We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, but Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Sofia Hotel to your Saves list
The Sofia Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #94 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Small, but Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed at the Sofia for a night. The location is great. The room is very small, but b/c of the layout, it didn't feel suffocating. The decor is nice. Parking staff was very helpful as they found a nail in our tire when they brought out the car for us. Phew. The free tour group was fun. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    395
    123
    59
    22
See reviews for
104
385
101
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The renovation of this hotel was very nicely done. Having a fridge in the room was nice. Great towels and linens. Water in the room was a nice plus when some hotels would charge you $5 a bottle. Front desk was very helpful especially Coleen. Room size is typical for a hotel of this era. We stayed here so we would be close to the fireworks on the 4th of July. Couple block walk to the best viewing location on the bay. Free bike retals made that early bike ride all the sweeter.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms on Front St.. This is known as the "chute" for the fire engines coming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I stayed at The Sofia hotel for a long weekend recently. Since I wasn't renting a car, I wanted a central location and Sofia fits the bill - it's only a few blocks from the Horton Plaza and all the shops and restaurants in Gaslamp. My room was small but it didn't feel tight due to a good layout and chic design. The Sofia also offered free wifi and has other amenities such as complimentary yoga sessions and walking tours. I didn't take advantage of these amenities since I had already booked several tours of my own, but because of Sofia's location, it was very convenient to walk to all the key sights.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed at the Sofia for two nights and it fit our itinerary. A short walk to the gas-lamp district and within walking to the trolley station. It could use some brightening up the front desk area but the place was fine. The rooms are a bit small but very comfortable and clean. Two bottles of water provided in our room every day was a nice gesture. Staff was friendly and easy parking. YES they do charge $30 a night but its better than running around trying to find parking. Your on vacation deal with it!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights. Good location, friendly staff. Gym was pretty lacking. The room was a decent enough size, and the bed was comfy. We had a view of the street and down to the water. Close to the convention centre, and Gas Lamp restaurants. Good stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The Sofa Hotel is in an fantastic location. It's within easy walking distance of plenty of bars and restaurants, the USS Midway, the Maritime Museum and pretty much everything else we wanted to see. The only thing we had to drive to was the Air & Space Museum, but that was only ten minutes away (nearly forgot - parking is $30 per 24 hours).

The hotel itself was excellent. The staff were polite and friendly, always saying hello as you come into the hotel. The room was very nicely appointed, although a little on the small side. I had a room to myself, so this wasn't a problem, but if I'd been sharing with someone, and we both had suitcases, it'd have been a squeeze.

We started and ended each evening in the hotel bar (they had an excellent beer on draft). Although it could be busy, we were usually able to sit at the bar and chat with the lovely ladies running the bar.

A great hotel, in a great location, with a great bar.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylmar
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The room was a nice size and it was very clean. The bed was so comfortable to sleep on. The staff was very friendly. When we were not sure where to eat the staff gave us a map and told us of place they had liked. That was so nice of them. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sofia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sofia Hotel

Address: 150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in San Diego
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sofia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of San Diego, The Sofia Hotel offers luxurious accommodations to please every taste. Weather you are traveling for business or pleasure, you will indulge in an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Sofia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Hotel San Diego
Sofia San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sofia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.