We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Harbour Lights

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Harbour Lights to your Saves list
Wyndham Harbour Lights
911 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Fairfield) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersBronze level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Just perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This resort is not an hotel but an apartment hotel. The room is very clean but nobody will do the cleaning during you stay and there will be no change of towel as well. I got room at the back of the hotel with a view on big sexshop :). It was very clean. The location is excellent on the 5th avenue. Very close to a shopping center, restaurants, Starbucks.. I recommend without any hesitation.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina L, Manager at Wyndham Harbour Lights, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
I’m so glad that you enjoyed staying at Harbour Lights in downtown San Diego. You are right we are not a hotel but a time share resort and we do not offer daily maid service. We do offer towel exchange and additional amenities. Our location is so convenient to restaurants, boutiques, Petco Park, lounges, movie theaters and more. All within walking distance. Thank you for your recommendation and hope that you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    34
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
29
46
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, FL
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The Wyndham Harbor Lights is located a block away from Horton Plaza and in the middle of the Gaslamp Quarter, so it has a great location for visiting San Diego.

The rooms are spacious, the staff is pretty good and the concierge was very helpful.

The only downside I can see is that they charge $30 a day for parking. That seems excessive.

All in all, it is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina L, Manager at Wyndham Harbour Lights, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
You are right Harbour Lights is in the middle of the Gaslamp! It is such a great location with over 100 restaurants, 40 lounges, multiple boutiques, two movie theatres and Petco Park home of the San Diego Padres all within walking distance. Our concierge staff has excellent suggestions for many adventures and great food. We are challenged being in the downtown area and limited parking. We do offer a valet service for our guests which is at a very competitive price for the downtown area. Thank you for the time that you took to write this review and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I almost hesitate to say how much I love this place because I don't want anyone else there! This is a hotel in the heart of the gaslamp district of San Diego. While there are some amenities, expect only what you would find at a hotel. However, every room has a kitchenette so that's helpful. The downside is that almost EVERY room sleeps just a bed for two and a pull-out couch--not so good if you are traveling with kids. Beautiful setting, wonderful location within walking distance to the pier and to the bus stops. ALL kinds of stores and restaurants surround the property--and there is a genuine grocery store within a half-mile's walk.

Room Tip: You have no choice but to make your reservation as far in advance as you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina L, Manager at Wyndham Harbour Lights, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for the time that you took to write this review. I’m so glad that you enjoyed your time Harbour Lights in beautiful San Diego. The Gaslamp offers over 100 restaurants, 40+ bars, unique boutiques and more! You are right all of our studios offer a king size bed with a sofa sleeper. Kitchenettes are equipped with a full size refrigerator, two stove top burners, full size coffee maker, full size microwave, silverware, dishes, pots and pans, toaster and blender. Again, I’m happy that you had a wonderful time and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed here as a family in May and it was great. We had a rental car but rarely needed it as we were walking distance of almost everything. The room was large, clean and spacious. Staff was very friendly. The beds were super comfy. The only downside was valet parking was our only option and it was expensive.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond S, General Manager at Wyndham Harbour Lights, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have an abundance of places to visit within Walking distance or a short ride on public transit. Parking is a challenge downtown; feel free to reach out to our concierge prior to your next trip to determine if you can get by without the convenience of a car. I will gladly share the rest of your comments with our team as they are very proud everytime a guest has an enjoyable stay.
Thanks,
Raymond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The Wyndham Harbour Lights building was formerly a boutique hotel, and can possibly be classified as one today. Calling it Harbour Lights is a stretch....it doesn't actually imply you're looking at the harbor. It is located in the middle of the San Diego party district, also known as the Gas Lamp District. We have room 704 which faced 5th Street. It had a large oval balcony but the evening sun really beat hard against the glass doors to the room. Next to the bed ws a couple sets of earplugs. I was told it was to aid in drowning out the street noise from the late night revelers. The room insulation was deficient for shielding you from the neighboring rooms. You could hear the phone ring in the adjacent rooms as well as someone peeling off toilet paper in the bathroom. The laundry facility is located int he basement, 2 washers, 2 dryers....quite a backup of folks wanting to do their laundry. No pool or jacuzzi. There is a workout room in the basement.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina L, Manager at Wyndham Harbour Lights, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. You are right Harbour Lights is in the heart of the Gaslamp district and does not have a direct view over the San Diego Harbor. The Harbor is a 5 min drive, 20 min walk or 15 min by public transportation. There are some fantastic restaurants located on the Harbour which offer an amazing view of the night lights. Due our limited space we offer a modest guest laundry. We have a sauna, steam room, and state of the art workout room on premises. We do hope you enjoyed your visit to our beautiful city and hope that you will visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This location is the center of everything. No car needed! There is only one suite that has a bedroom and living room, all the rest are studio's. Room 708 is the 'penthouse suite'! A balcony over looking Gas Lamp district. Service is outstanding. They have everything youd need for a great vacation. Tons of restaurants. Bars if you are into that. Close to the ferry over to Catalina take the Trolly city tour, get off whenever you want and get back on..
On weekends. . It can get noisy. They even provide ear plugs!
We also had rooms 309 and 709. They we perfect! End of hallway, noone next to you and on the back of the building so a little quieter.

Room Tip: 708 for 2 rooms or 709 for studio
See more room tips
Green Features: Motion sensors on lighting and Air conditioning, at night I had to get up to restart the air conditioning because it shut off
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina L, Manager at Wyndham Harbour Lights, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
I’m pleased that you enjoyed your visit to downtown San Diego. The gaslamp district offers countless boutiques, over 200 restaurants, bars, nightclubs and lounges and art galleries. You are right downtown can get a little noisy. In the future we will be installing new windows in order to reduce some of the outside noise. There is plenty of public transportation to get you to all the fun! Thank you for the time that you took to write this review and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Great timeshare in the middle of the Gaslamp District. There are restaurants and bars galore. If you don't mind walking a bit, the harbor area is less than a mile. The rooms are spacious and have a small kitchen. The comment from a previous reviewer about the ear plugs should be heeded. The barflys who stay out late tend to get rowdy and can be heard late into the night. But at least the hotel provides the earplugs. Use them or not. Overall, it's a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond S, General Manager at Wyndham Harbour Lights, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Grillguy-
I am glad you had a great time in San Diego. Thank you for sharing about your experience. We are always looking for options to help with the late night noise and will continue to try different things. Any building improvement projects we have schedule over the next few years we also look to improve noise reduction. We appreciate you staying with us and welcome you back anytime.
Thanks,
Raymond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Harbour Lights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Harbour Lights

Address: 911 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Fairfield)
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#30 Green Hotel in San Diego
#63 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#89 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Wyndham Harbour Lights in beautiful San Diego, CA. Our resort offers stylish downtown loft accommodations with retro furnishings, flat screen TV’s, CD/DVD/Stereo, pull out sofa, mini kitchenettes, and high end bathroom amenities from Bath & Body Works. Our resort has a gym, steam room, and sauna in the lower level for all your fitness needs. We are also pleased to announce the arrival of one of the most requested amenities, complimentary in-room wireless internet! To get connected using your wireless accessible laptop, just follow the simple instructions on the card next to your phone. A list of grocery services, channel listings, and other downtown gyms are provided for you in the front of the guest directory located in your room. If you would like to know more about these services please dial “0” on your phone to reach a member of the front office team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Harbour Lights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Harbour Lights Hotel San Diego
Wyndham San Diego
Wyndham Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Harbour Lights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.