We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liberty Station Hilton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2576 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #8 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Aiea, United States
1 review
“Liberty Station Hilton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great hotel location, clean and very accomodating to all travelers from business to family. Very easy and comfortable - feels like home. The complimentary breakfast and dinners with free wine and beer are very convenient especially traveling with family. Sea World and SD Zoo are close and easy to get to; downtown and balboa park are nearby as well. Parking is a non-issue and there is a sushi, thai and pizza/beer parlor within 5 minute walk across the parking area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonBatt, Front Desk Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Hi Marylin R,

Great review. Short and sweet and exactly what we want people to see is that were accommodate all types of traveler while giving them a sense of that home feeling. Come back again sometime.

Sincerely,

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    243
    45
    20
    8
See reviews for
556
200
30
185
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Quite disappointed with my stay here, despite all the rave reviews. Check in staff was average, but the first thing that had me wondering why I chose this hotel was the hot hallway walking to our room that obviously was not air conditioned and the strong smell of what the quests cooked in their rooms the night before. Not a good mix!!!! Then to our one bedroom suite that was very tight and in serious need of an update and a good cleaning. Spent the extra money for a bay view room which wasn't worth it. The linens were not what you expect at a Hilton either; extra thin sheets, an old looking pilled blanket and a tired looking bedspread. I will say the breakfast offering was quite good, but that is the only thing that was decent about this hotel. If I paid half of what I spent, I wouldn't have minded so much but this Homewood Suites is not worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The facility is average at best. The room was ok. Clean Enough. The pull out bed was poor. The breakfast area wasn't staffed well enough and the people there seemed overworked to the point of not caring. No glasses clean for juice. Coffee ran out and no attention to keeping it brewing for the constant flow of people. I stayed on Hilton points and feel that 50000 is too steep for this place. They can do better and should.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I attended a 3-day professional conference at the nearby Sheraton Hotel and Marina in June, and I decided to bring my family along so we could make a week-long vacation out of it. The Homewood Suites was such a great value for us. The nightly rate was less than the Sheraton's special conference rate, plus the Homewood Suites included a hot breakfast buffet, parking, internet and a hot dinner buffet including beer and wine (the dinner buffet was for four of the seven nights we were there). I would have had to pay extra for all of these items at the Sheraton. Even though the food was free, it was good. I would say it was equivalent to "fast casual" food you would get at major national restaurant chains such as Applebee's, Ruby Tuesday, Olive Garden, etc. It was about a 30 minute walk to and from my conference across a small pedestrian foot bridge and then along a trail through the scenic Spanish Landing Park. Given the great weather in San Diego, these walks were quite enjoyable. By car, the conference was only 5 minutes away. The hotel is very convenient to the airport, and its central location served as a great jumping off point for my family's adventures each day. I would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends wanting to stay in San Diego. I would also recommend that you have a car so you can better explore the San Diego area and its many tourist attractions.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonBatt, Front Desk Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Hey RebelHokie,

Thanks so much for the great review and for staying with us even though your conference at the Sheraton. It's really not that far, so it's great to hear you took advantage of our weather here and walked the short distance. Our location really is awesome when it comes to wanting to explore the different parts of the city, however a car is always nice because like you said not everything is walking distance. The family must have loved it, I'm happy to hear you were able to take advantage of that opportunity to bring them along.

Cheers!

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We hosted our Family Reunion at Homewood Suites June 28-31, 2013 and we had a great time. The staff was very accommodating and very professional. I really liked the location of the property. I had a two bedroom suite that was really nice. Special thanks to the staff that worked our banquet (Robert and Tonya you were great). The food at the banquet was good also. My family really enjoyed the breakfast each morning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonBatt, Front Desk Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Gus,

Thanks again for choosing us of all places to host your family reunion, we are truly honored! It's always nice to hear that our staff was very accommodating to our guests so thanks again, I will make sure Robert and Tonya are recognized for their excellent service. We hope to have you and your family back here again next year.

Take care!

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We are big fans of Homewood Suites in general since we have young children and like having the option of putting them to bed early and being able to watch TV or plan the next days activities in the other room. This was a perfectly fine Homewood Suites, but #3 on Tripadvisor...I just don't get it. The hotel was clean, the service was good (especially the maintenance staff who came to my rescue twice). The pool was just average. The breakfast was standard, and the front desk, although very nice were not able to help when asked about discounts for local attractions. My tech savvy husband had trouble printing in the business center. But on a good note, it was a good place to watch the July 4th fireworks, and there is shopping and a couple of good restaurants next door at Liberty Station.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Great location, near Starbucks, SmashBurger, Mexican, Nail salon and an awesome Pizza place. Grocery store is close. Hotel is located on the beautiful Harbor, friendly staff, free breakfast, etc, etc, etc.

Breakfast area is a bit congested in the morning, but no one was pushy or angry... and staff worked very hard to keep everything flowing

I would definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonBatt, Front Desk Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
HI GYWDallas,

We appreciate you staying with us and for being understanding of the breakfast rush, we do the best we can so thanks for noticing, come back anytime!. Also, our location is great so thanks for sharing your comments.

Sincerely and respectfully,

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station

Address: 2576 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Diego
#4 Family Hotel in San Diego
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego Airport - Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Homewood Suites Liberty Station
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.