We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location FREE MEALS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2576 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #8 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Belton,Missouri
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Great Location FREE MEALS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed at Homewood Suites rooms had kithen,seperate bedroom off living room and nice view of bay. They serve free full breakfast daily and dinner on week nights. Staff was very nice nice pool, fireplace outside, game room with pool table. Transportation they offer free shuttle to and from airport. Really enjoyed our stay will be back again.

Room Tip: If you are a Hilton honors member you can pick your room 3 days out from your stay. Best chance to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonBatt, Front Desk Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hi gslincorp,

Thanks for taking the time to share your comments with the TripAdvisor world. We do appreciate it and also the fact that you are a Hilton Honors Member. As you are aware, Homewood Suites is known for our free meals and we are very fortunate to have such a great location here.

Sincerely and respectfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    600
    199
    37
    15
    7
See reviews for
469
162
24
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey, Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I'm a luxury traveler. But now that I have 4 daughters is quite different. I can't spend simply double rooms anywhere. However, what I like or what we value the most of the 4 or 5 diamond hotels is cleanliness. Believe me, this hotel offers you that and everything else. There are some pictures that I saw in tripadvisor that make me double check that the rooms could be cleaned. And people from the hotel did a Great Job!! Again, thanks a lot!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonBatt, Front Desk Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hi Reingeniero,

I'm happy to hear it was more than you expected and you enjoyed tour stay here. Luxury travel is a great way to travel, especially with 4 daughters, we appreciate you choosing us! I have to agree and add that our housekeeping staff is excellent and keep this place nice and clean. Thank for your comments, please come back and visit anytime!

Sincerely and respectfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We worried a little about it's proximity to the airport, but actually no noice bothered any of us at all. Free parking, free hot brkfst, free wifi as a gold member, I was given a goodie bag which contained cookie and water. A nice gesture. Overall, nothing to complain. Will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonBatt, Front Desk Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Hi Bostonwalker,

Glad the noise was not an issue and you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your loyalty as a Gold member and look forward to having you back.

Sincerely and respectfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ogden
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Great location near the airport with a shuttle that runs all day. The aircraft noise is non-existant. Located in a former Naval Station that has been converted into a business park. Lots of restaurants, galleries and miles of paths to walk or ride a bike away from traffic. There is a community playground and open park space with a memorial to submarines lost in action within a couple of minutes walk of the hotel. A dummy US Navy ship USS Recruit is permanently parked behind the hotel. Close to downtown and other SD area attractions. Large rooms, some with full kitchens, great for families. Free full breakfast. Homemade selections change every day. Evening reception with appetizers and sodas or beer also included in room rate. Game room with pool table. Another plus is that Stone Brewing World Bistro & Gardens will be open inside Liberty Station in early 2013. Rates are quite reasonable for what is offered. Some noise from adjoining rooms and hallway that did not disturb my stay.

Room Tip: My corner room had two windows and a full kitchen. Ground floor. Upper level rooms have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonBatt, Front Desk Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Hi Steven l,

It's looks like from the pictures you were for our Cinco de Mayo celebration, I hope you enjoyed that. Thanks for the speedy review and for posting all those beautiful pictures, not many people do that but it really helps people visualize what they can expect here, so cheers! We hope to have you come back and stay with us again sometime.

Sincerely and respectfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Wow! This part of San Diego was actually the best part of our US holiday. The area was an unexpected surprise in a good way. What a lovely hotel in a superb location. We had a few issues with lift noise but front desk was able to move us. The buffet breakfast was quite good with the waffles being the main hit for our children. The breakfast area itself was lovely. I enjoyed going there before my family to enjoy a cuppa and read the paper before the big day ahead. I can't tell you how lovely the surrounding area is! Beautiful water and lawns, well kept buildings. We all want to go back. Don't hesitate to stay at Homewood. (stayed in May 2012 but couldn't select it here).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonBatt, Front Desk Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hi jgirls,

Thanks so much for your review, wow is rite! It's very nice to hear that and nice of you to still write this, even though your stay with us was that long ago. It's also great to hear we were able to accommodate your issue with the noise and the room move was a good choice. Your choice to come down to breakfast early was definitely a good idea too, our backyard is so peaceful in the early mornings. If you ever come back to the US, we would love to have you stay here with us again.

Sincerely and respectfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We enjoyed our stay immensely, with great accommodations and service. We liked the big room, and upscale linens. The decor and functionality of the rooms was excellent, and the bed comfortable. The rooms was quiet except for air traffic from the nearby international airport.
The check in was painless, and the front desk people were helpful throughout the week with advice and recommendations. Breakfast was good, and the evening meals seemed nice, although we did not partake. Excellent location and nice free parking.
Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonBatt, Front Desk Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi Carfull,

It's nice to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, thanks for your review. Next time you will have to try our delicious dinners, they are also complimentary! Thank you for recommending us.

Sincerely and respectfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had a son graduating so we booked 2 rooms and had lots of family there. Not great service, not a great room. Good Breakfast and nice sidewalk and grounds. Didn't provide enough sheets or towels for the number of guest staying. Didn't replace the remote control that wasn't working. The staff was not rude, just didn't really seem to care about us. I'll go somewhere else next time but the grounds are nice near the water and ducks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonBatt, Front Desk Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hello TripAdvisor Member,

It is disappointing to hear that you were unhappy with our service and your stay overall. We do the best we can for all of our guests and there is no excuse for the remote not being replaced, we should have been able to do that on call right away! Please do not think that we don't care about you, that is definitely not the case. I wish I would have known all of this before reading it on here. but I appreciate your honesty and for sharing your comments, so we can continue to always improve!

Sincerely and respectfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station

Address: 2576 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Diego
#4 Family Hotel in San Diego
#42 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego Airport - Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Homewood Suites Liberty Station
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.