We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious comfortable room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Harbour Lights

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Wyndham Harbour Lights to your Saves list
Wyndham Harbour Lights
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   911 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Fairfield) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mililani
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Spacious comfortable room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Studio with min-kitchen with king size bed has enough space to feel very comfortable for 1 - 2 adults (and one child) .Maintaining temperature in the room is easy. Everything has a modern and new feel to it. Location is ideal as it is close to restaurants, shopping center and area businesses. Staff are young in age and always willing to helpful with a friendly attitude.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms on higher floors and away from the street view. On Saturday nights with a lot of p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    34
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
29
41
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

What a surprise---- we got a spacious room in an inner city hotel/resort! It's not a big hotel, but the room is big, clean, fresh, well maintained and decorated. It also has a small kitchen with a regular refrigerator and enough cooking ware, we cooked breakfast and light meals in there.

The location cannot be better: close to all public transportation MTS stops.The MTS can take you anywhere, more than 20 miles away from the center of the city in different directions. We did not need to rent a car! (If you have a car, you have to pay $30 a day for parking) Since it is in downtown, tons of eating, entertainment and shopping places are within a few blocks. You can shop in the mall or buy $1 stuff across the street. The noise was very minimum, maybe because we were not on the street side.

The staff members were nice, helpful and friendly. They greeted us when we were in the lobby or in the hallway. They provided plenty information for us to get around. We felt that we were so welcomed. There is steamed sauna and gym in the hotel so you could relax there after a long day.

One thing I need to point out is, not like most hotels, the housekeepers do not change the sheets and replenish the cleaning stuff everyday; (I'm sure they would have a thorough clean after the guests leave) but upon request, they do it for you or send it to you immediately. We think it is a way to save energy and avoid waste so we don't mind.

We had a very pleasant stay there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Four of us here during spring break and wished we could've stayed longer! We arrived an hour early and our room was all ready before check in...yay! My cousins devoured the cookies and popcorn as I check us in, and not to mention, every afternoon that followed.

Yes, it's noisy some nights but we were too tired to let it bother us. Be aware that there is construction across the street due to mall remodeling. Therefore, it's noisy in the morning so we wore the provided earplugs.

We liked everything in our clean room... queen bed is comfy, sofa was springy like any other sofa bed, everything in our well stocked mini kitchen worked (coffee maker, 2 burners, fridge, microwave, dishwasher). There was popcorn, coffee, salt/pepper, dish soap, toiletries, and lots of soft towels provided. Whenever we ran out we would ask front desk or the cleaning ladies and they'd gladly bring to us. In the basement you will find an ice machine, vending machines w/snacks and drinks, steam room, sauna, shower and restrooms, and a laundry room which we used...just ask for detergent in the front desk. I didn't stay to watch my clothes but they do have a bench and TV if you want to wait on your laundry.

On our last night, two of us used both the steam room and sauna...I think only 4-6 persons would fit comfortable since they are small rooms.

Everyone on their staff was really courteous and helpful during our week. Didn't attend timeshare presentation since hubby wasn't with me.

Tips:
*Didn't need to rent a car...bus will take you from airport to hotel...must have exact change $2.25. We bought 4 day pass from kiosk...$15 plus $2 for card...when it ran out we paid $5/day.
*One day we used UBER limo service just for fun! Also, took a taxi from Coronado another night...got tired of waiting for bus.
*If you go to La Jolla eat lunch at Prospect Bar and Grill so you have an awesome view of the beach. Then go to Birch Aquarium after since it's on the way.
*Remember to go in the morning if you want to see the animals awake at the zoo, plus baby panda and mama are only out before noon.
*We walked to seaport village to eat Greek food and watch the sunset, and you can take the ferry across to Coronado island (ate at Peohe's...views are spectacular).
*Farmer's Market is on Sat. mornings in Little Italy... 0.8 miles from hotel...we brought a backpack to carry food back...check out the Catholic Church...reminds me of the one's in Italy.

Room Tip: If noise bothers you ask for room that doesn't face 5th avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We spent a Monday through Friday at this Wyndham. Staff were all excellent. The location has positives and negatives, but definitely more positives. The negative is its location in the gas lamp district if you want to make it an early night. We weren't there for a Friday or Saturday night, but based on the weekday nights, the volume from the revelers headed home I am sure would be much louder. Wyndham does provide earplugs on the night stands. The positive is its location right in the heart of the restaurant and bar area. Everything is within a short walk, to include a very good public trans system to get further away. We had no need for a rental car, and enjoyed the local area. We will be back to this Wyndham, but may try for a rear room if there over a weekend.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on the 6th floor of the Hotel and could hear noise from the local bars every night of our 5 night stay. In addition to this, our room should have been cleaned every three days but no one came to clean the room during our entire stay. Also, we were constantly ask to attend a time share meeting which made me not want to go down to the lobby. As far as the accommodations there was one king size bed and a sofa bed which were positioned right next to each other, not good for a family of four. Some things that were helpful was the friendly staff and the free washers and dryers.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Just got home from a 4 night stay at Harbour Lights. First the good- The staff were all very friendly and helpful, opening doors, greeting you like friends, and offering suggestions for whatever you might need (locations of attractions to places to eat, etc.) Being in the Gaslamp District, it is really close to lots of really good restaurants and shopping, plus the architecture of the historical buildings is wonderful to look at. The room was spacious and had everything we needed, including a small kitchenette, there was a microwave, but no oven. It was clean and comfortable. But then, there is the bad- parking costs $30.00 a night, and the valet has to bring your car each time (they were prompt and friendly about it). Along with the Gaslamp District location, there is noise, and lots of it. Right across the street is a bar, no make that several bars, and the patrons like to party hearty, long and loud. If you are a late night person, this might not be so bad, but I'm an early riser. Even still, the noise before dawn woke me up, with street crews working on the roads, and/or power washing the sidewalks. There are also homeless people in the area, who were quite vocal, cursing when the police moved them along in the evening. We were in a room on the 5th floor, facing 5th St. and there were only 2 floors above us. I don't think you could get high enough to get away from the noise. There is no place inside the property to get a snack, or purchase sundries. There is also no courtyard, pool or garden area to be able to take advantage of the wonderful San Diego weather. I am a Wyndham vacation owner, and do not like being asked to go to the "owner update" meetings, which really are sales pitches, though I was able to skip it this time, having just gone to one the week before at another location. As an owner, I don't think I will be returning to this particular property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

An awesome hotel situated in the Gaslamp Qtr. Lots of great places We travelled with our 14 month so requested a portacot and it was brought up in minutes. Nothing was to much trouble for the staff. Hot water for bottles was readily available in the lobby. Sure there was a little bit of noise after hours but nothing to stop you sleeping. Earplugs were available but not used. Washing machines etc downstairs were easily accessible. A lot of people on here were whinging about being pressured to sit down and do a time share talk with the reps but we werent hassled once. A full kitchen was also in our room with a full size fridge which made it easy to go to the local market and stock up. Westfield is right around the corner. A short walk to the main attractions and a bus stop to get to the zoo is very close. (100m).

We intend on coming back to San Deigo in a few yrs time and will definately stay here once again.

Room Tip: We stayed facing the back car park on level 6 from memory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Harbour Lights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Harbour Lights

Address: 911 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Fairfield)
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Green Hotel in San Diego
#63 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#89 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Harbour Lights 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Wyndham Harbour Lights in beautiful San Diego, CA. Our resort offers stylish downtown loft accommodations with retro furnishings, flat screen TV’s, CD/DVD/Stereo, pull out sofa, mini kitchenettes, and high end bathroom amenities from Bath & Body Works. Our resort has a gym, steam room, and sauna in the lower level for all your fitness needs. We are also pleased to announce the arrival of one of the most requested amenities, complimentary in-room wireless internet! To get connected using your wireless accessible laptop, just follow the simple instructions on the card next to your phone. A list of grocery services, channel listings, and other downtown gyms are provided for you in the front of the guest directory located in your room. If you would like to know more about these services please dial “0” on your phone to reach a member of the front office team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Harbour Lights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Harbour Lights Hotel San Diego
Wyndham San Diego
Wyndham Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Harbour Lights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.