We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury expectation, Motel 8 delivery...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Sofia Hotel to your Saves list
The Sofia Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Luxury expectation, Motel 8 delivery...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

So disappointed! For trying to marketing themselves as a luxury hotel, they have certainly fallen well below the line of luxury. Guest service, guest recovery of issues and Housekeeping were lacking. The Valet team was the highlight of the Hotel staff, and provided the best service of the hotel! The hotel has set the expectation of luxury, but do not meet the standards of luxury.

My husband and I booked our room online and received the confirmation email of 1 room with King bed. When we checked-in the front desk agent told us we booked their "smaller room" with a double bed! When we showed them our confirmation email, the front desk agent shrugged it off and told us their computer system has us in a smaller room with double bed and there is nothing he can do... Basically pointing his finger at us saying it is our fault we are not staying in one of the "larger rooms". As a luxury hotel, if this happens, this is now your opportunity to recover the interaction and make it up somehow. They didn't!

In the morning we woke up early for a deep sea excursion. We were gone all day long, arriving back at the hotel at 4pm to shower and change for a nice evening out. When we arrived back to our room, it had not been serviced! The bed was in disarray, the wash cloth and towels we used the night before were still in the bathroom, and the bottles of water we are paying for as part of the resort fee had not been replenished! As we were the preparing for our evening out, the guest room attendant knocked on the door. I asked her if she could come back to 5pm... Fastforward to 1am, after our night out, the room had not been serviced yet!!! We called the front desk as we needed towels, and the water we are paying for as part of the resort fee. When we called to say the room had not been serviced, then front desk agent said, "Oh, I'm sorry, DID YOU NEED SOMETHING?" What?!?! Of course we need something! He promptly brought up towels and water, as we requested. But, again, part of the luxury hotel standard, a guest should not have to ask for anything, the staff should anticipate our needs, or at least service the room the next day.

On the day of our check-out, we asked to have a late check out as we were planning a kayak tour in La Jolla and wanted to be able to wash some of the sea salt off before driving back home. When we approched the front desk to confirm our late check out, the agent said "We don't do that." WHAT?!?! What Hotel doesn't offer a late check-out? We explained that when we called 3 weeks before, the agent on the phone assured us we could have a late check-out. The front desk agent then proceeded to tell us they are very booked (not our problem). I asked her when we would be informed our late check out request would not be accommodated, she shook her head and said "I don't know." She then tried to save face and say she could do her best to hold the room, but if we weren't going to make it back to give them a call to let them know...

This hotel has a lot of potential for a luxury hotel, but do not need the standards. The room is quaint, and the hotel has a lot of charm. But the areas they are lacking are the guest service, guest recovery of issues and the room service. We would not stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    401
    126
    59
    22
See reviews for
105
394
101
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Very clean, not very specious for 4 people. We brought our kids and it was very cramped... Right in down town, so location was great. Parking was a hassle, only valet for $30.00 per day... For just two people it would work fine... Nice hotel

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The Sofia is a lovely hotel located in downtown SD, the room we stayed in had a city view, small but modern decor and thoughtfully decorated and very clean! Loved the fitness/yoga room and the nice restaurant. Staff was very helpful and friendly, great rate for SD checking in on a weekend. The only downer was the thin wall could hear the loud people next door in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

The Sophia is conveniently located in the lively DT San Diego.
The lobby is small but simple and nice.
The room is really big, there is a sort of sitting room with a couch, chairs, desk, a big TV.. The bed is fairly sized and there is another large TV in front of it. The sink is not in the bathroom though but looks nice.
The bathroom looks obsolete.

There might be small details to be fixed in the room but it is not a big deal.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The good: Great location, nice views from the room, very comfortable beds, good tv, good service.

The bad; tiny rooms, thin walls, very expensive ($30 parking).

And beware of the HotelsPlus website. Very misleading and the hotel folks even said others have had issues with them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Booked a last minute room the Saturday of Comic-Con this year via HotelTonight. The rate was only $253 which was a HUGE bargain for that weekend. I mean a $500+ bargain.

It's in a great location, albeit a tad bit removed from the action of the Gaslamp. Still, nothing that a ten minute walk can't fix.

The rooms are tiny, but nothing unexpected from an older boutique hotel. No complaints since I was traveling solo, however I think even for two people it would be a little tight.

Great atmosphere and a wonderful check-in guy made this stay great for me. I'd go back if the price were right.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Beautiful building outside and in. When arriving to our room we noticed the maids had not been in, the room was in quite a mess! I went to tell the receptionist, thinking we would just have a drink in the bar and wait for our room to be cleaned. I was wrong, the hotel could not of done any more for us, we were put in another room which turned out to be a beautiful suite! Absolutely stunning. The hotel is in a great place right in the heart of the Gas Lamp. Plenty to do and see around or you can take the tram to zoo, sealife center, bay. San Diego is truly a beautiful place. Would absolutely recommend this hotel and for what it's worth the average rooms were beautiful too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sofia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sofia Hotel

Address: 150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in San Diego
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sofia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of San Diego, The Sofia Hotel offers luxurious accommodations to please every taste. Weather you are traveling for business or pleasure, you will indulge in an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Sofia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Hotel San Diego
Sofia San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sofia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.