We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Value, Wonderful Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2576 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #9 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value, Wonderful Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I have never written a review here before, but we just got home after two nights at the Homewood Suites San Diego, and felt compelled to share our stay. I have stayed at many hotels at all different levels - from Super 8 to the St. Regis, and I will say that I have never had better service than at the Homewood Suites. (to be fair, the St. Regis is equivalent in service). The staff - every single one of them is super friendly. From housekeeping to the front desk to the guy repairing the elevator - every one of them smiled, said hello, and asked how we were doing. You can have a gorgeous property, but it is the people who work there who are the heart of the guest's experience. We had a one bedroom suite, on the fourth floor overlooking the bay. The room was fine - very clean and comfortable. The couch in the living room sucks. You can tell it is older, and not very comfy. But the kitchen was very nice, and the layout worked perfect for us, as our 18 month old slept in a pack n play in the living room, and we shut the door and had the other half of the place to ourselves. Luxurious, no. But perfectly adequate and comfortable, absolutely. There were nice bathroom amenities, popcorn and coffee in the room, free parking, no resort fee or extra crazy fees, free wireless, free DVR rental (kind of a lame DVR selection, so I went to the Redbox down the street and got my own), free breakfast (food was fine - eggs, yogurt, fruit, bagels, english muffins, oatmeal, granola, and a rotating main dish - our dates they had French Toast one day and biscuits and gravy the other). In addition, on Monday through Thursday nights, they also serve free dinner, free beer (Bud Light on tap), and free wine. Very nice salad bar, soup, and a rotating main dish. Night one was Paella (not a huge fan of this, but I never am. Chicken was super dry, but I made a meal of the salad bar). And night two was vegetable and meat lasagna, garlic bread, and antipasta salad. Such a good deal for the price - I would absolutely stay here again, especially if I was there with my kid, because the living arrangement was perfect. The only negatives are that the airport is close, and you can hear the planes from some areas - we were fine in our room, though. So ask when you call. And two, the location is kind of out on its own - there are nice shopping centers nearby, but if you are looking to be in the action of San Diego, this isn't. But it is a ten minute drive to get downtown and also to Sea World. The staff alone was worth a return visit - they really made us all feel welcome. My husband, who doesn't always notice stuff like this, said we should see if they had a comment card to fill out on the way out. That says something!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    606
    200
    38
    15
    7
See reviews for
478
162
24
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is our 2nd stay at the Liberty Station Homewood Suites. We returned this year because we had such a good experience last year. They breakfasts are beyond anything found at a standard hotel, fresh baked pastries, scrambled eggs/omelets, variety of meats, fresh fruits, and so much more. Dinner is served on Monday thru Thursday evenings ... good variety of hot dishes, salads, desert, beer and wine.

The only negative/disappointing thing was the bed linens. The sheets are thin and blankets for the King bed barely reached the sides of the bed (probably a queen blanket). The extra blanket (foam type) in the closet was in very poor shape. One edge had been cut off and half of the blanket felt sticky. It looked as if it was left in a too hot dryer. The bed linens are in desperate need of replacement. I would have given this hotel a "5" if it had quality bed linens.

Room Tip: Ask for a "bayview" room WITH a balcony. Not all bayview rooms have the balcony. Makes suc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I spent a week here and this is one of my favorite all time hotels! Having a hotel with a view of the water, backed by a small shopping center w/supermarket within 1 mile of downtown San Diego can't be beat. The shopping center had a couple of restuarants and a grocery store so I was set for the week. The walking path led to a large park where I attended a cultural festival on one day and listened to bands on another day. This location was within 2 miles of my work location, I couldn't have asked for anything more... The staff was wonderful as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

They were knowledge, courteous and outstanding in every regard. Jason, Derek, Stella, David were all so very kind. Mercedes is an amazing homemaker and made sure our room was really clean. I appreciate the excellence. Roger Stanton

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed at the Homewood Suites at the conclusion of our stay in San Diego. My husband is Diamond with Hilton and our stay was reserved using HH points. I chose this hotel based on reviews from Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. The gentleman at the front desk gave us an awesome greeting/welcome. We chatted about the Patriots game that had concluded and he informed us that we were upgraded to a two bedroom/two bath suite overlooking the pool and water. How nice!!! The room wasn't quite ready, so we took the opportunity to explore. We passed through the dining/breakfast area to outside. They have very comfy chairs around a fireplace. Such a nice touch. The pool area looked nice. Unfortunately we didn't get a chance to relax and use it during this stay, but we hope to return. Our room was lovely. Two bedrooms, both with ensuite bathrooms. Each bedroom also has a ceiling fan which we loved. There is a full kitchen with stove, microwave, dishwasher, fridge and plates and utensils. We took advantage of this amenity one evening and ordered Chinese takeout and relaxed back in our room. It was great. The hotel is maintained beautifully and housekeeping did a great job with cleaning, towels etc. The hotel is near the airport and about 10 minutes away from dowtown San Diego. It was very easy to explore from this "home base" location. There are also a couple of restaurants within the Liberty Station plaza that are very convenient. We would defintely recommend a stay here and we hope to return in the future! Thank you Homewood Suites!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, Channel Islands
Top Contributor
380 reviews 380 reviews
200 hotel reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
486 helpful votes 486 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We booked the Homewood Suites for our 2 night stay on the strength of Tripadvisor reviews. We were very satisfied with the accommodation that comprised a comfortable sitting room with small balcony off, separate bedroom and bathroom/toilet with a strange arrangement of the washbasin being part of the bedroom not the bathroom.
There was no in room safe which was frustrating and, as seems the case in most US hotels, no kettle but a reasonably equipped small kitchen. However, with a little improvisation, water can be boiled in the microwave for making a cup of tea - very British!
I thought the hotel was very good value for money when one takes into account the fact that on a Monday to Thursday there is a good quality evening meal provided with wine or beer between 5.30pm and 7.30pm although it is in a rather un-atmospheric room adjoining Reception. Something simple like dimming the lights in the evening would make a huge difference to this area. Breakfast was also taken here and was of varying quality but more than adequate.
The hotel is somewhat out on a limb if you don't want to drive everywhere but the Old Town Hop On Hop Off Trolley does stop at the hotel for early morning pick ups at 8.30am and 9.30am. There is very little to do in the immediate area but a taxi ride to Seaport where there is a bit of action is not too far away.
Another strange thing is that there is no bar to relax nor can you take drinks outside into the comfortable seating/BBQ area - they said it was something to do with planning permission when the hotel opened and its ethos (whatever that means)!!
The Marriott next door and almost sharing the same external area does have a bar and you can sit in their gardens near their pool with a drink so I suggest if you want to relax, you book rooms at the Homewood Suites as they are quite roomy and go next door after dinner to sample their bar scene where there seemed to be a bit of life.
I would say the hotel is more geared to business people visiting San Diego than tourists who may want to hit the sites on a short stay but you certainly can't complain about value for money.
If we were visiting San Diego again, an absolutely beautiful City, we would stay nearer the tourist areas of Gaslamp, Coronado or Seaport.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view overlooking the back of the hotel (slightly more expensive). Rooms on the si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franktown, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

A long term contract has me at the Homewood Suites San Diego for 3 months (so far).Every service has been outstanding:housekeeping, front desk help, etc. The standout though, has been food service. The breakfast supervisor, Nichole, makes a practice of asking how she can make life better for you, and then does it! For example, one guest mentioned that he loved grits and she had them for him the next day. She noticed that I appreciate fresh fruit and hand carried a cup of fresh strawberries and blue berries to me when I walked in. The attention paid to meeting guest's needs is exemplary. It's not home but it is the next best thing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek K, Front Office Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you Steve for your very nice words. It’s great to hear feedback from a long term guest that all departments are firing on all cylinders, keeping our hotel clean and friendly.

Nichole is certainly an outstanding team member, always insuring that guest needs and requests are met and exceeded. We have already passed these compliments on to our associates and they are very grateful for your review.

Happy Holidays!
Your friends at the Homewood!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station

Address: 2576 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Diego
#4 Family Hotel in San Diego
#42 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego Airport - Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Homewood Suites Liberty Station
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.