We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect sound” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Diego Symphony

San Diego Symphony
750 B Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)
1-619-235-0804
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 327 Activities in San Diego
Type: Symphonies, Performances
Attraction details
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“perfect sound”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

What a great symphony. Symphony Hall has great acoustics, musicians are excellent. Variey of music, from classical to pops. We all miss Marvin Hamlisch, but the symphony marches on. And the after-show disco is a blast!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    7
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Holiday Pops was over-the-top fantastic. What a joy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I went with my sister on Sunday December 23, 2012. Matthew Garbutt conducted, with the San Diego Master Chorale and the
San Diego Children’s Choir. It was fun, beautiful, brilliant and sometimes funny. Eileen Ivers celtic band also played. So we had Christian, Jewish, and a bit of Irish joy all wrapped up into one evening. Lovely family fun. I hightly recommend it if you can catch it! Matthew Garbutt was great fun in his green and red plaid holiday pants with spats. Even the ringing of a cell phone from the crowd only products a funny comment from him as he continued conducting without missing a beat. Great fun! Not stuffy, nor cheesy.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz Area
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Llang Llang”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Thanks to the Symphony for treating us to Llang Llang playing Beethoven's Emperor Concerto, we was over the top.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
93 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Always good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

And always great guest artists. I am surprised how parking is usually available somewhere within a couple of blocks but prices are usually reasonable since coupons are always around. They are as good as any major city.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Vastly improved symphony orchestra”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

No matter what you've heard in the past, the San Diego Symphony is now an orchestra of excellence. There are many opportunities to buy discount tickets, sometimes for as little as $20, for interesting and diverse music. We live here and go often. Symphony Hall is beautiful too.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Diego Symphony also viewed

 

Been to San Diego Symphony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Diego Symphony, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.