We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly sushi fare” 4 of 5 stars
Review of RB Sushi

RB Sushi
16405 Bernardo Center Drive, San Diego, CA
858-613-9000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #683 of 4,100 Restaurants in San Diego
Restaurant details
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Friendly sushi fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Good quick and friendly service for filling sushi portions. There is a good range of standard l items and an interesting range of special rolls - although many have crab meat which is less to my taste. You can get fresh wasabi on request. The all you can eat option is only for the very hungry, so order off the menu if preferred. 'Happy hour' pricing was all day and the restaurant was near full in the early evening, which is a sign of good value.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    13
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“A delightful surprise tucked away in a business park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

If you have 45 minutes or more for lunch or dinner and want to come away absolutely stuffed, then rb sushi is the spot to go. Their all you can eat is worth every penny and the level of service and friendliness is above what you would expect at a fancy steakhouse. The menu is fresh and expansive and I was more than impressed during my first visit. Daniel was my sushi chef at the bar and I suggest you sit with him if you have the opportunity.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great all-u-can eat Japanese fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Went on a Saturday afternoon at 5pm. Plenty of tables available (Friday evening though there was a line of people out the door with a minimum 30 minute wait). Using an order slip, you select the dishes (sushi,soup, salad, fish,etc.) dishes you want to try. Upon completion of the "first round", you request your order slip & make additional selections.
The food was surprisingly fresh, made to order, & very tasty. One of the best japanese meals we've had in San Diego. Wait staff was very attentive and friendly.
For four adults, no alcoholic beverages, bill came to $30 each tip included.
Definitely we will return next time we are in San Diego.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Food, Friendly Service, & Great Happy Hour on Mondays!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

My husband, 19 month old son & I go to this restaurant almost every Monday for their fantastic happy hour. We can go out for a great meal without breaking the bank. I really enjoy their specialty rolls, miso soup & house salad. Before my son was eating everything, the staff was wonderful about getting him some plain tofu to eat, or baking the fish for him.

The food is great overall. They also have great beer specials on Mondays all day & Fridays late night!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“All-You-Can-Eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Surprisingly, the sushi at the $25 all you can eat option is quite good. I was expected crud for that price and was pleasantly surprised. The way it works is you order, they make the sushi, bring it to you, and when you finish that you can reorder. Thus, this is not an all-you-can-eat buffet of sushi that has been sitting out for hours. When I first realized this was how it worked, I was expecting that they would drag out filling orders to keep people from eating too much, but this is not the case. They includes salads and soup in this as well.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RB Sushi also viewed

 

Been to RB Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RB Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.