We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keating Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina

Save Saved
You added The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   432 F Street, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #175 of 270 hotels in San Diego
Roma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Keating Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Hotel was nice but too much noise outside and the room needs a bit of an overhaul as it is very 1980's. I was also charged boutique fee for all 7 days instead of only three. I think the hotel is nice but needs some more care.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    52
    29
    40
    46
See reviews for
25
138
21
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed in the room PhD. Room was so sexy and vibrant. The shower was wonderful to take a shower. Walking distance to a lot of the restaurants and bars. The only thing is that it does gets quite loud in the weekends.

Room Tip: Room PhD is one of the suites that overlooks downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I stayed in the keating for 6 night. The first night is bad due to the noise from the bars downstairs, but next day I asked them to switch me to another room and it's quiet. Love the staff and the design. The bed is awesome!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This is not a bad hotel. However for what you get, it is expensive. Furthermore it is noisy which may put people off. Sometimes the room was not cleaned until late in the day which can be annoying.
Good points: Great location for the convention centre. Lovely front desk staff

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

LOUD, HOT and WEIRD
We like smaller hotels but this one was terrible. Prison like room and sinks (metal), cement floors, nice staff and bed but it was so loud in the room with street noise we could have been sleeping on the street.
Stay away from this hotel!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Did not get more than 1/2 cup of tea or coffee from the Expresso machine, even when pushing the button for a whole cup. Enjoyed the room's amenities (i.e., music system, European décor, plush bedding & towels). The closet was a little hard to pull open and shut. Enjoyed my stay. Noisy location but still fun.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

The main selling point for this hotel is that it is in an excellent location--right in the heart of the gaslamp district and you can pretty much walk everywhere. As far as the room and the hotel itself, I can say it is interesting.
Our room was beautiful--ultra modern and had a cute little deck with a jacuzzi tub (that has seen better days) and a steam shower. We tried to fill the jacuzzi one night but it was equipped with a tiny spigot so after 15 minutes of trying to fill it, we gave up.
The bed was very comfortable.
There was only one small closet that was not large enough for even one of us so we basically lived out of our suitcases for 4 days (and there was no place to store the luggage but on a chair).
The room was dark and the shower was in the middle of the room and had no door so if you aren't careful, water will get on the floor of the "bathroom" area. The shower was see through with a curtain that can separate it from the bed but did not go all the way around so that you were still exposed from the sinks/mirrors.
The room was equipped with a "white noise fan" that did not work and since there was no coffee maker in our room, we had one brought in but that did not work either. I have very modern taste and this room was almost too modern for me--too simplistic.
The breakfast was almost a joke--juices, coffee, yogurt, bread and muffins. Oh, and microwave oatmeal but there was no microwave. We ate there once and decided to go to the iHop down the street for the remainder of our stay.
The staff were very friendly and it seemed like they wore many hats (ie working the front desk, parking the cars,etc). They were all very young so when I complained about our last night (i will get to that), I knew it was falling on deaf ears.
Our last night was a disaster. After a tiring day and night, we went to sleep only to be awakened by hammering at 2am. My husband went out to see what was going on and they were doing construction in the hotel above our room. The construction guy said that they were almost done so we tried to go back to sleep. At 5am, my husband went back out and threatened the construction crew that if they did not stop, he was going to file a noise complaint! Finally they stopped and we were able to get a couple of hours of sleep before check out. I don't know what kind of crew works in the middle of the night in a hotel but it was ridiculous. Again, when I mentioned this to the young girl at the desk she mumbled something about how she heard about it and was sorry.

Overall, The Keating did not have the feel of a hotel at all. I never saw any of the staff unless I was at the front desk. The other guests that we met at breakfast did not seem too thrilled with the place either as it seemed that everyone was unhappy about something.
It is in a great location and the beds are comfortable but there may be better choices if you want a "real" hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina

Address: 432 F Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#31 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego’s first true luxury boutique hotel that transformed the Gaslamp District from bland to chic. Situated in a building dated from 1890, The Keating is Pininfarina’s first hotel creation -world-renowned master designer behind Ferrari and Maserati. The result is a rare fusion of past and future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelClick, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keating Hotel San Diego
Keating San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.