We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please don't tell everyone!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2576 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #10 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Lisbon, Maine
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Please don't tell everyone!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I hesitate to write a glowing review of this hotel for the fear that I'll never be able to make another reservation there due to overcrowding. I've been a frequent guest ever since they first opened and have stayed there too many nights to count. It's the ONLY place I want to stay when I'm in San Diego for business. The location is ideal for my commute to the shipyards and NavSta and is surrounded by great shopping and dining (check out Point Loma Seafood!). Step out the back door and you're on the best walking trail in San Diego, along the harbor from Point Loma to the Convention Center. The staff is amazing, always greeting me with a warm hello and attention to every detail. Dell and "Brisbane" at the front desk and Sales Manager, Laura should probably be added to my Christmas card list! The breakfast and dinner buffet are a great added value, providing a variety of comfort food and healthy alternatives and are always well attended by guests. They've even featured local micro-brews on tap during a recent stay! The attending staff are friendly and keep the food well stocked and the area clean. The housekeeping staff keep the property clean and comfortable and often leave me Thank You notes. So please, don't tell anyone about the Homewood Suites at Liberty Station I want to keep it a secret..

Room Tip: Water view rooms are awesome but avoid the rooms near the pool during good weather if you're bot...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek K, Front Office Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you so much for your glowing review of our hotel. We certainly appreciate you overcoming your urge to keep this place a secret and posting these flattering comments. It’s always a pleasure to hear back from our repeat guests that our continued effort to please our guests is on a consistent basis. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to San Diego.

Happy Holidays!
Your Friends at the Homewood!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    223
    41
    18
    8
See reviews for
522
184
27
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I’m not one to write reviews about hotel stays but as a business traveler staying at many hotels around the country I’m compelled to write about this one simply because of the great stay I had. The Sales Manager worked with my associates and I to accommodate our schedule. THANK YOU Laura! Your professionalism reflects throughout the property!

All of the staff were friendly and polite (it’s refreshing to see young people who are very well mannered and courteous). I returned to my suite each day to find it spotless. The kitchen had plenty of space and was very well equipped. The showers hot with plenty of pressure. The large living space and very comfortable bed made it easy to relax at the end of the day.

The food? FREE BREAKFAST AND DINNER! Enough said!

Plenty of free parking, hotel location and the fact that there’s a running/walking trail next to the Hotel (with outdoor seating and fireplace) made my trip all the more enjoyable.

Homewood Suites San Diego Airport – Liberty Station is now my only choice when staying in San Diego.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Something has to be done about Tripadvisors Hotel ratings. There is nothing wrong with the Homewood Suites by Hilton in San Diego, but to have it ranked as the #7 hotel out of 245 in the area is misleading. This is a very standard suite hotel with nice, but generically appointed rooms and facilities. If I was traveling with a family I might even consider it except that it’s in the middle of nothing except the airport. But the staff was nice and the breakfast was adequate, but not the “wonderful” spread I’ve seen other people mention. It’s a standard decent breakfast with sausages, scrambled eggs, omelet station, grits (I think. Maybe Cream of Wheat). There were a lot of families here with little kids and they all seemed comfortable. If you need a place for one night to crash near the airport, go for it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed here 3 days over Thanksgiving weekend, for the first time. Attractive harbor location property next to the Marriott Courtyard hotel; back of property has an open really nice popular walking/jogging path along the canal harbor. Front desk, housekeeping and food staff were very friendly, helpful and professional. Included is a full hot and cold breakfast (fresh fruit, fresh hot waffles, eggs, sausage, old fashioned oatmeal, cereal, bagels, coffee, juices and more...and we all agreed it actually tasted great!) For our family of 5, it easily saved us $50 to $60 if we ate out each breakfast. Our 2 bdrm 2 bth suite was roomy for 5, clean, well maintained, stocked and supplied well and the roomy full kitchen was great, Only thing I wish I had and did not have was an oven to use also when I prepared our meals. Nicely heated smaller pool and jacuzzi, free wireless internet and free parking. They even serve dinner on Mon-Thurs! I got a great lower price by booking directly with Homewood. Driving location was good for us...10min to Seaport Village, 10 -15 min from downtown, near the airport and 15-20 min to La Jolla. Some restaurants, Subway and Starbucks 2-3min walk from front of hotel. Vons and Trader Joes in small shopping center 5 min drive. Our family was happily impressed with the hotel rooms, the price per night, wonderful service and included free amenities!

Room Tip: Upper rooms facing the back of the hotel get a really nice harbor/water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed here with my parents and didn't had any problems, except that the wifi coverage seems to be lacking on some parts of the property. Parking was free and most attractions were within a short drive. One plus is that it is near the airport and hotel provides free shuttle. There on occasions a lot of naval trainees on the hotel grounds but not really an issue. There are several places to eat nearby but also the hotel provides light meal on weeknights.

Room Tip: try to request for a waterfront view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Nice area. Conveniently near the airport. Nice areas to walk/jog. Walking distance to restaurants/businesses. Hotel staff are friendly and helpful and like to greet you with a smile. One of the managers, Laura, was very helpful in booking me for future stays at a reasonable rate during times when the seasonal rates increase. Go on the 3rd floor and there is a deck with a viewing scope to enjoy the beautiful surrounding landscape. Compliments to hotel and staff that made my stay very enjoyable. This hotel will be my destination for many future business/pleasure trips.

Room Tip: North-West end has excellent landscape views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Liberty Station is a former Navel base that has been changed into a combination of hotels, stores, and residential housing.
The Homewood Suites is located on the edge of the old base and is only a few miles from the airport. There are several restaurants in the same complex including a Starbucks within walking distance. The rooms are a little smaller then your standard Homewood Suites, but the staff is wonderful and the location is great and near the water.
If you are visiting San Diego this is a great location and compared to other hotels in the area is a great value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station

Address: 2576 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Diego
#4 Family Hotel in San Diego
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego Airport - Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Homewood Suites Liberty Station
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.