We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Otay Mesa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2296 Niels Bohr Court, Otay Mesa, San Diego, CA 92154   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #155 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Reasonable Fares”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The staff was very polite and friendly. The hotel is far from everything, very close to the border with Mexico. We went for a three days stay and everything was great...I read the reviews before booking this hotel and must agree with most of them. I read someone saying that this hotel was boring and there was nothing to do so, it was perfect for me since I was looking for a hotel not close to a highway and far from everything, this was it! My only "complaint" is that the carpet in the hallway could use some deep cleaning or be completely replaced.

Room Tip: Rooms are exactly how they look in pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Otay Mesa, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Your feedback is much appreciated and I am glad you enjoyed your stay here with us. We just finished deep cleaning the carpets in all the public areas no more than a week ago. Our goal is to keep the facility as flawless as possible. We like to meet our guest needs and cleanliness is our top priority. I apologize if you haven’t got to see them since the cleaning. We would really like to have you back here at the property. I will look forward to hearing back from you or we’ll see you on your next stay where you can see the fresh carpets for yourself. Thank you for your business.

Ricky Garcia
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    35
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
18
9
7
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corona
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Stayed here in March for a concert at Cricket. While the hotel was well off the beaten path, it worked out well for us. Hard to get a bite to eat though. Wendy's at the Pilot gas station down the street was the closest option...That's something you should know if you decide to stay out this way. The hotel itself was very nice. Good rooms, comfortable beds and nice staff. The breakfast in the morning is up to par with any other HI Express, so it was good. This property is very close to the Border - that wasn't a factor for me, but it makes some folks uncomfortable. I didn't have any anxiety about it and I don't think that you should either. If you need to be down this way, well away from the heart of San Diego, this is a fine place to stay the night.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Otay Mesa, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Im glad you enjoyed staying at our property and we appriciate your feedback. I like to hear that you enjoyed the rooms and the friendliness of the staff. For restautrant accomodations next time try the Otay Ranch town center which is only about 8 miles north on the 125 freeway. They have a variety of restuarnts in that area. Once again thank you for your feedback and also for your business. I will look forward to you staying with us again.

Thank you,

Ricky Garcia
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

The room was very good and clean. The breakfast was adequate. But the location is not very close to city attractions. I would recommend if you want good hotel at good price and willing to commute little

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, Mississippi
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Stayed back in July or August. Very clean. Seemed like it was new. Perfectly located near Mexico border as we went to Tijuana. About 30 mins drive to San Diego. Rooms were spacious.

We did get plenty of breakfast even though there was a girls softball team there.

Yes would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

I usually stay in the Hotel Circle area when visiting San Diego with my children. I read many good reviews of this hotel near the border and decided to book it! My children and I both were very happy with our stay. The staff was polite and professional! The pool/jacuzzi area was clean and well maintained. The rooms were clean and comfortable! The free breakfast offered many items and tasted great! I felt totally safe and secure in the hotel!

The hotel can be a little hard to find, so print directions before you head there! The drive to downtown San Diego is really no big deal and we never hit any significant traffic! I will be staying at this hotel whenever my family heads back to the San Diego area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We were in San Diego as tourists and stayed here because the price was right even though it's a bit off the beaten patch. It's a suprisingly nice hotel and the service and staff exceptionally helpful. We enjoyed it and certainly recommend it to others. Jose and Gloria at the desk get special mention for being helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Its a Great Place , value for money if you are on business Trip and your office is nearby . You can save on lot of time of Travelling . Its near to Border and LAs Americas outlets , a great place for Shopping . Staff is very Friendly . Rooms are very Spacious , clean . The only disadvantage is that it is bit far from Downtown. On weekdays you can use Public Transport like Bus which you can easily get from nearby stop and the Tram form IRIS station which is the cheapest option . But on sundays , Private Cab is the only option to visit town .Cabs are easily availbale near the Border . Even the staff is very helpful and guides you for transporation

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Otay Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Otay Mesa

Address: 2296 Niels Bohr Court, Otay Mesa, San Diego, CA 92154
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Otay Mesa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa! San Diego flows with the charisma of its Spanish settlers, with sun, sand, beaches, mountains and lakes providing a wide array of options to both business and leisure travelers. This Holiday Inn is centrally located in San Diego County, only minutes from downtown, with easy access to both important industries and the many attractions of the city. Viegas and Barona Casino, located in East County, feature world class gaming, dining and entertainment. Discover some of San Diego's history by visiting Old Town San Diego with its famous Bazaar Del Mundo, Cabrillo National Monument, Gaslamp Quarter or one of the region's many missions. Enjoy Balboa Park, botanical gardens, museums, galleries, even wineries in North County. On the tree-lined streets of La Mesa, Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa is a newly renovated full service hotel, with modern design and highly trained staff. Featuring a state-of-the-art fitness center, a well-appointed heated outdoor pool, whirlpool, and highly equipped business center, Holiday Inn provides the perfect place to stay for any trip to San Diego. Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa--everything you need to visit this coastal Southern Californian city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Otay Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Diego Otay Mesa
Holiday Inn San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Otay Mesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.