We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a long stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2576 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #8 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great for a long stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We booked a one-bedroom suite, and upgraded to a view of the bay. Watching people jog by the bay in the early morning was worth the extra money we paid. We had our kids sleep on the pullout sofa, and it worked for them - I would not recommend it for an adult, though - it was a thin mattress. I loved the area - though I am not sure how some of the others say it's a quiet area - it's in a major flight area. When airplanes weren't roaring overhead, it was quiet, but if you are a light sleeper, you might want to go somewhere further from the airport. There is a great path for jogging and walking by the bay, and the exercise room and laundry room were convenient. Breakfast and dinner were included (dinner M-Th, breakfast - 7 days), which is a big bonus - just arrive early enough to get a table. One major drawback was the lack of kids programming on the TV - bring a portable DVD player for kids' downtime - the hotel charges nearly $20 to rent one movie. However, service was outstanding from check-in to check-out, the King-sized bed was comfortable, and the room was very clean. We will stay there the next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: We were in the North Building, but I think the bay views might be better from the South Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    600
    199
    37
    15
    7
See reviews for
469
162
24
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Red Bluff, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Clean and comfortable room. We had 3 children with us and took a 2 bedroom suite. Having the 2nd bathroom was very convenient. The kitchen is well stocked with dinnerware, utensils and cookware. Apartment sized fridge with ice maker and dishwasher were welcome features. The moring breakfast had something to satisfy everyone. I especially appreciated eating from ceramic plates and with real silverware rather than paper and plastic. The hotel also serves dinner, but Mon-Thurs, but we had plans at night and did not try the dinners. The boys (ages 8 and 9) loved the sport court and a lot of energy was burned playing basketball. The pool was a hit, too. Big enough to accomodate a good number of people and deep enough to be fun. But not so big or so deep that we had to be on the edge of the pool while watching the kids. The area is quiet (except for the planes taking off overhead - which cannot be avioded if you are going to stay anywhere near the water....). There are a number of restaurants within walking distance. We enjoyed the food from the Thai, brew pub and hamburger places. Subway was covenient for a quick sandwich grab. The Greek place...not so great. Von's has a beautiful store very close by and there is a Trader Joe's, too. The location is convenient to go anywhere. There is a public walking/bike path along the water right behind the building. Lovely for a stroll or jog and there is a beautiful playground nearby. Parking is ample and free. The desk staff and the housekeeping staff are A-1. Friendly service. Excellent housekeeping. There is a self service laundry room. My only knock on this place is the sofa bed in our room was pretty much unusable. Our 3 yr old granddaughter slept on it. She is small and doesn' take up much room and she complained that the bed was uncomfortable and "wumpy" (lumpy). The springs groaned and crackled with any weight on them and the mattress was awful - you could feel every spring.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel is super convenient to sea world, downtown and several beaches. It's clean, quiet and a great place for families. Breakfast AND dinner are included which is helpful if you've been out playing all day. I definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Our spring break trip was helped made enjoyable by this property. Our check in was smooth, our room was clean, and we didn't have to pay for parking. The complimentary breakfast was good, but if we wanted, we could've used the kitchen in the room. The location is quiet, and secure feeling, as the Navy has a training station across the street from the hotel. The park to the south of the hotel is within easy walking distance, and at times, fishing was taking place from a nearby bridge. We liked the location in relation to our planned sight seeing trips to Balboa park, whale watching, Queen Mary, and shopping. The price may seem steep, as our Las Vegas hotels offer way more luxury for half the price, but this is the going rate for SD hotels. Just keep in mind you may be paying 25-30 dollars per day for other hotel parking, and breakfast would cost you 20-50 dollars a day for the same food. You can't find a better value, and I can see why this hotel is rated #5 in the Trip Advisor standings.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just spent a week at this hotel for spring break. Again they did not disappoint. Loved the fact we got an email a few days before we left that invited us to select our own room from a list of available choices. Obviously there was small print that it wasnt 100% guaranteed but still. So we chose our rooks based on what we could remember from a previous visit and even though we didnt arrive til 10pm it was still waiting for us. I walked into the lobby to the reception desk and was greeted by 2 guys who looked at me and said you must ...... i laughed and said yeah how did you know? and they said well its the last check in we have tonight but it was still a nice way to be welcomed. Rooms comfortable, plenty of towels and the ice maker in the fridge was really nice and quiet. Breakfasts were excellent with plenty of choice the staff are very helpful. Evening meal were pretty good and we made use on a number of evenings. Pool was nice and quiet and i cant wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

this hotel employs an admirable front desk team. jason, stella, del, rebecca and sydney were extremely helpful in facilitating an extra 2 nights at the property. this enabled us to be right across the street from the wedding we were attending.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nixa, Missouri
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Clean, quiet rooms and a great location to explore San Diego. Complimentary dinner and drinks 4 nights a week as well as a full hot breakfast every day. There are several restaraunt options within walking distance. I would highly reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station

Address: 2576 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Diego
#4 Family Hotel in San Diego
#42 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego Airport - Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Homewood Suites Liberty Station
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.