened and hope you give us the benefit of the doubt on some of your comments.

If you ever want to try out another local night on the town, please give me call so I can make sure your time is wonderful. Thanks! 619 358 8601
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We went to Comc Con and stayed here, great service and clean rooms. It conveniently located around restaurants and the pool was clean. They have a kitchenette with plates and pans included, we utilized them : )

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick B, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for the kind remarks! Hope you had a great time at Comicon!! It is one of our busiest times of the season! Glad we made your stay memorable! Hope to see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This hotel never fails to satisfy! I've stayed here before, and this time I stayed during the ComicCon weekend. Eventhough Captain America, Hello Kitty girls, and WitchCraft characters were in line for breakfast, it was again a pleasant stay! The view of the bay from our window was calming. Breakfast had a good variety, a taste of Mexican food actually, and you have a choice of waffle sizes, either a big waffle or 4 mini waffles. The room was clean as usual. Since my son joined us, we still had some privacy by having a separate room in the suite, while he slept on the sofa bed in the living room area. BTW, there is a shuttle that takes you to the Convention Center for ComicCon, but it could take almost 1 hour since it is the farthest stop and last trip is 11pm. We just took our car and parked near the USS Midway. Pleasant staff as usual. We'll be back on our next SD trip!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick B, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thanks for the wonderful comments and for coming back! Love to hear about return guests! Usually means we are doing something right! Thanks for your loyalty and we will see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We've stayed here before and enjoyed another stay. This time we got an upgrade to a two bedroom because someone else stayed another night. It's only 20 minutes to mission beach and downtown. The only time I heard a plane was when I was at the pool and hot tub. Great evening meals Monday-Thursday with wine and bud light. One night was salmon with capers and the other was fried chicken with garlic mashed potatoes.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick B, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Great comments! Thank you! Yes, many folks are apprehensive when they see our location in relation to the airport. However, when they built the property they took that in to consideration so we seldom (if ever) get complaints about airplane noise. Yes, you will hear them when outside, but inside remains very quiet with regards to the airplanes. Thanks for the shout out for our staff and dinner items! We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station

Address: 2576 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Diego
#4 Family Hotel in San Diego
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego Airport - Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Homewood Suites Liberty Station
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.