We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Porto Vista Hotel to your Saves list
Porto Vista Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1835 Columbia Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get 5 % Back!
Ranked #110 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Lincoln NE
1 review
“Phenomenal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Great atmospere and can feel the laid back vibe of the little Italy area. Porta vista has a nice rooftop hang out area and classy bar. When at the bar ask for Jersey. She was a top notch bartender providing excellent service and advice on the area. Very down to earth personality making everyone feel welcome. 5 star establishment!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, Public Relations Manager at Porto Vista Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
StoneyJS,
Thank you for your feedback and I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to the Porto Vista! Jersey is a gem; I'll pass along your comments to her.

Scott G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    325
    204
    114
    141
See reviews for
151
394
87
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San diego
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Vidalia's services was amazing! The sunset made for a fabulous back drop for pictures! Will recommend the hotel to friends from both in and out of town! Looking forward to returning again soon! A great place for a staycation and weekend get away.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, Public Relations Manager at Porto Vista Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for your feedback Vic-hend; we're glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

This hotel is great neighborhood feel with an urban flare. The views are like no other! Stumbled into the Glass Door the restaurant in the hotel to a huge crowd raising money for luekimia... the hotel was getting involved in their community by sponsoring a fundraiser for their employee Vidalia and she made us feel right at home

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, Public Relations Manager at Porto Vista Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
freddyflores,
Thanks for attending our fundraiser... we're glad you had a great time!

Scott G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Great hotel, amazing view, great service. Tuesday night was so much fun with Vidalia. She made us feel apart of the group. The neighborhood was great, safe, and close to everything. If you are looking for value this is the place

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, Public Relations Manager at Porto Vista Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for your feedback mikefitness! We agree, Vidalia is a hoot and always cheery and upbeat. We'll pass along your comments to her!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

On August 1, 2014, my guest and I visited your rooftop bar and ordered drinks from your bartender Jacob. I was in the mood for something different to drink and noticed a menu of drinks you were promoting. Jacob was really nice and suggested to try the one with Ginger Beer in it. He was very nice, made eye contact and smiled. I truly have to say it was a breath of fresh air to have him serve our drinks. I've visited other establishments where the only thing they say is, "What do you want?" and tell you the price when served! I'll definitely come back because of Jacob.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, Public Relations Manager at Porto Vista Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for your comments Bman1974. I'll share your comments with Jacob and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Stayed at this incredibly overpriced hotel because it was where the wedding we were attending was held. the hotel could not live up to its own pretentions. Our deluxe queen room was tiny, shabby and dark, badly in need of an upgrade. However, the beds were comfortable and the 4th floor bar had a great view of the bay. The venue for the wedding on the top floor was outstanding.

Room Tip: Hint, do not trust the front desk staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, Public Relations Manager at Porto Vista Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for your feedback padnersdan and we're glad you enjoyed our restaurant and wedding venueI apologize that our rooms didn't meet your expectations. We are currently in the middle of upgrading our rooms and we haven't gotten to every room yet. We expect to be completed with our remodel in March 2015; we hope you'll visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I am really impressed with all this hotel has to offer, especially when you are able to lock-in a great price! I have stayed here 12 nights in past 6 months and staff has always been very friendly (Jose & Rob in parking, Vanessa & Robert at the front desk) and location could not be better.

I highly recommend this hotel for single business travelers or for a couple looking to stay in downtown area.

Room Tip: Top floor has high ceilings and the least noise (from street and parking lot)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Porto Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Vista Hotel

Address: 1835 Columbia Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Little Italy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Vista Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an urban hotel experience in Little Italy with newly remodeled minimalistic Queen and Double Queen rooms. The Porto Vista Hotel calls to mind the casual elegance of Europe in the 60's, is famous for its friendly staff. The local-favorite GlassDoor restaurant features amazing views of Downtown and San Diego Bay. A great location, convenient amenities and shuttle service to San Diego International Airport, Cruise Ship Terminal, Convention Center, and MCRD make this a popular getaway for couples, business travelers, convention attendees, and families! Our European theme will be just what you need to get you out of the normal hotel experience, and our prices for a San Diego Downtown hotel are hard to beat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Groupon, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Porto Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascend Collection San Diego
San Diego Ascend Collection
San Diego Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Vista Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.