We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value: Great staff, awesome location and clean rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Porto Vista Hotel to your Saves list
Porto Vista Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1835 Columbia Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Wine, Breakfast, Parking
Ranked #111 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Santa Monica, California
1 review
“Best Value: Great staff, awesome location and clean rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

First off our reservation experience with Kenny was outstanding. He totally set us up for this last weekend. Always ask for Kenny...he'll totally take care of you.
Our stay was very pleasant and the staff was informative, friendly and always helpful.
My wife and I have been staying at the hotel regularly for the last 2-3 years and we're always delighted. You can't beat the location: in the heart of little Italy and 20 min walk from gas lamp district. Alex L. handled the valet professionally and drove our shuttle to our destination knowing all the shortcuts.

Room Tip: book with kenny and ask for alex L when you need a shuttle service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    293
    182
    103
    134
See reviews for
137
352
84
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Capistrano Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Rob checked us in and was great, he was very informative. All of the staff were so nice and helpful. The location was great. We loved being so close to Little Italy. Will for sure come and stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

She is the reason why, i frequent Porto Vista. Her welcoming professional, charm and positive attitude is the reason I always feel a warm welcome.The Top of Bay ,great entertainment but needs to bring more of a contemporary genre of music progression through out the evening.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

The room was great and I enjoyed my stay at Porto vista hotel . The front desk was informative and very willing to make my stay that much more enjoyable. The valet guys (mata and alex) were quick and prompt and super friendly as well

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This hotel was nice. It appeared to have been redone... Nice job! Staff was helpful and pleasant! Roof top was awesome view of the city! Was right by Little Italy so we went down, grabbed a pizza and came back to the roof top to eat it. Other places near by was the Waterfront--- you can get a beer at 6am with breakfast... Recommend , Underbelly at the corner before the Waterfront at Kettner and Fir was a really cool Japanese Ramen place. All of this is walkable. The valet saved us money by not paying to park since the 2 hour parking zones last until 6pm and then it is free just may have to circle around bait for that. Very convenient to Balboa Park, Old Town and Gas Lamp... May have to drive there or check into the trolley around town. Can you tell we liked it!!! Oh-- Happy Hour at the 4th floor Glass Door was great, too!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stay at the Porto Vista Hotel almost every time we visit San Diego. We just returned from a quick two day get-away and we were not disappointed in the least. We had a Junior Suite and got upgraded to a bay view suite. Also received a free bottle of wine for liking them on Facebook. Our package included free parking, breakfast, two drinks, and wifi. If you're there on a Friday evening, the Little Italy Farmer's market is a must on Saturday Morning. Some hidden gems in little Italy are Under Belly Noodle House www.godblessunderbelly.com, Influx Cafe (not hidden) but great coffee (sorry Oprah their Chai is better), Landinis Pizzeria ($6.50 for two slices and unlimited soda), and for the plant lovers one of the most unique shops Vitreum.

And Shawn - tall red-headed bartender - is a doll, who provides great service. Oh, and the Top of The Bay on Friday night was fun...lots of family if you know how to interpret FAMILY!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Best spot in Little Italy. Found the rooftop bar was packed and a ton of fun on Friday night. Amazing views of the city. Friendly staff, especially the bartender Jacob made me feel welcome. Great vibe and trendy energy.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porto Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Vista Hotel

Address: 1835 Columbia Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Little Italy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Vista Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an urban hotel experience in Little Italy with newly remodeled minimalistic Queen and Double Queen rooms. The Porto Vista Hotel calls to mind the casual elegance of Europe in the 60's, is famous for its friendly staff. The local-favorite GlassDoor restaurant features amazing views of Downtown and San Diego Bay. A great location, convenient amenities and shuttle service to San Diego International Airport, Cruise Ship Terminal, Convention Center, and MCRD make this a popular getaway for couples, business travelers, convention attendees, and families! Our European theme will be just what you need to get you out of the normal hotel experience, and our prices for a San Diego Downtown hotel are hard to beat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Porto Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascend Collection San Diego
San Diego Ascend Collection
San Diego Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Vista Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.