We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a few nightspot a family of five” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2576 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #8 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great for a few nightspot a family of five”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012 via mobile

For a budget hotel it's hard to beat. No frills in the rooms but it can be difficult to find decent or inexpensive hotels for 5. We got the 2 bedroom suites. Morning breakfast and even small dinners are included. There's a few restaurants to walk to- we chose the pizza/ sports bar and had pub food - pretty good. Starbucks, Mexican, subway also right there. Seaworld is why we came and that's only about 15 minutes away so perfect base for touring around.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    214
    40
    16
    7
See reviews for
501
172
26
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MIchigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights ( convention). Not in a center of San Diego, but very close to the airport and short drive to Convention Center. Very convenient for any trips around that area. Many good restaurants within walking distance or short drive. Front desk very accommodating. Our initially assign room not to our liking, but after calling friont desk, we were moved to a very nice suite, The breakfast more than adequate . Facility very clean. Parking spaces always available. In summary - very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Our family visited San Diego over spring break and after booking our room last October, we found it wasn't working for us. The front desk staff were very accommodating and were able to move us to a 2 BR 2 BA suite the next day.
Loved the daily breakfast and how pleasant the staff was, considering the hotel was very full.
Great location to the airport and attractions. Despite closeness to the airport, the noise wasn't too bad.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

The Homewood Suites was a very well maintained, clean, friendly property. It is close to Old Town, the San Diego Zoo, and the Embarcadero.

The hotel had a convenient breakfast each day and each room had a full kitchen that you could stock from the local Vons located just blocks away. The beds were super comfortable and the rooms were very clean. It was a great place for a family of five or six to stay because of the availability of two bedroom suites.

As other travelers have pointed out the first floor is not too desirable, because you feel like you are in the middle of the parking lot, but the higher floors are nice and you can get a glimpse of the water from most balconies. We moved from a first floor room to a third floor room when it became available and the hotel made the move very easy by moving all of our belongings for us and having the new key ready at the desk when we returned from sightseeing.

The staff are very accommodating and helpful. One of the desk staff spent about 10 minutes giving me the low down on the different beaches in the San Diego area. His advice was spot on. It was especially helpful that he mentioned that Blacks Beach is a nude beach when I asked which beach in La Jolla would be best. That would have been a little hard to explain to the kids... The Cove with happy sunning seals and sea lions was a much better fit.

We would return to this Homewood Suites. Only advise is to try to make your room preferences known when you make your reservation to avoid having to room hop.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julesburg, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Our family of five stayed here 3 nites, monday thru wednesday, and we couldn't have been happier. We had a two bedroom, two bath suite and a pull-out sofa in the living room. We choose the Homewood Suites based on its ability to sleep all five of us in one room. The beds were very comfortable as was the bedding. Having two bathrooms with sinks separate the shower/toilet area was great for us getting ready in the mornings and also for getting the kids ready for bed after swimming at night. The breakfasts in the morning were better and larger than expected. The light dinners were more like a full meal to us. We ate dinner on two of the nights, spaghetti, meatballs, garlic bread, and salad bar one night and chicken fajitas, rice, beans and salad bar the next. My wife and I especially liked the wine and beer they offered. A nice way to end a long day of "touristy" adventures. The hotel was centerally located for all of our planned activities, seaworld, zoo, beaches, midway, etc. We would definately recommend this place to all our family and friends. We will seek out other Homewood Suites whenever we travel based on our stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek K, Front Desk Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
We couldn’t be happier to hear that you couldn’t have been happier with your stay. It’s always nice to hear that we exceeded our guest’s expectations.

From the sounds of it, our complimentary breakfast and dinners hit the spot. It’s a great convenience for our guests when they don’t have to go too far for a great meal. We are also glad you got a chance to relax and have a couple drinks on us.

We are located in a great little neighborhood of San Diego called Liberty Station, which is in close proximity to nearly all the best San Diego attractions. We are glad to hear you got to take advantage of our great location and didn’t have to travel too far to get to all of your planned tourist destinations.

Thank you so much for your review. We always get excited when we hear back from our guests that our service and hotel exceeded expectations. We hope to see you again real soon.

Best regards and safe travels,
Your friends at the Homewood Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chardon Ohio
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We stayed at the Homewood Suites on March 17th, 2012. The hotel is located in a shopping plaza that has many dining options within walking distance. This allowed us to return our rental car a day early and walk to dinner. We took advantage of the free airport shuttle in the morning to get us to the airport. They run every half hour, but you do need to reserve a spot during the heavy departure times.

There is a little business center that has two computers for general use and they allow free printing. This comes in handy to check in for you flights and print your boarding passes. There is also free wifi in the public areas and the rooms. There is free breakfast, but we could not take advantage because we had an early flight. There is a pool and hot tub…some folks were enjoying them when we walked by, but it was pretty cold the day we were there so we passed on that. We checked out there two small exercise rooms and they had good equipment. Nobody was using them when we were there.

The room was great. We were in 361 which overlooked the basketball court and a nicely landscaped courtyard area. We had a little balcony and enjoyed having the window open for fresh air in the evening. There is a full kitchen with pots, pans, and utensils. There was a full sized refrigerator, stove, microwave, dishwasher, toaster, and coffee maker. They give you some packets of coffee, sugar, tea, microwave popcorn, salt, and pepper. You need to bring everything else. There was a dining table, a writing desk, a couch, and a large bed. There was plenty of drawer and bathroom space for our stuff and also plenty of outlets to charge our ever growing list of gadgets. There was an outside deck for relaxing on our floor also.

The area is nice to walk around. You are right by the water, but not the ocean itself. It is a waterway for boats and you can walk along the banks. There is a 1/3 scale navy ship in the parking lot called the USS Recruit. It was used to train new Navy recruits in shipboard procedures. It holds the distinction of being the only commissioned Naval vessel to never reach the water. There are plenty of dining options within a short walk I saw pizza, Subway, Starbucks, a Greek place, and a Thai place. We had dinner at the Thai place, Spices Bay Thai Kitchen, and really enjoyed our meal and the friendly staff.

We enjoyed our stay and would use this hotel again, especially on our arrival or departure nights. The price of a suite was close to the price of regular rooms in the area.

Room Tip: The elevator is far from most of the rooms. Ask for a lower floor if you have a lot of luggage or h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Stayed here for a business-related meeting recently with my husband. The meeting was inland a ways, but we chose this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews and its location close to the airport, and we were not disappointed. The hotel is in a shopping center, and easy walk to a good pizza place/beergarden/sports bar called Oggi's, or a Subway, and some other places I can't remember. This was a fairly typical Homewood Suites in terms of the room, which was roomy, clean and comfortable and had many amenities we never had the need to use, and the great free hot breakfast. We were on the first floor, and could hear the people over us more than we would have liked, but t was not a big problem. What set it apart a bit was that the hotel grounds are especially lovely. It is right on the water (not the ocean, but still), beautifully landscaped, and with lots of paths....in fact, the San Diego half-marathon went right by, on hotel grounds. The in-room wifi worked well. There were many families staying there, and I would take the kids there in a heartbeat. Staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: Stay on a higher floor if you want to avoid the sounds of the people above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek K, Front Desk Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
We are so happy to hear that you found us on Tripadvisor and we lived up to our guest reviews and your expectations. We’re also glad to hear you had a chance to enjoy our full complimentary breakfast served every morning; it’s a big hit with our guests!

As for the noise coming from above, we take those issues very seriously and are diligent to resolve the disturbance. We are very sorry you were disrupted. Next time if a noise issue arises please contact the front desk and we will make sure to have a resolution to the issue.

We want to thank you for taking notice of the hotel grounds, as we take great pride in keeping the property looking lush and beautiful for our guests.

The hotel is an excellent spot to bring the kids. With our heated pool, basketball court, pool table, and complimentary breakfast and dinners (mon-thurs) we make it easy to keep everybody entertained and well fed.

Your review is greatly appreciated and will be a valuable resource for other travels seeking their perfect lodging location. We look forward to seeing you and your family in the near future.

Best regards and safe travels,
Your friends at Homewood Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station

Address: 2576 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Diego
#4 Family Hotel in San Diego
#42 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego Airport - Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Homewood Suites Liberty Station
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.