We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel was great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added The Sofia Hotel to your Saves list
The Sofia Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 273 Hotels in San Diego
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The hotel was great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We bought a groupon for this hotel and used it to go to the Halloween party in the Gaslamp. We had a queen bed suite. It had a sitting room. It was a little small but big enough for our needs. The bathtub was not a full soak tub and our bedroom windows looked out onto brick. The sitting room windows were nice and large though and looked out onto the street. I read some reviews about the hotel being noisy, but it was completely quiet for us. The tv's were tiny (and not flatscreen) compared to what we have got in other hotels, but we didn't come to the room to watch tv. All in all I enjoyed our stay and thought we got a good deal. We also ate in the bar/restaurant and their buffalo burger was fabulous!

Room Tip: I liked the corner suite because it had big windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaWinslow, General Manager at The Sofia Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at The Sofia and we were glad to hear that you were able to use an advertised deal to go to the Halloween Bash in the Gaslamp downtown. The installation of new 42" televisions in all of our guest rooms is underway and should be completed soon. We also agree that the Bison Burger at Currant is fantastic . Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    447
    146
    64
    25
See reviews for
117
437
108
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

An excellent hotel if one is downtown San Diego, wants to be near the Gaslight district and the trolley line, and wants something other than the cookie cutter chain operations. Our room was small but had a large bathroom. Excellent bed, soaps, linen, towels were provided. However, the best attribute was the staff. Front desk and concierge was friendly and extremely helpful. Made recommendations for places to go, how to get there and generally acted like they wanted us to have a good time and enjoy their city.

Next time in San Diego, we're staying there.

Room Tip: Rooms on Broadway can be a little noisy. If you want dead quiet ask for the rooms away from that st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I picked The Sofia largely on the reviews found here. Overall it didn't disappoint! The rooms were clean and very well appointed-interent was great and I loved the bottled water that was replaced every day. Yes the room was small but for the amount of time spent there it wasn't an issue. Our room was dark as we had a massive brick wall facing us through the window. I can't remember our room number but you can ask when checking in what outlook you have from the window. If you are at all clastrophobic then some of the rooms at the Sofia may be an issue for you.
The location was great and they offer a free walking tour which I highly recommend. They also offer free use of bikes.
When I selected The Sofia we didn't think we would still have a car but as it turns out we did and so the parking is very pricey.Had I know we'd still have the car at this point of our trip, I wouldn't have selected The Sofia. We let the valet park the car and we didn't take it out the 4 days we spent there! We didn't need to because of the hotel's proximity to everything.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed 1 night in a King suite room. Our room was on the second floor and was medium sized for a suite and had modern vanity and clean furnishing. The sofa was a pull out bed as well. I was told that the regular rooms were tiny so we made sure to get a King suite since we had 4 kids in our party. The phone was not working but was fixed quickly after I told them about it. We liked the location since it was in the middle of downtown and close to Gaslamp district. The concierge was very friendly and offered free bike rentals. We took the bikes out early morning and rode along the marina sidewalk. We really enjoyed the amenities and found the staff to be very friendly and accomodating.

Room Tip: If you can get a deal, opt for the King suite. It is much roomier and worth the $ if you have more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

This is a cery good hotel actually. It is in a newly decorated hosgorical building. Very good location in Downtown, just 2 minutes walking to historical GasLamp area. You can even walk to the port for the Coronado Island ferries.

Free bicycles at 7am in the morning.

Free Tour og GasLamp (Historical Area) every weekend.

Clean rooms, very good concierge.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I loved The Sofia. Friendly service, great location, excellent facilities.I had a very stylish room, a lot is said about the rooms here being small and a bit dark but I found no prombles with either,. Easy walk to the Lamplight Quarter, a lively section with lots of excellent restaurants. The only slight glitch was an IT problem which ment no room charges from the Bar and Resturant but Im sure that will be addressed

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I used a Living Social deal, so I wasn't put off by the small size room. It was reasonable for the price I paid. It's an older hotel that has been renovated. They don't have room service, but stores are nearby. Therefore, I didn't have much to complain about since I liked walking around.

My hotel experience was decent until my 6-year-old daughter found a "candy" condom wrapper in the room. She brought me a wrapper she found after pulling out a foot rest. She even asked me what a candy condom was. I don't even know where to begin about that. It was upsetting, appalling and disgusting. I will never go back again! I understand that people have sex in hotels; however, I kept thinking if the hotel staff didn't get a simple wrapper under a foot stool, what more for my bed? I will absolutely never go back.

Room Tip: Don't...it's dirty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#62 of 273 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 970 reviews
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel
Porto Vista Hotel
#110 of 273 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 1,377 reviews
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#108 of 273 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#32 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 484 reviews
Downtown
Declan Suites San Diego
Declan Suites San Diego
#158 of 273 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 1,069 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sofia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sofia Hotel

Address: 150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in San Diego
#58 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sofia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of San Diego, The Sofia Hotel offers luxurious accommodations to please every taste. Weather you are traveling for business or pleasure, you will indulge in an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Splendia, Otel, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your The Sofia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Hotel San Diego
Sofia San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sofia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.