We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here Thursday through Saturday. Just don't.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz San Diego

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Andaz San Diego to your Saves list
Andaz San Diego
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   600 F Street, Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Good Morning Sunshine
Ranked #78 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tucson, AZ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't stay here Thursday through Saturday. Just don't.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Let me say first that I love Andaz hotels. But someone, somewhere made the unfathomably stupid decision to put a nightclub in this property. I had a terrific two nights on Tuesday and Wednesday, and got back to my room on Thursday night to find my room pulsing with bass from the club downstairs. Apparently the whole hotel is affected -- on the upper floors you get noise from the DJ at the rooftop bar, on the opposite side of the hotel you get street noise from people waiting to get into the club. I have absolutely no idea what they are thinking here -- they are damaging their brand. If this had been the first Andaz I'd stayed at, it would've been my last.

Hotel staff was very helpful in transferring me over to the Grand Hyatt a mile away. Not as nice, but at least not fatally flawed. Surreal.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    229
    92
    53
    39
See reviews for
49
334
42
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Unlike my stay at the NYC Andaz I was not impressed with this Andaz, very noisy, service was slow - valet parking in particular, the free mini bar that Andaz's boast of was actually more filled with things they want to charge you for as were the snack trays ($5 for a pack of .79 Oreo cookies??) all in all way too commercial of them I thought. Breakfast was mediocre although the setting was nice on the rooftop. Can't recommend this hotel, alas

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Not a terrible place. Good location, decent rooms, cool design. Service is overwhelming to a fault and a bit superficial. The rooftop is awesome, but that comes with a downside.....

My girlfriend and I wanted a quiet long weekend in the sun and stayed here Wed-Sun. Starting Thursday night, both the rooftop and downstairs club take over the Andaz. Bouncers man the doors to the hotel and stand in the elevators, while a long line forms on the sidewalk outside and line ropes fill the lobby. Not the most welcoming way to "come home". As the party on the roof escalated around midnight, the bass pounded through the ceiling of our 6th (top) floor room, making it very difficult to sleep. We requested a quieter room the next day and were downgraded from king to queen on a different floor. A HUGE downgrade in size and quality accompanied by no offer to upgrade or comp room/drinks/etc., as might be expected at a hotel focused on delivering an excellent guest experience and high service. And, while somewhat quieter, we could still hear bass late at night during the rest of our stay.

We travel a lot for fun and work, and never complain about slightly disappointing experiences, but felt that this required a review.

Bottom line: if you want a crash pad that is club first, hotel second, the Andaz is for you. If you're looking for a quiet place to sleep with genuinely impeccable service, San Diego has plenty of great alternatives.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Everyone was very kind and curteous down to the valet. Our room was incredibly beautiful, spacious, clean, and modern. The turndown service is a very nice touch. On top of all this, within walking distance to the gaslamp. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The staff is so attentive to me and greets me by name. The rooms are great and the restraunts both in and around the hotel are excellent. Both Kind and double queen size rooms are spacious and all have free WIFI to allow work or pleasure. The in house TV allows for many options from movies to games and everything in between.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed at the Andaz San Diego on the Hyatt “Free Time” promotion in which you got one night free with two paid nights, plus breakfast each day and a 4 PM check-out. With my Hyatt Diamond status, which includes breakfast daily and a 4 PM check-out the only real benefit was getting one night free, but one I was very happy with. I also used a Suite Upgrade during this stay, and was upgraded to a Large King Suite rather than the King Suite which is the usual upgrade when using the Suite Upgrade Certificates.

The Andaz is located in the Gaslamp Quarter of San Diego, so numerous shops and restaurants abound. The back side of the hotel is located across the street from the Salvation Army, so there are more homeless people and vagrants in the area. Although they generally leave you alone and I had no problems, some people may feel a little unsafe or concerned about the immediate surrounding area.

The lobby of the Andaz is more like a lounge with numerous couches and sitting areas for guest to relax in. There is a small reception area, however “hosts” assist you with the check-in process using iPads and don’t use the reception area. A welcome drink of wine, coffee or water is offered at check-in, which is a nice touch.

The Large King Suite, located on the 6th floor is at the end of the hallway and only borders one other room.

As you enter the room, the mini-bar instantly greets you. There is a Keurig coffee maker, along with a tray of snacks. Unlike other Andaz properties, not all snacks are complimentary. There is a small basket on the tray, which are complimentary and included a granola bar, Toblerone candy, and some chips. The refrigerator was fully stocked, but not all non-alcoholic drinks were complimentary. Water, soda and juice were free, but Rockstar energy drinks could be had for a small fee.

To the right is the living room, with a small table/desk and four chairs. The view overlooks the Salvation Army, not the idyllic view one would like. There is a couch ~12 feet long and could easily seat six people along with a large coffee table. There is dark wood flooring throughout the room with the exception of the bedroom where there is carpeting, and the bathroom which contains stone tiles.

Although I had chosen points as my amenity, I was also provided with a welcome amenity including a cheese plate and bottle of wine. Nice!

The bathroom is extremely large and includes a glass encased shower. Water pressure in the shower is not all that great, as there is only a small hand held shower head. The bathroom sink is a glass covered table with stainless steel sink. There are ample towels with Lather bath amenities.

The bedroom features a long narrow desk situated right under the TV with a small lamp. Lighting in the bedroom is rather sparse. There is a small couch near the desk, and at the foot of the bed sits a dresser. The king bed is a platform bed, so with the combination of sharp corners on the dresser and platform, situated close to the couch, shin guards are a great idea to avoid scrapes, bruises or broken knee caps. Dangerous during the day it gets especially lethal at night in the dark.

One of the big drawbacks to the room is the lack of outlets and minimalist lighting. I can live with minimal lighting in the bedroom, but the lack of outlets in any hotel these days is inexplicable.

Breakfast is served on the rooftop restaurant/lounge/pool area. Service is great and attentive, but the menu is somewhat limited. We were allowed to order an extra entrée per day, as the banana crème brulee French toast is not to be missed. On one day, we were brought the wrong item and the manager took it off of our bill. Even though we were on a breakfast package plus my Diamond status, this gesture was a welcomed surprise.

The gym is rather small and includes three treadmills, a few recumbent bikes and a Universal gym. There are some small hand weights and Thera-bands to get in a quick work out.

Service was great throughout the stay. Often greeted or recognized by name. All employees were friendly and cheerfully willing to assist. I have read that noise has been an issue at night because of the Ivy night club, but I did not notice any noise from the club during my stay.

The main downside with the Andaz is that valet parking is $35 per night, but there are lots in the area as low as $10 per night.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Came in on a Friday from Vegas, great service and clean! Went to grab a drink at the bar, the bartender Michael (or as he became known to us Big Mike lol) was fantastic, very friendly and mixed a perfect mai tai (hard to find believe it or not) and a great conversationalist. Our room was clean and quiet. Will stay again and hope to pick up where we left off with Michael.

Room Tip: First time staying there so unsure if any rooms are better or worse for noise etc, but our room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andaz San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz San Diego

Address: 600 F Street, Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#17 Green Hotel in San Diego
#24 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#33 Business Hotel in San Diego
#35 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Andaz San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz San Diego Hotel San Diego
Ivy Hotel San Diego
Ivy San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.