We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, hip&trendy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz San Diego

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Andaz San Diego to your Saves list
Andaz San Diego
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   600 F Street, Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Good Morning Sunshine
Ranked #79 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
istanbul
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Good location, hip&trendy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in Andaz. The hotel is a trendy and hip boutique hotel with a very good location. You are 2 minutes away from Gaslamp district, where all the action was going on. The front desk and the valet service was nice and friendly. Valet service is so expensive (50 usd) Instead, park your car at the closest parking lot for around 25 usd/night. Check in was smooth, pool terrace is nice to have a drink. We did not have any problems in Andaz.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    230
    93
    53
    39
See reviews for
49
338
42
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala, Sweden
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

We visited San Diego 4 days and stayed at Andaz 3 nights. The hotel was fresch and clean. Staff very serviceminded, it was a "relaxed" atmosphere even thought the hotel was high standard - we liked that a lot!! The bar at the top was nice - try that. Our kids testet the pool and this was also great! The only thing we want to be improved was the lightening in the rooms, it was to dark, especially in the bathroom.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndazSD, Andaz Guest Services at Andaz San Diego, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Åsa B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us! You’ve got it right; at Andaz we like to keep things relaxed and uncomplicated while still providing top notch service to our guests. Please come back to see us soon and enjoy all that Andaz has to offer.

All our best,
Andaz Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The first night that we arrived at 5:30 pm and they told us they were overbooked (even though I had called the hotel personally to confirm the afternoon before) so they put us in the Grand Hyatt and transported us by car. The next morning the Grand Hyatt called to confirm that they had a room for the next two nights and provided a taxi to the hotel, when we arrived we were told that the room probably would not be ready until after 4pm so they would hold our luggage. I must say that I was getting frustrated at this point as it was our anniversary and we did not want to waste another day waiting to start the vacation activities; this is where the manager Dan stepped in and saved the trip -- he offered for us to go to the pool and have a " bloody mary" and after that he had us transported to Old Town for our day of fun! The hotel is different but very nice and the staff was very helpful and we did enjoy it. I did not find noise an issue on Sunday or Monday. Thanks Dan!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndazSD, Guest Services at Andaz San Diego, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear gma1993,

Thank you for your review! We are glad you chose to spend your anniversary with us and that we were able to fulfill your expectations despite the unusual situation. We will make sure to let Dan know you appreciated his efforts as well. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

All our best,
Andaz Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

I was not overly impressed with this hotel. It had a bizarre check in method with no real front desk, our floor was under construction when we arrived and 4 of the 7 nights the pool area was closed off for events. The room was tiny. They did fill a small basket of goodies daily and refreshments, that was nice! Valet was good too. Front desk did not offer much info for tourists although they were very nice and professional. They should give guests dinner and travel suggestions like del Coronado does. Hotel was ok but if I ever again I will be staying at the del or somewhere more upscale.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This time I was there for business. Staff was friendly, helpful and efficient. Although their main restaurant was closed, their Rooftop was open and served a wonderful vegetarian sandwich. The conference food was above expectations - no rubber chicken!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndazSD, Guest Services at Andaz San Diego, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Susan W,

We are so happy you had yet another wonderful stay at Andaz San Diego! Please come back to see us again and continue sharing your experiences with us.

All our best,
Andaz Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont Shore, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed one night to enjoy the rooftop bar, view and relax.The service was good with friendly staff and location was great for exploring downtown. I had read other reviews noting the hotel being noisy from partying however we were there on a Tues (no partiers) but will say that we experienced street noise that was hard to sleep through. (poorly insulated windows) The decor was cool and hotel feel fun however the carpet had bleach stains and the shower sprayed all over the floor through the door. The rooftop had a great view but one bartender behind the bar and no other waitstaff to provide service. The bartender upgraded my vodka to make a "better" drink but it tasted like syrup not vodka. Maybe the best time to stay is when you just want to party.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This is NOT a place for children. Unless you want them to be hit by beer bottles while swimming in the pool.

This hotel is what it claims to be, a party hotel for 30-somethings. In its lobby is a store for guys who are looking for club clothes. Everywhere you go are ads for the rooftop pool with scantily clad women.

Rooms --- TINY. We stayed in a regular room, and its one of the smallest rooms I have ever stayed in. It's a small room with a shower right in the middle, this may be somewhat chic, but it was lost on me as there are no shelves in the shower so everything has to sit on the floor. Lots of bending in a glass shower. Weird, if you ask me. And our shower leaked. There isn't a dresser to unpack and the closet is about 2 feet wide. Tiny, tiny, tiny.

Ambiance- We had gone out friday night so we chilled saturday. We were awoken 6 times saturday night by drunk partiers running and screaming down the halls. Look, I'm not hating, I like to cut loose, but there is something missing about the hotel. Its too "trendy,cool,chic" for its own good. It loses some of the basics, like privacy (we could hear a pin drop in next room which was a bachlorette party and wow do the girls talk about some pretty gross stuff). It loses service. We had flown cross country to stay there and had to be at del mar by 2 p.m. When we went to check in to change, we were told no rooms were going to be ready until 4p.m. We pled our case and that surely, there is a SINGLE room ready in the hotel so we could change from our 7 hours of travel so we could make it on time, and the guy checking us in looked at us like we had a horn on our head, but he did offer that we should "check out the roof top pool for some nice $15 margaritas". Ugh.

Bottom line - if you are on a bachelor party, bachelorette party, or any party for that matter, this is your place. The valet was on-point and it is located in the heart of the party district. Anything else, pass.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Andaz San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz San Diego

Address: 600 F Street, Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#20 Green Hotel in San Diego
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#33 Business Hotel in San Diego
#36 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Andaz San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz San Diego Hotel San Diego
Ivy Hotel San Diego
Ivy San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.