We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“authentic food, nice service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rama A Thai Restaurant

Rama A Thai Restaurant
327 Fourth Ave, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)
(619) 501-8424
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #182 of 4,119 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Street Food
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: K St.
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“authentic food, nice service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This place has friendly servers, with a sense of humour. They knew the menu and made good recommendations. I had my favourite papya salad and it was a little mild so asked for it to be perked up and back it came, just perfectly spiced up. Thinking we were chilli pepper junkies they also brought a selection of different chilli condiments - dried, red paste and fresh chopped in vinegar - ouch the last one of those was hot!! GREAT! The main courses were the right size and prices were good value. The green thai curry was delicate and fragrant. Nice informal setting but well trained staff who were enjoying their work.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    49
    22
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai Food in the Gaslamp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

In all honesty, we went to Rama because we didn't want to drive to Celadon. Rama is just as good. The Masaman Curry was fantastic, as was the spicy lobster. The pineapple fried rice was good, but not great. Potstickers had a fantastic flavor, but were just a tad bit tough. The papaya salad was the best we've ever eaten and was the star of the meal. They have inventive (and wonderful) cocktails. The decor was romantic, but not stuffy or formal. Service was spectacular, from the moment we were seated until we walked out the front door. Rama is a wonderful destination for a truly excellent meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Everything you want from a Thai restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Everything you want from a Thai restaurant ! Lovely relaxed ambience not pretentious but definitely great for a special occasion . Decent menu selection , location is good if you want a night out in gas lamp lively area. Most importantly excellent food and good service!
Being from London where there are a wide range of Thai restaurants this is definitely one of the best we have eaten at.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarville, Michigan
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Stunning Decor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Down a long hallway you can hear the sound of water. At the end of the hall is a beautiful dining room with a water wall in the rear. The sheer fabric hanging gave a sense of privacy to the diners. Our server was extremely attentive and accommodating. Our food was absolutely delicious. I had the Pad Thai and my husband had scallops. Both were presented beautifully. I highly recommend dining here.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rama rocks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We felt like Thai food while at a conference and we weren't disappointed. Rama had a 25 zaggat rating so we thought safe to try. Zaggat was wrong. They should have rated higher. Great food and service. Low noise and light level. Great value for the price. Don't miss this place when in San Diego.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rama A Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rama A Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rama A Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.