We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fish tacos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Beach Bar & Grill

South Beach Bar & Grill
5059 Newport Ave Ste 104, San Diego, CA 92107 (Ocean Beach)
(619) 226-4577
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #191 of 4,093 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Ocean Beach
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best fish tacos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

In all honesty, the fact you might have a view of the beach is secondary at this place. These fish tacos are the best of anywhere. This is always my first stop when I'm in town. Therefore, if you're in San Diego on a Tuesday, it's a requirement to be at South Beach. Casual atmosphere great beer selection, and they do have a wide variety of other things on their menu if seafood isn't your thing,

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    72
    15
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great view and OB ambiance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Overlooking the Ocean Beach Pier, there is hardly a better place to watch the waves, surfers and occasionally spot dolphins. The bar on the second floor has the best viewing seats. The food is decent, especially the fish tacos. If you sit at the bar, service is friendly but slow. They have an excellent local beer selection. Sit at a restaurant table and service can be maddeningly slow to surly. The locale alone keeps the place bustling. Improve the service and it's a contender for top spot in OB. My advice: go for drinks and appetizers.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“OMGoodness-- Fish Taco Heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stellar fish tacos ( I had the Wahoo--TWICE) Excellent brew picks of the day--SHOCKTOP Ale was my choice on the first visit. * Excellent* The friendly staff keeps this busy place in a state of easy controlled chaos. If you want a seat by a window come early. The fast service and consistently good food even when the joint is jumping makes this a keeper. Don't miss out on this little gem!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Taco Tuesday's are a must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This is another great find! We went during happy hour and had a great meal and drinks for a super duper price! Great service, atmosphere and food!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Always dependable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I don't know why we don't come here more often. I love the fish tacos. You can have them grilled or deep fried with a variety of fish choices. Great beer selection. Very good service by a friendly wait staff. Upstairs has a great view of the pier. Always great people watching while in OB.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Beach Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to South Beach Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Beach Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.