We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better with minor changes” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Sofia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Sofia Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #99 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Could be better with minor changes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We spent 5 nights in this hotel, in a room with 2 double beds. The room was small and a bit crowded with 2 people, but we really didn't spend a lot of time in the room so it didn't matter. The room had a fridge and microwave, which was a nice surprise. There is an $8/day charge for the use of the hotel amenities and 2 bottles of water every day. This includes unlimited access to the business center and internet. The staff are very friendly and eager to please. The hotel is in a great location; close to transit, gaslamp, horton plaza and the harbor. The downside to the room is there was no tub and the shower was poorly designed for such a small space. Water sprayed everywhere. Guests should not have to mop up water after each shower. A shower curtain might be helpful. We couldn't understand why a face cloth was placed on the bath mat, but it became apparent after the first shower. Obviously the hotel knows there is an issue and should fix it. Also, the windows were so grimy that you could barely see through them. That was a turn off and it gave me the impression that it was a grimy hotel, which realy it wasn't. The air conditioning blew directly onto the bed, which made it very uncomfortable to sleep. After night 1, we had to turn it off. All in all it was a decent stay, but I would probably try a different place next time.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a bath tub, ask. It's not agiven.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    265
    345
    112
    53
    21
See reviews for
84
343
94
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My wife and I had a quick overnight stay downtown. We tried the Sofia and loved it. The Sofia Hotel had all the advantages of staying at a classic location in the heart of downtown with the updated comfort and luxury of a new boutique hotel. Though the suites were small, they were modern, very comfortable, and well equipped. The staff was friendly and helpful and though we didn't try the food, the adjoining restaurant's cocktails were delicious.
We'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed here Nov 15th w/ my boyfriend. He was flying in from the East Coast & actually got an early flight in. He was due to arrive in San Diego @ 11am. I called the hotel to ask if it was possible for us to check in early that day & not only did they say yes of course, but since I was already in San Diego, I actually checked into the room at 9:30am with no additional charge.
The front desk staff I worked with was Marianna & Brian. I booked the rooms with Marianna 2 months in advance & then spoke with Brian about the early check in. They were both working when we arrived at the hotel & when we checked out. They were so sweet, personable & professional. Made me seem like their job was to make the guests happy, a concept lost on some hotels nowadays!
The hotel's location was great, parking a bit confusing but even the parking attendants were so helpful & polite. The hotel is a historical hotel with old charm & unique boutique style. We had a great deal on a queen suite in 601, with a good view of the outlying downtown area looking toward the bay.
The suite was nicely decorated and ample space for a suite. So thankful for the ihome charger on the night stand. A TV in both the living & sleep area (not that we used them) a small closet, the sink was outside of the bathroom, which was a good call since the bathroom was small. There is a mini microwave & empty fridge in the living room, so that was a nice surprise.
The only reason it did not receive 5 stars is bc the air conditioning unit in both the bedroom & living room was SOOO loud, we turned them both off until we needed some air circulation & had to turn one of them on. And the bed was not the most comfortable.
But again I cannot say enough about the guest services! Best I have had in a LONG time! Thanks Mariana & Brian! I will see you again!

Room Tip: Suite 601 is a corner suite w/ a street/downtown to bay view out the lving room window. (You will on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband was attending a conference. The conference hotels were full. I found that the Sofia was within walking distance of the SD convention center. The lobby and room furnishings are attractive and modern. Our room with two double beds was quite small, not necessarily a problem unless one wanted to walk in front of the beds other than single file. The bathroom door to save space was attached at the top and held in place by something that allowed it to move kind of like a pocket door. The problem was that it got off the track and would not open trapping my husband inside for a few minutes. The outside of the windows were grimy. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I liked the restaurant and also the coffee bar located in front of the hotel. Cost a little over $200 per night.

Room Tip: Pets are allowed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hancock
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Booked through hotel's site directly and signed up to be " friends" of the Sofia" to receive announcements of offers, etc. At that time I read all of the reviews so I knew what to expect. Almost every review grades lower because of small room size, so this was not a surprise. I selected the smallest,least expensive room for 5 nights. When I checked in (4hrs early) I requested a room with a lot of natural light. Mary Ann was very friendly and she found me a front facing corner room so I had windows on two walls and was upgraded from a double bed room to a queen for bit less than I would have paid for the double. The room was clean. Yes water sprays out of the shower but it isn't much of a problem if you use your bathmat. The shower was roomy and had good spray. The bed and bedding were very comfortable. Closet was adequate. Large flat screened tv. The lobby was very comfortable and tastefully decorated. I had no trouble printing my boarding passes in the business center near the lobby. I peaked into the yoga place and people were using it. I received great directions and advice from desk staff and concierge. The mini fridge was great to keep the complimentary water bottles cold and i ended up heating up some delicious leftovers in the little microwave. I am a woman who stayed alone while attending a conference at the San Diego convention center. It was a pretty easy 15-20 min walk each way. Even as a single woman after dArk I felt safe walking the downtown and gas lamp areas because there were so many people around and many businesses still open. Some other reviewers said there were a lot of homeless--yes you'll see some, but my last conference was in San Francisco, and there are a lot more there--and sf's homeless approach you a lot more. Good shopping and eating very close by. The hotels own restaurant, Currant, (see separate review) definitely deserves your visit--ate here three times during my stay which is not something I usually do. The only very minor complaint was that after the first night, my in-room coffee was replaced as all decaf coffee. When I saw a maid later and asked for some regular, I was told the entire hotel was out of regular--and this remained true for the rest of my stay. A lovely coffee shop is just a few steps out of the lobby, but as someone who normally drinks a lot of coffee, it would have been nice to have some type of coupon or voucher for those of us who counted on in-room coffee as an amenity. However, I loved the cozy room (might have been less comfy if traveling with another person). Loved the lobby, the historical features of the building, the bed, location, and pretty much everything! Would definitely stay again. PS: I heard several people complaining about the cost to valet your car. There are cheaper public lots around for self valet. Also, I think it would have been a hassle to drive in the city. The city is very walkable and there are busses and cabs everywhere.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The renovated hotel is nice, but located very near the JAIL, bail bondsmen, etc. Extra costs: $30/day valet (plus tip) - cheapest choice for parking. Also mandatory $8 at checkout for amenities fee (2 bottles of water). Not coming back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We bought a groupon for this hotel and used it to go to the Halloween party in the Gaslamp. We had a queen bed suite. It had a sitting room. It was a little small but big enough for our needs. The bathtub was not a full soak tub and our bedroom windows looked out onto brick. The sitting room windows were nice and large though and looked out onto the street. I read some reviews about the hotel being noisy, but it was completely quiet for us. The tv's were tiny (and not flatscreen) compared to what we have got in other hotels, but we didn't come to the room to watch tv. All in all I enjoyed our stay and thought we got a good deal. We also ate in the bar/restaurant and their buffalo burger was fabulous!

Room Tip: I liked the corner suite because it had big windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaWinslow, General Manager at The Sofia Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at The Sofia and we were glad to hear that you were able to use an advertised deal to go to the Halloween Bash in the Gaslamp downtown. The installation of new 42" televisions in all of our guest rooms is underway and should be completed soon. We also agree that the Bison Burger at Currant is fantastic . Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sofia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sofia Hotel

Address: 150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in San Diego
#59 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sofia Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of San Diego, The Sofia Hotel offers luxurious accommodations to please every taste. Weather you are traveling for business or pleasure, you will indulge in an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, BookIt.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Sofia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Hotel San Diego
Sofia San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sofia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.