We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you need a great location and a great experience, spent the extra $ for Andaz San Diego” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz San Diego

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Andaz San Diego to your Saves list
Andaz San Diego
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   600 F Street, Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Good Morning Sunshine
Ranked #74 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“If you need a great location and a great experience, spent the extra $ for Andaz San Diego”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is one of the best hotel in the Hyatt band. Great customer service and location. It has Katsuya sushi in the lobby. The hotel rooms are a great as well as the top restaurants with in walking distance. It is in the gaslamp quarter.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    214
    86
    50
    38
See reviews for
48
319
41
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Smyrna, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Andaz in San Diego's Gaslamp Quarter was an amazing hotel! The location is perfect-in the heart of downtown San Diego. You can walk to a Starbucks and tons of other restaurants and bars. The roof top pool and bar were paradise...without the sand! The staff was one of the best I've ever experienced. From Rueben, who checked us in, to Brian our bartender...and every single one of the valets - we got excellent recommendations for breakfast, dinner and everything in between. Seriously, staying at this hotel will guarantee an amazing vacation! My husband and I loved staying here. Our only 2 complaints, as small as they are, were that there was no full length mirrors in the room. (Ok, that was my complaint.) And it seemed like the wine bottles in the wine bar machines were always empty. Other than that, everything about Andaz was perfect!

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor and loved it. Our corner room didn't have a view but we didn't mind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is a fantastic boutique hotel (a Hyatt property, but you'd never know it as there's no in-your-face branding). The staff is extremely well trained and eager to help in any way they can, you are greeted with a glass of wine while someone with an iPad checks you in (no need to stand in lines), and the rooms are hip, clean, large and comfortable. The hotel is only 1 block from the Gaslamp district, with all the clubs and restaurants. And if you want to check out the clubs at the hotel (rooftop pool club as well as a sexy basement club) the front desk is happy to give you a wristband so you don't have to wait in line. Attention to detail is great, e.g. at night each elevator has an attendant to prevent non-guests from exiting at any of the floors with rooms.

I hate not giving this a 5 star review, but the only fly in the ointment is that the room windows are not double-paned or sound insulated. And being 1 block off Gaslamp makes for some late night noise that goes above normal city sounds.

All in all, an absolute gem and we look forward to coming back again and again.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor (there are only 6), and the king rooms with exhibition showers are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I travel fairly frequently, so I guess I've become increasingly difficult to impress. Well...consider me IMPRESSED. From the moment we arrived, the Andaz completely knocked my socks off. The hotel staff are gracious hosts, offering help, suggestions, refreshments, anything you need. Every single person I interacted with at this hotel was professional. Beyond the excellent service, the rooms and the hotel itself are just stunning. The glass shower, with the option to have a waterfall shower, was very cool. The decor is modern and the entire hotel is spotless. The rooftop pool and lounge area is beautiful and comfortable, with gorgeous views of the city. The location is perfect as well. It is right in the middle of the Gas Lamp District, with tons of bars, clubs, and shops all around, and less than two miles from Balboa Park and the Zoo. For those with cars, it's a very short drive over to Coronado or Sunset Cliffs. From the snacks and beverages in room each day, to the long "Did you forget something?" list, to the cozy robes hanging in the closet, I felt absolutely cared for and valued here. Thank you!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

The motel is nice. The rooms are clean and the bed is the best of the best. I really enjoyed everything but look out when it comes to eating. The food is no where close to being a good deal for what you pay. They should at least offer a continental breakfast! Don't think I am petty but they even charge 15 dollars for the laundry bag!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed on the 6th floor, just below the roof deck. There was noise in the evening --bad, but not unbearable. I should have asked to move them, but I figured, how much worse can it get?

Then at 5:30 am I was awakened by a thunderstorm. Oh, wait, it wasn't a thunderstorm -- it was the staff setting up breakfast on the roof, apparently with a cash bonus for whoever could make the most noise. I'm no stranger to this kind of thing -- I live in an apt beneath the least considerate person in the world; this woman apparently wakes up and puts on her high heels before her deodorant -- but believe me this was LOUD. They are literally demolishing a building across the street from the Andaz and it made less noise.

This may seem like a small and very individual complaint, but this being a HOTEL, you'd expect them to consider the effect of setup noise on guests. This must happen every time there is an event. How could the staff miss such a major detail? (Yes I called to tell the front desk, and no, it didn't get any quieter.)

My advice: Avoid the 6th floor... or just avoid the whole hotel. It's not like there's any shortage of nice places to stay in San Diego.

Room Tip: Avoid the 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Let me start by saying this is for the urban, metro style person, I was in a boys trip celebrating a friend's 40th.
The crowd is very sophisticated.
Great rooms, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They smile all the time and they rush to offer assistance.
Great roof pool during the day to relax and at night to party.
The hotel have 3 DJs with different music styles, if you want to party in your hotel this is the place to be. A lot of good looking upscale people.
The location is gold, in midst of what the action is in San Diego if you want to go out and hit the clubs and restaurants

Room Tip: Ask for the king size suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andaz San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz San Diego

Address: 600 F Street, Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#16 Green Hotel in San Diego
#22 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#34 Business Hotel in San Diego
#35 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Andaz San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz San Diego Hotel San Diego
Ivy Hotel San Diego
Ivy San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.