We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel with best nightclub in San Diego!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz San Diego

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Andaz San Diego to your Saves list
Andaz San Diego
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   600 F Street, Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Good Morning Sunshine
Ranked #79 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The best hotel with best nightclub in San Diego!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Besides the weird name , this hotel has it all! 4 level nightclub , rooftop pool / club , unbelievable food . I think about this hotel almost every day and how i cannot wait to go back party all night and then have steak and eggs with a bloody mary for breakfast on the rooftop bistro overlooking beautiful downtown San Diego.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty_Middleton, General Manager at Andaz San Diego, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear paul m,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay with us at Andaz San Diego. The word Andaz literally translates into “personal style” in Hindi, and I am happy to hear that our ideas are parallel! I have to agree with you, the steak and eggs are one of my favorites as well!

Kind regards,
Rusty Middleton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    230
    93
    53
    39
See reviews for
49
337
42
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, MI
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in! The staff is very helpful, accommodating, friendly, and professional. The room amenities are plentiful and I really like the spacious bathroom.

The front desk/lobby is equipped with cappuccino, coffee, water, and wine, among other things... There are also computers and printers to use as well as an atm machine.

The fitness center and rooftop pool area have great views of the San Diego skyline, too!

I would recommend this hotel to everyone!

Note: Andaz is connected to a wonderful Japanese restaurant. Andaz has multiple parties on weekends so be prepared for a younger crowd and music.

Room Tip: If you stay on the top floor (6), you can hear the music from the rooftop club during weekend evenin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty_Middleton, General Manager at Andaz San Diego, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear 9Superstar9,

Thank you for your recommendation of Andaz San Diego, your referral is truly our biggest compliment. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the fitness center and pool while here and that the staff was accommodating to all of your needs. Katsuya San Diego is located in the hotel and we are lucky to have them as one of our culinary partners. We are excited to welcome you back in the future!

Best,
Rusty Middleton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

As a frequent traveler to San Diego I have stayed at several hotels and Andaz takes the cake. The location is great, right downtown, as soon as you pull up your car is valeted, and someone greets you. In the hotel the check in process is quick,easy, ask you what type of newspaper you want in the morning and give you the keys. The staff is very professional and neat. The rooms are luxurious, amazing stocked bar with free options like snacks and water, plus free wifi. Large bathrooms, big showers, lots of towels, everything you could need. Rooftop pool, great views, good cocktails. They really make you feel at hotel and this is my go to hotel in San Diego.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty_Middleton, General Manager at Andaz San Diego, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear MK75NYC,
Thank you for going out of your way to write this review about your stay with us at Andaz! I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed the fresh, eclectic, and fun environment of our property and were well taken care of while here. We are excited to welcome you back in the future and extend to you all of the courtesies that you have come to expect from us!
Best wishes,
Rusty Middleton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The room was well cleaned everyday and the complimentary beverages were convenient. however it was obvious that the furniture is worn from maybe a lot of hotel room parties. definitely a baby sister hotel of the grand hyatt and it's class. in the middle of the night there were guests in nearby rooms constantly exiting and entering neighboring rooms and speaking loudly at 2/3/4 am. it wasn't just fri and sat night.

great room service, very prompt and the food & bev staff were very warm and interactive.

felt the the lobby needed a good clean/shine, despite the number of people they have entering and exiting this area, it should still maintain a level of shiny lively cleanliness.

the reception staff were pleasant, all the ladies were nice, there was one chap that unfortunately was not very helpful. i had asked him for thoughts on how to get to the las americas outlets, he was adamant that it was not possible to take the Trolley but instead only by taxi, car hire or limo service. you can definitely take the Trolley down that way and a 15min walk to the outlets. Similarly, there are many buses nearby to the hotel in which you can take to Fashion Valley, USS Midway and even the local airport. Taxi's are abundant and the hotel location is close to restaurants and several Trolley stop points (10+min walk in whichever direction). there wasn't an obvious concierge desk so i assume the staff would be wearing dual hats to service guests properly.

Overall, still think it was a great hotel in comparison to the others located in the area, but staff should probably become more familiar with the common questions and answers and if they aren't sure, the best answer might be 'let me just look it up for you or check with my colleague'.

Not the W hotel, but i felt it was a similar theme.

Room Tip: booked a king room not facing the street or near the elevators for less noise. bathroom a decent siz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Wonderful hotel. Lots of complimentary snacks and drinks with the room. Clean, modern decor. Excellent service and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Only complaint was noise in room-right behind elevator on 6th floor led to rumbling constantly and early on the morning there was noise from the roof that sounded like furniture being dragged for at least an hour. I would definitely stay here again but not in room 634.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty_Middleton, General Manager at Andaz San Diego, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear GVB23,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our fresh feel and that our staff could accommodate your needs, I will make sure to pass on the compliment to our team. Please let me know if I can be of any assistance in booking your next stay with us to ensure that you are in a more quiet location.
Kind regards,
Rusty Middleton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catania, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This hotel was great in every way... very very clean rooms.. glass walls, glass showers, and nice setup all around... very nice rooftop bar with fantastic crowds and the poolside is nice too. All the staff have been super awesome and professional since I've been here and I've been here for 2 weeks. They almost go outta of their way to make sure I was taken care of. The location is in middle of Gaslamp so only blocks from Petco or steps from 5th Ave. I rate the gym a little low since not much equipment and I was hoping for a sauna, but it works for a little cardio. Breakfast isn't free but is made to order and fantastic views since it's on the rooftop. Plenty of amenities around. Highly recommend!!

Room Tip: some of the views are better than others... if you can get a room on the front side of the hotel, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty_Middleton, General Manager at Andaz San Diego, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Koronakidd,
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our rooms and amenities and that the staff was accommodating to your needs. We hope to welcome you back for future stays. Thank you as well for your recommendation, your referral is our biggest compliment!
All the best,
Rusty Middleton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Yes,no place to unpack suitcase. Very small room Bathroom has no door Shower leaked all over floor. Service and attentiveness of staff great, room service quick and good, valet expensive but expected. Rooftop bar great but was raining the 3 days we were there Close to everything

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andaz San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz San Diego

Address: 600 F Street, Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in San Diego
#19 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#33 Business Hotel in San Diego
#36 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Andaz San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz San Diego Hotel San Diego
Ivy Hotel San Diego
Ivy San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.