We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful location, yummy meals, and friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Priceline.com
and 8 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2576 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #9 of 270 hotels in San Diego
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Peaceful location, yummy meals, and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is our 2nd stay at the Liberty Station Homewood Suites. We returned this year because we had such a good experience last year. They breakfasts are beyond anything found at a standard hotel, fresh baked pastries, scrambled eggs/omelets, variety of meats, fresh fruits, and so much more. Dinner is served on Monday thru Thursday evenings ... good variety of hot dishes, salads, desert, beer and wine.

The only negative/disappointing thing was the bed linens. The sheets are thin and blankets for the King bed barely reached the sides of the bed (probably a queen blanket). The extra blanket (foam type) in the closet was in very poor shape. One edge had been cut off and half of the blanket felt sticky. It looked as if it was left in a too hot dryer. The bed linens are in desperate need of replacement. I would have given this hotel a "5" if it had quality bed linens.

Room Tip: Ask for a "bayview" room WITH a balcony. Not all bayview rooms have the balcony. Makes suc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    564
    184
    33
    15
    6
See reviews for
434
153
24
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I spent a week here and this is one of my favorite all time hotels! Having a hotel with a view of the water, backed by a small shopping center w/supermarket within 1 mile of downtown San Diego can't be beat. The shopping center had a couple of restuarants and a grocery store so I was set for the week. The walking path led to a large park where I attended a cultural festival on one day and listened to bands on another day. This location was within 2 miles of my work location, I couldn't have asked for anything more... The staff was wonderful as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

They were knowledge, courteous and outstanding in every regard. Jason, Derek, Stella, David were all so very kind. Mercedes is an amazing homemaker and made sure our room was really clean. I appreciate the excellence. Roger Stanton

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed at the Homewood Suites at the conclusion of our stay in San Diego. My husband is Diamond with Hilton and our stay was reserved using HH points. I chose this hotel based on reviews from Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. The gentleman at the front desk gave us an awesome greeting/welcome. We chatted about the Patriots game that had concluded and he informed us that we were upgraded to a two bedroom/two bath suite overlooking the pool and water. How nice!!! The room wasn't quite ready, so we took the opportunity to explore. We passed through the dining/breakfast area to outside. They have very comfy chairs around a fireplace. Such a nice touch. The pool area looked nice. Unfortunately we didn't get a chance to relax and use it during this stay, but we hope to return. Our room was lovely. Two bedrooms, both with ensuite bathrooms. Each bedroom also has a ceiling fan which we loved. There is a full kitchen with stove, microwave, dishwasher, fridge and plates and utensils. We took advantage of this amenity one evening and ordered Chinese takeout and relaxed back in our room. It was great. The hotel is maintained beautifully and housekeeping did a great job with cleaning, towels etc. The hotel is near the airport and about 10 minutes away from dowtown San Diego. It was very easy to explore from this "home base" location. There are also a couple of restaurants within the Liberty Station plaza that are very convenient. We would defintely recommend a stay here and we hope to return in the future! Thank you Homewood Suites!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, Channel Islands
Top Contributor
342 reviews 342 reviews
182 hotel reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
450 helpful votes 450 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We booked the Homewood Suites for our 2 night stay on the strength of Tripadvisor reviews. We were very satisfied with the accommodation that comprised a comfortable sitting room with small balcony off, separate bedroom and bathroom/toilet with a strange arrangement of the washbasin being part of the bedroom not the bathroom.
There was no in room safe which was frustrating and, as seems the case in most US hotels, no kettle but a reasonably equipped small kitchen. However, with a little improvisation, water can be boiled in the microwave for making a cup of tea - very British!
I thought the hotel was very good value for money when one takes into account the fact that on a Monday to Thursday there is a good quality evening meal provided with wine or beer between 5.30pm and 7.30pm although it is in a rather un-atmospheric room adjoining Reception. Something simple like dimming the lights in the evening would make a huge difference to this area. Breakfast was also taken here and was of varying quality but more than adequate.
The hotel is somewhat out on a limb if you don't want to drive everywhere but the Old Town Hop On Hop Off Trolley does stop at the hotel for early morning pick ups at 8.30am and 9.30am. There is very little to do in the immediate area but a taxi ride to Seaport where there is a bit of action is not too far away.
Another strange thing is that there is no bar to relax nor can you take drinks outside into the comfortable seating/BBQ area - they said it was something to do with planning permission when the hotel opened and its ethos (whatever that means)!!
The Marriott next door and almost sharing the same external area does have a bar and you can sit in their gardens near their pool with a drink so I suggest if you want to relax, you book rooms at the Homewood Suites as they are quite roomy and go next door after dinner to sample their bar scene where there seemed to be a bit of life.
I would say the hotel is more geared to business people visiting San Diego than tourists who may want to hit the sites on a short stay but you certainly can't complain about value for money.
If we were visiting San Diego again, an absolutely beautiful City, we would stay nearer the tourist areas of Gaslamp, Coronado or Seaport.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view overlooking the back of the hotel (slightly more expensive). Rooms on the si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franktown, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

A long term contract has me at the Homewood Suites San Diego for 3 months (so far).Every service has been outstanding:housekeeping, front desk help, etc. The standout though, has been food service. The breakfast supervisor, Nichole, makes a practice of asking how she can make life better for you, and then does it! For example, one guest mentioned that he loved grits and she had them for him the next day. She noticed that I appreciate fresh fruit and hand carried a cup of fresh strawberries and blue berries to me when I walked in. The attention paid to meeting guest's needs is exemplary. It's not home but it is the next best thing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek K, Front Office Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you Steve for your very nice words. It’s great to hear feedback from a long term guest that all departments are firing on all cylinders, keeping our hotel clean and friendly.

Nichole is certainly an outstanding team member, always insuring that guest needs and requests are met and exceeded. We have already passed these compliments on to our associates and they are very grateful for your review.

Happy Holidays!
Your friends at the Homewood!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn Haven, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I have stayed at the Hilton in Gas Lamp, the Embassy Suites, and this Homewood Suites for extended stays while traveling for work in San Diego. I am partial to Hilton because of the rewards program so I try to stick to them as much as possible...anyways, this is by far the best in the area. As a matter of fact, I would say this is the best hotel I have stayed in on travel and I travel a lot! The staff was fantastic, including the manger Laura whom I saw nearly every night at dinner talking with guests! I have never seen that before even at the many other Homewood Suites I have stayed at! The rest of the staff was very helpful aiding me in finding great places to eat, theater locations, etc. Long story short if you are looking for a great place to stay near downtown San Diego with clean rooms and great service, make your reservation!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek K, Front Office Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
I want to start off by thanking you for your loyalty to Hilton hotels. With that said, we want to thank you even more for your kind comments about our hotel. We strive everyday to make each guest feel like they’re at home.

Laura is definitely a gem of this hotel and greatly appreciates the recognition. We’re very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your future visits.

Happy Holidays!
Your friends at the Homewood!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station

Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego Airport - Liberty Station Hotel
Homewood Suites San Diego Airport - Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Homewood Suites San Diego
Homewood Suites Liberty Station
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood
San Diego Homewood Suites
Address: 2576 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Diego
#4 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Venere, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station to your Saves list