We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to be away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2576 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #9 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Redondo Beach, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best place to be away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Quality service from the get go. Spotless, friendly, convenient parking, excellent San Diego area. Made me feel at home and my stay of 28 days felt short. I want to come back for my next work assignment in Southern California.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella T, Front Desk Agent at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Miriam S!

Thank you for the great review. Glad you felt right at home, that’s what we’re all about! Look forward to your return.

All the best,
Stella.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    214
    40
    16
    7
See reviews for
504
174
26
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I had originally booked two nights. When I arrived I asked the front desk clerk if the room would be available for a third night. She checked and it was available. The front desk staff was helpful and friendly. When we checked into the room I was kind of blown away. There was a refrigerator, sink, range, and microwave. It was a king studio suite and there was a loveseat with a coffee table. I was really impressed with the room. It was also quiet and clean. They have a breakfast and dinner every day. The breakfast was great. It was not the same food everyday. We didn't take advantage of the dinner since we wanted to eat at local restaurants. The only complaint I would have is that the housekeeping staff did not empty the garbage under the sink the second day. Other than that everything was great. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella T, Front Desk Agent at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
G’day easiwin1948!

Looks like we wowed you away - delighted to hear that our services met your needs and that we were able to accommodate your request for an extension through your stay.

Just to clarify; our dinner services are only hosted Monday to Thursday nights which also include a light beer and wine, but breakfast we offer every morning. It is good to hear you were able to experience Liberty Station local eateries some of which offer for families, couples and the solo traveler.

I am sorry to hear that housekeeping didn't empty your trash during your second day of your stay with us. We recommend calling the front desk and we can easily take care of that for the guest, as we do have a house-person always on site if by chance housekeeping forgot a few items to be replenished or removed.

Look forward to your return visit!
Stella.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, Kansas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Excellent place to stay in San Diego! Very clean! Terrific staff- very courteous and helpful! They have a terrific breakfast and an even better evening meal with wine and beer Monday through Thursday. We had a Mexican buffet that was better than most restaurants! Very close to the bus stop- you can take the 923 to downtown and back when you are done- very close! Excellent value and place to stay!!!

Room Tip: Ride the 923 bus to downtown! Very inexpensive and close!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella T, Front Desk Agent at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
G’day Kansas534!

I am delighted to hear that your stay with us was such an enjoyable experience. Looks like you took advantage of our Taco Tuesday night, which is always a favorite with the guests. We do in fact have 2 bus stations just outside our hotel within walking distance #28 and #923 (#933 on weekends) that travels to old town, downtown and beach locations. Look forward to seeing you again.


Sincerely and respectfully,
Stella.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, CA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I picked this hotel based on the excellent reviews from other tripadvisor patrons. Our stay was for a family wedding in Point Loma, so the location was great. There are a lot of very good things about this hotel and a few minor complaints:

1. Clean, well appointed rooms with comfortable beds. However, the lighting in the bathrooms is very dim. I would have appreciated a lighted makeup mirror in the master. The kitchen, although we didn't use it on this trip, is well equipped and a nice size for four or more people. Good, high speed internet access and I liked the working desk in the guest room.

2. The hotel was very quiet; I hardly heard any noise. We were in room 414 facing the courtyard with a partial water view. The blackout curtains were great and the room temperature was good.

3. I thought the breakfast options could have been better. Not many cereal choices, and the same scrambled eggs, sausage and potatoes for the three days we stayed. However, the waffle maker is a nice touch.

We went to the Marriott next door for a cocktail one night and we walked to Liberty Station for lunch and dinner during our stay. Some great restaurant choices there as well as fast food and ice cream, coffee, etc.

This is a great area to stay in as a base for your San Diego visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda A, Front Office Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for staying with us here at the Homewood Suites in Liberty Station! I wanted to thank you for the time you took to share your overall positive comments with us! It is our goal here to make each guest feel like they are at home! I am sorry to hear that our breakfast was not to your full satisfaction! I will pass your comments along to our food and beverage team, to ensure we are providing the best variety we can! Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to your next visit with us here in San Diego!

Amanda Arris
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leavenworth, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a great place to stay when visiting San Diego. The Liberty Station Homewood is family oriented, yet individual travelers are not overwhelmed by kids! The rooms are nice, clean, and quiet. I have stayed here twice within the past year and the service and facilities are consistently excellent. I will stay here again and highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella T, Front Desk Agent at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
G’day Jana H!

Thank you very much for the recommendation. It is so nice to receive feedback from a return guest and to hear that our services still wow you over. Our property indeed has a wide diversity of both long term guests and the vacationers, which certainly caters to both families and the solo traveler. We look forward to seeing you again.


Sincerely and respectfully,
Stella.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Great place to stay with my kids, nice location, good staff. No options for vegetarians on the Managers evening meal which is a shame. Walking distance to shops and restaurants. Would stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella T, Front Desk Agent at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
G’day TripAdvisor Member!

Thank you for the great review and for the recommendation. Our breakfast and evenings meals are a buffet style and vary every day. However, we do suggest anyone with a special dietary requirements or allergies to let us know so we can arrange something fitted to the guests needs. I would highly recommend next time you visit us, let us know that you need vegetarian substitute, we would be more than happy to fix something for your family.

Safe travels,
Stella.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merrit island, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I was very comfortable during my stay and was treated well by the staff. It was as close to feeling at home as I have felt on the road. The complimentary breakfast and evening social was a bonus. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella T, Front Desk Agent at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
G'day Nick K!

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Homewood Suites and for the recommendation! I am glad to hear you felt right at home with the free meals- that is what we’re all about.

Safe travels,
Stella.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station

Address: 2576 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Diego
#4 Family Hotel in San Diego
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego Airport - Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Homewood Suites Liberty Station
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.