We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and staff, not such great guests” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina to your Saves list
The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   432 F Street, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #169 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Palm Springs
1 review
“Excellent hotel and staff, not such great guests”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Everything about this property is really nice. The rooms are superior, the linens excellent, the staff very helpful, and great location downtown. Unfortunately a young couple in the adjoining room had a loud verbal fight in the hallway at 4AM. It spoiled an otherwise excellent experience.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    70
    39
    48
    53
See reviews for
30
162
21
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Champagne toast on arrival really set the tone! The staff was friendly, helpful and seemingly pleased to have us stay with them. Rooms were fun and unique, location was great for transportation, bars and restaurants and exploring the waterfront. We would definitely stay here again next time we go to San Diego. Staff recommended a great spot for pizza, the best we'd ever had!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Following my stay at this hotel, I was incorrectly charged for a host of mini bar items. After several discussions lasting several days with various front desk staff, someone finally acknowledged that it was in fact an oversight by housekeeping and that my account would be credited. Fast forward almost a week and the credit has still not been applied. Needless to say, the staff are not professional and clearly client satisfaction is not one of their priorities.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane P, General Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Good Afternoon -

We apologize for the delay in receiving your funds. However, the funds were returned on November 30th. The hotel received your email on December 4th noting the error. That email was responded to on the same day. In the response we noted that the funds were returned on November 30th and that depending on the banking institution it could take up to 10 to 12 business days to reflect in your account. It is never our intention to make such an error. However, when presented with the mistake it was credited back to your account immediately. If you have any further questions please feel free to email me directly at spappas@thekeating.com. Have a fantastic day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This review is directed only at the deceptive process, and unscrupulous attitude of the management at this hotel. That is, we cannot comment on the rooms since we didn't get to stay. Briefly, we made a reservation months in advance for a specific room type (suite). It was paid for in advance. Acknowledgement and a confirmatory email from the hotel was sent just a few days prior to our arrival. When we arrived, we were informed that their computer program for reservations was not working correctly, and that the room had been given to someone else, and was not available. After 30 minutes of discussion, "all they could do" was offer another room - a far smaller room (not a suite) - for essentially the same price. I another couple at the front desk essentially having a similar discussion to ours as we were leaving the lobby! This hotel staff is either incompetent at the basic hotel process of making and honoring a guest reservation, or they purposely oversell rooms and try to make a change after you have arrived. Either way, and needless to say, we won't be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our visit at the Keating was excellent. It started with being met at the curb by gentleman who was very pleasant and got our luggage up to our room pronto. Then we got a pleasant reception at the front desk. Very helpful and truly glad to see us. We stayed in the Spa room. It didn't have a bath tub but the shower was big enough to drive a car through. FUN! We also arranged an in room couples message. More fun ! Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very poor experience jacuzzi wasn't working, ruined all plans for the birthday night. No candles in chandeliers. The only suggestion from the manager was to reimburse the difference between the standard room and jacuzzi room. But still the plans were ruined and then we wouldn't have stayed in the regular room. Will never return nor recommend the hotel to anyone. Manager could have at least gave a discount for all the inconvinience or may be offer something to make up for it but he didn't.
That's not how one should treat the customers. Once for some reason we had dirty blanket in one of the hotels in vegas the manager took of all the charges from the room including the stay and mini bar and gave 2 complimentary passes to the buffet ($136) and an additional night stay at no charge. That I understand! People do everything to have your impression change towards positive. Not like Keating

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel twice now. The first time we stayed for our honeymoon. We returned here after a conference for a little more time in San Diego and loved it. Since our honeymoon they have installed double pane windows. This makes the rooms very quiet. We walked in and they were doing in construction on the street right in front of the Keating and we could not hear it when we entered our room.

Do: If you have a little extra money I would highly suggest doing the upgrade to one of their suites. We stated in the Imperiale Suite this time around and it was absolutely wonderful. The in-room jacuzzi was well worth it. Though the Deluxe Stanza room are very fun as well.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina

Address: 432 F Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#32 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego’s first true luxury boutique hotel that transformed the Gaslamp District from bland to chic. Situated in a building dated from 1890, The Keating is Pininfarina’s first hotel creation -world-renowned master designer behind Ferrari and Maserati. The result is a rare fusion of past and future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, TravelClick, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keating Hotel San Diego
Keating San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.