We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Thai Food in the Gaslamp” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rama A Thai Restaurant

Rama A Thai Restaurant
327 Fourth Ave, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)
(619) 501-8424
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #178 of 4,044 restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Street Food
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: K St.
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai Food in the Gaslamp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

In all honesty, we went to Rama because we didn't want to drive to Celadon. Rama is just as good. The Masaman Curry was fantastic, as was the spicy lobster. The pineapple fried rice was good, but not great. Potstickers had a fantastic flavor, but were just a tad bit tough. The papaya salad was the best we've ever eaten and was the star of the meal. They have inventive (and wonderful) cocktails. The decor was romantic, but not stuffy or formal. Service was spectacular, from the moment we were seated until we walked out the front door. Rama is a wonderful destination for a truly excellent meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    70
    40
    19
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Everything you want from a Thai restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Everything you want from a Thai restaurant ! Lovely relaxed ambience not pretentious but definitely great for a special occasion . Decent menu selection , location is good if you want a night out in gas lamp lively area. Most importantly excellent food and good service!
Being from London where there are a wide range of Thai restaurants this is definitely one of the best we have eaten at.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarville, Michigan
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Stunning Decor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Down a long hallway you can hear the sound of water. At the end of the hall is a beautiful dining room with a water wall in the rear. The sheer fabric hanging gave a sense of privacy to the diners. Our server was extremely attentive and accommodating. Our food was absolutely delicious. I had the Pad Thai and my husband had scallops. Both were presented beautifully. I highly recommend dining here.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rama rocks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We felt like Thai food while at a conference and we weren't disappointed. Rama had a 25 zaggat rating so we thought safe to try. Zaggat was wrong. They should have rated higher. Great food and service. Low noise and light level. Great value for the price. Don't miss this place when in San Diego.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Amazing place....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Ate here with a groupon. Sacha looked after us really well! Sit out front for daylight but we sat out back... low light with a water wall at the back. Really well decorated; we sat in a booth. All of these were veiled with a voile. The food was top notch, the service attentive and my friend got through a 3rd glass of the NZ Sauvignon Blanc...a place for someone special or a treat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rama A Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rama A Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rama A Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.