We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2576 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #11 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Adelaide
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Everything was excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Highly recommend staying here. We stayed here for 5 nights ( my husband, me and 2 children). The room was very spacious, immaculate and daily maid service fantastic.

The beds were very comfortable. Free wifi, included hot and continental breakfast and free evening meal on the 4 nights we stayed meant we didnt need to worry about dinner.

The kids loved the pool and basketball area. Was able to borrow balls, nerf and other sporting equipment as well as board games etc from reception area. Car parking free on site.

Very quirt area to stay with excellent water view from room. Numerous restaurants and takeaway shops adjacent to hotel as well as an ATM.

Ten minute drive to Seaworld and Downtown and minutes to airport.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    219
    41
    18
    8
See reviews for
517
181
27
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fullerton, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Outstanding venue for the price. Loved the free evening snacks and great breakfast! Went for my cousin's wedding and had a great experience. Great location and access to shopping as well. The staff was very polite and helpful. Great view and awesome pool!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

- If you’re looking for a conveniently located hotel providing clean, spacious, comfortable rooms with a great staff and complimentary amenities to include free, yes free, parking, internet and hearty breakfast and evening reception meals with adult beverages without having to leave the hotel area … look no further. Homewood Suites San Diego Airport-Liberty Station provides all of this and more.
- Though its location may appear to be inconvenient for traveling to San Diego’s popular sites (such as Sea World, Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown, Seaport Village, USS MIDWAY) and Naval Bases, you will find Homewood Suites San Diego Airport to be a great location for families on vacation and solo business travelers alike. Though it’s best to have your own transportation, the hotel location near the airport provides quick access to all the major sites but with the additional luxury of a quiet setting perfect for a morning run, an afternoon stroll along the US Navy’s historic district, and an evening conversation on the patio.
- My compliments to the Sales Manager (Ms Krueger), the desk attendants and the service staff; their professionalism and courtesy from the moment of making reservations to time of departure were exceptional. Case in point, after my initial reservation request could not be met due to room unavailability, Ms Krueger and the staff took the time to personally contact me when a room became available at the last minute. This is the kind of first-rate service you will find throughout your stay.
- Homewood Suites San Diego Airport-Liberty Station has become my new “home away from home” when business and pleasure travel sends me to San Diego. Great value for the cost.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

If you have a car, this is a great property with a central location. I had to laugh at the comments on "updating", heck this place is nearly brand new! We were in one of the rooms that does not have a dividing wall, on the 4th floor with a water view. It was quiet, no airplane noise intrusion.

I slept on the sofa bed, which is a true test of facility repair, and it was fine. Well equipped kitchen with full sized refrigerator. There are BBQs outside, but they are nearly impossible to snag during regular meal hours.

The daily maid service was excellent, as was the breakfast. However there really isn't enough seating for everyone, we managed to snag a cocktail table outside in the blazing sun.

Did not partake of the dinners as was here on a weekend.

Near all kinds of stores, credit union ATM, in the Liberty Station Complex. Walking distance to Port Loma Seafood and Mitchs Seafood (better to walk, parking is terrible).

The Point Loma Sunday market is now on Canon Street in downtown Point Loma, ends at 2-2:30pm. Go for TierraCosta smoked marlin tacos and fresh snapper ceviche!

Room Tip: Fourth floor in corner is best, facing bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silver spring md
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I am a fan of the HS concept. This was a mainly business trip but with 2.5 days of sightseeing. Place is convenient with rental car; easy to get on freeways, near the midway, etal. Free weeknight dinner not as good as (for example) HS in Chicago, but filling and you can always cook. Like all HS, more kids than maybe I'd want, but helpful front desk repositioned me to a corner room, away from outside activity and it very quiet. Good workspace, a living area to relax in, great housekeeping service. corner room has a few extra sqft and bigger balcony. View was more of the training ship than the water, but OK. And it was quiet (I had to study, the room away from kids really helped!). Grocery stores not far, and you never really hear the airport. NIcely planted. This was the first time I took the "jr 1 br" rather than the 1 br - I'd recommend it if you are not traveling with kids. The open plan concept has the same total room area and is more functional w/o the wall breaking up the space. Moderate prices, probably furnished a little better than that, but of course the facility itself does not have the ambience of the Hyatt Regency I'd just come from in SF, but you're not paying for it either. It's a good deal and I'll be back.

Room Tip: go with the jr suite over the 1 br
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Wow! PHENOMENAL place to stay! In many respects, this is typical of any Homewood Suites - large, comfortable, well-appointed rooms with complimentary internet, hot breakfast, and evening reception and dinner items. But the location of this facility near the airport, Point Loma, the harbor, the Gas Lamp quarter and Little Italy make it ideal for both business and pleasure travel. And the hotel includes a beautiful patio are (they call it an "esplenade") that's perfect for an outdoor snack or just sitting and watching the sunset. The real standout though, is the staff - especially the sales manager, Laura Krueger. She and others on the staff go out of their way to offer personal service and make sure every guest need is met. And don't think this glowing review is some sort of plant. I'm a Hilton Honors Silver member, but have no other connection to the hotel or the staff whatsoever. And some things at the hotel could be improved. For example, the property consists of three buildings - the lobby and two towers of suites - but the walkways between them are not covered. The weather was great during my stay, but in the rain it could be a problem. Additionally, the key cards don't always work smoothly. I and a colleague both found that we needed to swipe our cards multiple times to access doors, even after I had one card re-keyed. Still, those are very minor issues. This will definitely be my first choice of hotel for future San Diego visits, and I strong recommend it to others. And finally, once again let me say thanks to Laura Krueger and the entire staff for their outstanding personal service!

Room Tip: Balconies on first floor aren't really accessible; if you want a balcony, choose something on hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We had two families aharing a suite and our stay was perfect. The layout of the room was great. Two separate bedrooms with separate baths. A living area (with sleeper sofa) in the middle. The kids (and the men) were very excited to have 3 separate TV's in the room. The kitchenette was impeccably clean and so nice to have. The best part of the stay was the staff. Every time we passed any employee, they stopped to say hi and ask how we were doing.

The breakfasts were really nice and had a wide variety of options for the whole family. There was always plenty of fruit and healthy options available. As well as the waffle makers, variety of breakfast meats and carbs for those who just want to be on vacation.

The location was great. It was out of the traffic and buzz of the downtown area but still very close to everything. It is so close to the airport, but we did not have any problem with airport noise. In Liberty Station, they have a Starbucks, Subway and other restaurant options that one can easily walk to. The pool area and hot tub were nicely maintained and there was always clean towels to use. The hotel also had BBQ's that guests could use to cook on and a lovely outdoor pation area to eat and visit.

This would be one of the first places I would consider when returning to San Diego. It isn't a luxury hotel but the ammenities were nice, the linens were good quality and the beds were comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station

Address: 2576 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Diego
#4 Family Hotel in San Diego
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego Airport - Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Homewood Suites Liberty Station
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.