We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Food! Fabulous View!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Prime Restaurant

Island Prime Restaurant
880 Harbor Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92101-1005
619-298-6802
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Island Prime Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 4,093 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Resting on stilts atop San Diego Bay overlooking the city skyline and Coronado, there’s nowhere better than Island Prime & C Level to experience quintessential San Diego.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food! Fabulous View!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Absolutely one of the finest restaurants I have ever been to in my entire life. The views of San Diego at night are stunnig! We had a large party of 8 without a reservation. We called to find out when they had any available seating. When we arrived the host staff was extremely accommodating and we were seated fairly quickly. A few members of our party do not eat seafood, There was a nice selection of entrées available for them. The Lobster Bisque was to die for, literally. We let a couple members of our party taste it and they later ended up ordering it. I had the sea scallops with risotto cakes. They were superb! My 11 year old son had the escargot which he loved do much he refused to share with anyone. My daughter did the Study of Lobster. She was blown away by the Empanadas. All in all, we would return to the Island Prime, in a heartbeat!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    113
    34
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dinner with a view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Island Prime - C level is a great restaurant with incredible Sea food as well as wonderful steakhouse dining. My wife and I tried the outside patio with the bay just below us. The happy hour menu is exciting and everything is $5. We had Mussels and calamari with a glass a wine and those were incredible! The main dishes of Scallops for my lovely wife and Salmon for myself was amazing. Our over-indulgence took us to their Mud pie and that didn't last long either. Needless to say, we were hungry going in and left completely satisfied.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Had mussels and clams, perfect appetizer. Brisket salad was awesome too. Good food, good drinks, good service, and great views.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Spectacular views that go with spectacular food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Recommended by a good friend, I made a reservation at this San Diego staple restaurant for a busy weekend. We were seated at 5:30PM promptly at our appointed time. Or waiter greeted us and offered water choices and presented them quickly. Our server brought menus and an electronic wine list. We ordered our cocktails that were served simultaneously with our delightful popovers. They were warm and soft. Our appetizer choices were many and chose sesame crushed Brie and a white prawn cocktail. Both were generous servings and very nice. Our main courses were comprised of filet mignon which was perfectly cooked and seasoned. The second entree was a tournedos of beef. Three succulent portions of beef with three very nice toppings. Our side dish was an ENORMOUS tasty twice baked potato that had lobster included in the composition. It was a nice serving but really too much for just two people. All in all a great meal which I hope to enjoy at Island Prime again.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Best view of San Diego”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed on Harbor Island in San Diego, went out for a walk along the waterfront and ended up by accident at Island Prime Restaurant/CLevel Lounge. There was a HUGE line outside, and frankly, we only wanted to use the restroom but decided to put our name on the (what the hostess said was an hour long) waitlist. By the time we came out of the restroom - not even 5 minutes, the buzzer went off and we were escorted to a table on the deck with a fabulous night sky view of San Diego. It was our lucky night! Burger, wine and lobster bisque were also very good. Try it :-)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Prime Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Island Prime Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Prime Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.