We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we spotted this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of KAFE Yen LLC

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
KAFE Yen LLC
4516 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-2792 (Pacific Beach)
858-373-3936
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #248 of 4,044 restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery
Neighborhood: Pacific Beach
Plymouth, MA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Glad we spotted this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We recently spent a week in Mission Beach, San Diego, and chose to try different cuisine each night of our stay. We noticed this place when walking back to our hotel one night and decided to try it. I'm very glad we did because it is certainly one of the best Asian cuisines we have ever had. We started with wonton soup, which took a bit to arrive, but as it turns out, it was due to the fact that they were making everything, including the wontons, fresh for each order. Delicious and well worth the wait.
For the main course I had the Thai chicken fried rice and the wife had beef garlic noodles. Both were so perfect we nearly ate ourselves into a dinner coma trying to finish every last bite of the meal.
The staff was was very courteous and attentive and the establishment was clean and well maintained.
I would make it a point to seek this little place out if you find yourself in the neighborhood.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    33
    11
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Ate here last night, was really impressed, great food at low prices, and lovely service.....would definitely come back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“So fresh and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have eaten here for both lunch and dinner. Both times it exceeded my expectations. The wait staff is attentive, friendly and eager to ensure that you have a wonderful dining experience. You can either eat in or take out, they even deliver to local areas. The location is great with sufficient parking in the rear of the buildiing. The menu is expansive with something for everyone, even vegetarians. You don't want to miss this gem in Pacific Beach.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Returned 2 days in a row”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

You know whey you want to go back the next day that you like the place. The waitress was delightful and the menu is a lovely mix of various Asian cuisine from different countries. Fast efficient. Service and delicious food - medium prices and I think good value. Nice clean environment with appropriate decor. Will return there again on my next visit to San Diego

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico mountains
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Delicious and low key”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We had a surprisingly wonderful dining experience at this low key restaurant in Pacific Beach. The service was friendly, helpful and charming. It did not bother us that the servers were not fully proficient in English-they aimed to please. The Thai puff appetizers were very good and we had an order of roti pancakes for an appetizer (not on the menu)- very good- like East Indian nan. Everyone enjoyed their entrees- shrimp in clay pot very good, halibut with ginger sauce--very good- chicken curry with roti pancakes-excellent. We all shared the Coco Banana dessert- decadent and enough to share with 4. A good value for a great no-fuss evening.
(Check out the Sketchers shoe store across the street- the second largest Sketchers store in the USA. I found a pair of walking shoes for $35.00 and I wear them all the time.)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to KAFE Yen LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KAFE Yen LLC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.