We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Indian cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Masala Spices of India

Masala Spices of India
314 5th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6910 (Downtown)
619-232-4634
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Masala Spices of India is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,061 of 4,100 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: K Street
Danderyd, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice Indian cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Good, attentive service. Food was great and plentiful - not overly spicy if you didn't want it.

Nice atmosphere, just enough going on in the restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    30
    28
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Multiple Problems”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Drinks took forever to arrive. Then the Draft beer was spoiled. The seating was unfortunate, two of our party sat with their backs to a major thoroughfare, having people passing close behind then. Food took 1.5 h to arrive, and we didn't get all the right dishes. We asked for replacement of one dish. Never came. Neither did the extra naan. Btw. What we got was not the garlic naan we ordered. The food we did get was OK.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food if you can actually get service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner here on a Saturday night with my business partners. You could tell that restaurant personnel were disorganized and unable to run a restaurant. Once we were finally seated we had to go find the server after waiting for 20 minutes to just have water served. After another extended wait we finally were able to order appetizers and our main dishes. Our main dishes were served after another hour wait and the drinks were only replenished one time by restaurant personnel all evening. All in all it was a two and half hour event which should have been an hour. On a brighter side, the food here was really good. And they did comp all of our drinks after the service issue we faced. I probably will pass next time in town and look for something better. There are simply too many good restaurants in San Diego.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surry, Maine
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Am I too spoiled?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The servers and manager certainly bent over backwards for us, but it didn't make up for what I thought was average for indian food. Certainly all restaurants and ethnic variations in particular can be a matter of taste (no pun intended). My preference for Indian leans towards plenty of flavor and variation, without too much 'hot'. I do like it somewhat spicy but not if the heat overpowers the other flavors.
In this case, the appetizers all tasted more or less the same, and the main dishes lacked that flavor explosion that my wife and I like.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Close to convention center in San diego”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Indian restaurant closest to convention center. Very expensive. 15 dollars for bangalore chicken curry and rice. But the ambience is very good. Food is reasonable. I liked the mahi mahi goan style curry. It was priced at 19 dollars (basmati rice included). The naan was hot and fresh. Service is quick and efficient.Main highlight is the convenient location in Gaslamp Quarter.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masala Spices of India also viewed

 

Been to Masala Spices of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masala Spices of India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.