We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swanky style and over the top service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz San Diego

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Andaz San Diego to your Saves list
Andaz San Diego
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   600 F Street, Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Good Morning Sunshine
Ranked #78 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Swanky style and over the top service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

If you are looking for a hip hotel in an excellent location in the gas lamp district with amazing service, this is the place to stay. From the moment you arrive, very friendly people great you and help you with all your needs. They offer you a beverage of your choice right away and always welcome you back as they open the door for you. Check in is a breeze. The rooms are plush with comfy pillows and bedding, amazing showers and great amenities. The roof top bar has a great view of the water, the stadium and panoramic all around. Food was great and the wine bar is a great way to taste lots of good wines. The wine host was very knowledgeable. Very close to great shopping and amazing resturaunts. Stayed with some friends and can't say enough about the customer service and comfort of the stay. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    230
    92
    53
    39
See reviews for
49
335
42
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

If your looking for a fun and exotic getaway to spark up your relationship this is the place to go! Ive stayed at many hotels before and this hotel will be one i will never forget! From the beginning at the parking valet to the check in area you feel like your staying at a 5 star resort and ive stayed at many 5 star resorts in Vegas, California, and Hawaii. It is a very personal check in where the person is communicating right next to you instead of over the counter! The room is very small but the design is a very comfortable and yet elegant room and the bed is soft and cozy! I felt like a high roller especially when you have VIP access to the clubs in the hotels! They also drop off and pick you up from any location within 2 miles of the hotel in an ESCALADE on 24s!! Ive never felt so good about my investment with this hotel but if your looking to relax and have quite time this may not be the place for you. The music is loud but not loud enough to where it affected my sleep at night because i slept very well every night!! wink wink!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

Friendly / Helpful Staff - amazing rooftop lounge - decor in both the lobby & rooms is beautiful - not a big fan of the tub which requires a step stool to get in & out of

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

We got a discount through their website...it was truly a great deal! We were welcomed by very friendly valet service and the customer service in the lobby. We were offered a glass of wine while our check in took literally minutes. We were SO happy with our room! So clean! Great FREE mini-bar snacks! Overall a great experience! It was a perfect location to the gaslamp quarter in downtown, and the concierge was very helpful with recommending restaurants or sites to see. I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

The service immediately upon our arrival felt extremely personalized, without being overbearing. The decor of the hotel is very upscale and chic and the rooms have all (and more) of the luxurious amenities you could ever dream of. The mini-bar is stocked with many free (and some extremely pricey) snacks and drinks.
The hotel transforms itself into 4 nightclubs in the evening and it's like a completely different place! The rooftop pool bar hosts sexy dancers, model searches and awesome muslc. We went to a few places in SD but kept coming back here afterward because the music and atmosphere were so great. DON'T stay at this hotel if you are a light sleeper. They do provide ear plugs on demand which basically eliminates the problem and ensures a great sleep.
The service on the rooftop pool patio was extremely slow and unattentive, but the server still tried to be friendly on the odd occasion when he actually came around.
Overall this was a great experience but the Andaz needs to provide outstanding service consistently to uphold its image.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjenred5
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

If you're looking for a place to get trashed, get laid and party, this is the place for you.

If you want to actually sleep, have somewhere to put your things away and have some peace and quiet, GO ELSEWHERE.

They have a club in the hotel that goes full on until 2am on Friday & Saturday nights. It is impossible to block out the noise. On top of that, you have to go through a bouncer to get to your room.

When the official party ends the drunken belligerent middle-aged partiers head to their rooms and continue the insanity.

The rooms, while visually stylish, are incredibly small and poorly designed. No where to put your clothes away, not even a suitcase stand. In our room there was a glass wall between the bedroom and bathroom so in order not to see the person on the toilet you had to stand practically in a corner.

The food and drinks were good.

The beds were comfortable but I guess you would expect that in a one-night-stand-y sort of place like this.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

Things you must know about this hotel.

#1 It is amazing. Very cool vibe. Beautiful modern room
#2 Service is unbelievable. 2 glasses of wine as you walk in the door. Drinks and food in the rooms mini bar are complimentary (Expcept Alcohol)
#3 Shower is very cool, Ambiance is very hip and cool through out the room.
#4 and MOST IMPORTANT (THIS IS A NIGHT CLUB) and then a hotel! Very High end night club. If I didnt know better I would have assumed the San Diego Charger Cheerleaders were have a party on the roof.
#5 The night club is outside on the roof. Thursday night begins the weekend.
#6 Music pumped hard (Vegas Hard until around 1:30)
#7 Dont plan on a quite night until after 1:30
#8 If you can get past the party, this place is in my top 20 places I have stayed and I travel alot.
#9 If you plan on going up to the party, they treat you like kings there. All door charges are waived and you are given VIP Status. The people and the surroundings are beautiful.
#10 I got it on priceline for $70


Good Luck

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andaz San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz San Diego

Address: 600 F Street, Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in San Diego
#18 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#24 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#33 Business Hotel in San Diego
#36 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Andaz San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz San Diego Hotel San Diego
Ivy Hotel San Diego
Ivy San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.