We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough, not my first choice.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Sofia Hotel to your Saves list
The Sofia Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #98 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
troy, ny
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice enough, not my first choice.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has a nice location in reference to the convention center. It's almost unviable as a hole in the wall amongst the surrounding buildings. First impression: small elevator, small doors, small room! I don't feel like I have enough room to breathe for the price per night it cost. Nice staff though.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    377
    118
    57
    22
See reviews for
93
366
99
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The Sofia Hotel was excellent. I stayed with my wife and kids and the location was wonderful. So close to all of the area attractions and so many restaurants and entertainment within walking distance. I hope to stay there again soon. It was clean and the hotel staff was absolutely wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Pros - nice location convenient to the waterfront and Coronado ferry, a few blocks from the Gaslamp and the mall and easily walkable to the ballpark. Comfortable beds, very clean, nice restaurant and bar (Currant Brasserie) with great happy hour specials. They have bikes you can check out: not the greatest condition and it is part of the $8/day/room resort fee, which includes bottled water and wi-fi. Come early if you want a bike as they don't have that many. Quiet too. Size of the room was smaller as others have noted but we were fine with it and had lots of natural light. Photos from other travelers are very representative.

Cons - housekeeping service was a little strange: we were gone from 10-3:30 one day and no service until 4; 2nd day we called at 11 and said we would be gone for about 3 hours and asked for our room to be cleaned. Came back almost 4 hours later and housekeeper arrives just as we got back to our room! Windows don't open so if you want fresh air, you are out of luck. Also AC has room occupancy sensor, so it sets to a higher temperature if you are gone which isn't the greatest thing when you are trying to cool off a warm room (also seems to be intermittent at night when you are in bed). Service was a little lackluster at the front desk (did not seem like they cared that much). Came on a Bloomspot coupon which was a great deal but probably would not have been as pleased if we had paid a lot more.

Room Tip: We had a SW corner room on the 2nd floor facing the street (room 233) - had windows on two sides so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

THis hotel is nice and they also cater to dog owners with a floor dedicated to dogs!! What a great idea. THe hotel is in a central location. THey have a Coffee Bean coffee shop below in lobby area. NICE

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend of our second wedding anniversary and loved every minute of it! As soon as they found out we were celebrating our anniversary they offered to upgrade our room for free and our room had a great view of downtown San Diego. My husband (I found out later) wanted to surprise me one evening and have roses and champagne waiting for me in the room. He said that the staff was very eager to help him and were great at getting the room set up the way he wanted it. Also, the valet staff was very friendly and helpful as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The hotel had extremely poor service at night. A check-in kiosk, like those at the airports, would have been more helpful than the front desk gentleman. Valet is really the only option and is very expensive plus their service fee. Rooms are VERY tiny even by euro standards. Rooms overlook ...other rooms feet away. Room cleanliness is good and beds are comfortable. Safety around the hotel is quite poor and after dark one should be careful. Try one of the chain hotels for roughly the same price!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed here three nights using a Travelzoo coupon. You do pay $30 for parking, but that's San Diego. They got the car immediately each time we wanted it. The appetizers in the bar are HUGE, so go for dinner. Our rooms were small (as in Europe) but comfortable. My only complaints are the bad lighting over the sink and the open shower. We got water all over the floor.

Room Tip: Can't see how any would be noisy. My 5th floor corner room was nice and light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sofia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sofia Hotel

Address: 150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in San Diego
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sofia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of San Diego, The Sofia Hotel offers luxurious accommodations to please every taste. Weather you are traveling for business or pleasure, you will indulge in an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Booking.com, Splendia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Sofia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Hotel San Diego
Sofia San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sofia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.