We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooftop nightclub very cool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz San Diego

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Andaz San Diego to your Saves list
Andaz San Diego
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   600 F Street, Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Good Morning Sunshine
Ranked #79 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington State
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Rooftop nightclub very cool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Very cool, sophisticated vibe at the rooftop nightclub. Tons of people nicely dressed. Drinks seemed a little overpriced, bartenders seemed too swamped for friendly service. We didn't stay at the hotel, but had a really nice tour of a couple of rooms by a helpful staff member. They're sleek and nice, if a little small.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    229
    92
    53
    39
See reviews for
49
334
42
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Smithville, Missouri, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed at Andaz this week in Gaslamp District. Lovely, trendy and newer boutique hotel by Hyatt. Beautiful rooms with excellent staff. Heated swimming pool on the roof (with a bar close by) with 24 hour gym and lots included in the rate. Close to everything. - Convention Center, shopping, yummy restaurants, and baseball stadium can be seen from roof just a few blocks away.

Room Tip: Don't take a room 1 (e.g. 401) on any floor as it backs up to elevators. Higher numbered rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles,Ca.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Great customer service. Everyone from valet to club security super friendly and considerate. We did have a minor housekeeping issue. Apparently, we either had a bathroom flood or a flood in the hallway in front of our room. We had a giant fan in the hallway drying the carpet from the time we checked in until we checked out. We also had a soggy carpet spot in our room. We understand things happen. It didn't affect our stay but soggy carpet is a little gross. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My friends and I stayed at the Andaz San Diego last weekend. The front desk staff were very kind and accommodating. What really stood out at the Andaz in San Diego was the service. Matt, at the front, was more than hospitable. In fact, he was very understanding and willing to work with our group in every way. He was very friendly and I would definitely recommend others to stay at the hotel! The only downside would be the valet cost, but other than that it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty_Middleton, General Manager at Andaz San Diego, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear deehyang,

I am delighted to hear that you and your friends had a memorable Bachelorette Weekend with us at Andaz San Diego! Thank you for your recommendation and for your kind words about Matt, I will make sure to pass on this compliment to him. We hope to welcome you back for future stays!

All the best,

Rusty Middleton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I traveled to San Diego on our honeymoon and stayed for 5 nights at the Andaz Hotel in San Diego. We stayed on the 4th floor in the KingXL room. Check-in was a breeze, but we were not offered a complimentary beverage as stated in other reviews (and on their website). Our room was not exactly as pictured, but we were still pleased. The hotel provides complimentary beverages and snacks and the in-room menu makes it VERY clear what is free and what is not. The hotel sent a bottle of wine, glasses, and chocolates to our room for our honeymoon, which I felt was very thoughtful. We had the breakfast package, and the food and view from the rooftop were both impressive. The hotel also offered us complimentary turndown service; our bed was always ready (with a free bottle of water and a sweet note) after a long day/night out.

The hotel is in an excellent location. It is close to the main strip of restaurants, bars, and shopping. It is also a reasonable walking distance to the trolley stop, Seaport Village, and the Navy Pier.

I travel quite a bit for work, and I can honestly say the service at this hotel is nearly unmatched. The valet crew is more than happy to hail you a cab, give you directions to anywhere in town, and explain the public transportation system. We also took several trips in the hotel SUV (gratuity-based service).

Overall, we had an amazing trip to San Diego and I would absolutely stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat. If you book here, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower floors avoid the noise of the nightclub on the weekend. The corner XL King Room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, CA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I booked this hotel the same day we arrived. It was a last minute decision by my husband and I to get away from our teenage kids for the night! When we arrived and the valet took our car we were immediately welcomed to have a seat in the comfortable lobby while we waited to be checked in. The staff thoughtfully kept track of what order the guests arrived in and we were all helped in turn. We were swifty checked in via Ipad and offered a complimentary glass of wine. After a two hour drive that was amazing! I wish all hotels had this type of check in. Our room was the exact category we booked and was on a higher floor with a great city view. The shower is not for the shy (see pictures). Complimentary snacks were offered in a basket in the room along with complimentary drinks. Wow! We felt welcome. This hotel makes you feel special. We were greeted each time we entered and exited the lobby and thoughtfully offered assistance with any local places (we walked everywhere as this hotel is in a great central location in the gaslamp area). The valet even stopped another employee one evening to find out how late the local Starbucks was open when we asked. The only negative to our stay was the fact that at three am they began the setup for the huge Sham-Rock event held in San Diego on St. Patrick's Day. The noises were awful! Alarms, beeping of trucks backing up, the banging of stage set-up...ALL MORNING LONG....UGH! Next time we will check city events before staying. I called the front desk to complain but we weren't even offered ear plugs. In truth our rate should have been discounted or we should have been given a breakfast voucher for that kind of sleep interruption. While not a dealbreaker from returning, it was a small misstep in customer service in my eyes as we were not told about this when we checked in!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Andaz San Diego in January 2013. I don't know about you but I wanted to stay in the historic part of town and there are so many hotels that say they are in that area, but which one to choose. I can now confirm that from a location point of view this is the best. We walked outside the front door, turned the corner and we were right in the middle of the restaurant, club and shopping district. I did not see any of the other hotels that say they are in this area. It was awesome. The hotel has been beautifully done up and the rooms are a good size. We had two rooms and both were excellent. The adults room featured a shower in virtually the middle of the room. Great for couples. When we ventured downstairs the staff were very helpful in finding a restaurant and their suggestion was excellent. The only thing to watch out for is that on Friday and Saturday nights they have a night club on the roof, if that is not your scene don't get a room to high up. I would highly recommend this hotel and would stay their again if we went back to San Diego.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andaz San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz San Diego

Address: 600 F Street, Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in San Diego
#18 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#24 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#33 Business Hotel in San Diego
#36 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Andaz San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz San Diego Hotel San Diego
Ivy Hotel San Diego
Ivy San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.