We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly front desk staff, but be aware of small rooms.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Sofia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Sofia Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #98 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly front desk staff, but be aware of small rooms.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here the wk of June 5th, on our first night we couldnt sleep. We were kept awake by the construction for a new restaurant downstairs. Apparently they work at night. Fortunately, when we went to talk with the front desk, they were really nice, moved us to the opposite side of the building and apologized for the inconvenience! The rest of our stay was great. We walked everywhere, Gaslamp,Seaport village, Little Italy. We rented bikes from the concierge. Rooms are small though but it serves its purpose..housekeeping always kept our room clean. Definitely recommend if u wanna stay within walking distance of all the hotspots in SD!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    283
    360
    118
    52
    25
See reviews for
83
342
94
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Lovely building. The online description is why we choose the location for our business trip. The lobby was inviting and the staff was helpful. I had no problem paying the resort fee, actually thought it was a good value. Fitness center was a pleasant surprise. Our room was functional, yet small for two travelers. I found it interested that the hotel placed the single individuals in our group in larger rooms. Bed and linens average. The only major issue I had was, from 1:30 a.m. to 3:00 a.m. at night there was drilling and banging below us. This continued and we finally called the front desk. The answer was, "sorry" construction is going on in the building, nothing we can do about it." You'd think the hotel would place travelers in rooms where overnight construction wasn't taking place.

Room Tip: Ask for largest room available, non-construction side of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The reception guy who checked us in couldn't have been less interested if he'd tried. He put us in a room with really bad wifi, sowe complained and they moved us. They obviously knew this room had bad wifi and put us there because we had booked on a last minute hotel website. Very bad. Room was small but clean and fine.location good and central.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

By far and away the smallest hotel room I have ever seen. Ridiculously small! Bathroom had a pocket door and no shower door because there was no room for doors. Barely room to turn around. Worse yet water went everywhere. Sleeping area was so small you can only walk single file between the bed and armoire closet, only being able to move sideways between the two beds and on either side of the queen size beds.
The walls are so thin we could hear the people in the next room turning the light switches off and on. Front desk staff was annoyed by questions about additional fees and very non customer service oriented.
The linens were very nice was the only saving grace.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I recently spent 2 nights at this hotel in downtown San Diego. I picked it because the price was almost reasonable and it was in walking distance from the railroad station. I parked my car in Oceanside and took the Coaster to San Diego, which was much cheaper than parking my car at the hotel for the ridiculous fee of $30 per night. The room was well appointed but rather small. The room had an easy chair and ottoman -- which was nice -- but the chair took up all the space between the bed and the window. Also, the closet was not well laid out and was hard to get in and out of. I was most disappointed with the discovery in the morning that they had no breakfast service! Contrast this with hotels that offer free breakfasts both the US, but especially in Europe. Besides the car parking fee, which I did not have to pay, the hotel also hasn't gotten the word and charged an $8 per day "resort fee." The only benefit of the resort fee was the allegedly free coffee in the room. If the fee is mandatory, PUT IT IN THE PRICE!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Far from a boutique hotel, someone needs to clarify to them that concept ASAP. It's an OK Hotel, location is convenient but other than that there's nothing remarkable about the facilities or service.

No shower door, uncomfortable beds and poor cable. They have an extra $8.00 dls a day fee for "amenities" which are absurd to charge for. (Business Center, Wi-Fi, bikes) and there's a $30.00 dls a day for Parking Valet Service.

Pricey for what you get.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a brand new bed and shower door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

It's just as reviewed and advertised...modest size rooms, very well appointed with plenty of storage space and a excellent restoration. The staff we found to be extremely accommodating. We needed help on directions as there were street closures due to a Marathon that weekend. Brian at the front desk regularly routed us around the trouble with no problems.

Location for the downtown Gaslamp District is great as well as other attractions. My little negative is that the room signing in the halls is unreadable. Listened to two other couples muttering as they tried to find thei rooms. Classic form over function.

We'll be back.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sofia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sofia Hotel

Address: 150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in San Diego
#59 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sofia Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of San Diego, The Sofia Hotel offers luxurious accommodations to please every taste. Weather you are traveling for business or pleasure, you will indulge in an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Sofia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Hotel San Diego
Sofia San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sofia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.