We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a star” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Chloe

Cafe Chloe
721 9th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6481 (Downtown)
619-232-3242
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 4,099 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Downtown
Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Worth a star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We loved Chloe Cafe. The bar scene downstairs is somewhat frenetic, but there are two small upstairs dining rooms. The one we ate in had only four tables.
Our dinners were outstanding. I had a bone marrow appetizer, the likes of which I had only seen in Europe. The duck entree was also delicious. The wiatress could not have been nicer.

We highly recommend this restaurant. Since my husband paid, i can't comment onthe cost, but I don't believe it was outrageous.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    70
    20
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Classy Cafe Chloe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

we had a delicious brunch. my omelette was light and tasty. the sausage wasn't too flavorful. great plate presentation, apples and salad. servers were very professional and the cafe was clean, classy and moderately priced. spicy ketchup was delicious! lots of bums around, but they don't come near the patio tables.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Nice cafe for lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Overall experience here is first-rate. I had the charcuterie plate which on this
occasion was a delicious ham terrine with an accompanying glass of their
burgundy selection (excellent wine). The atmosphere was pleasant though
perhaps the wait staff pushed too much the French flavor. Still definitely a
place to stop for a quick bite plus the coffee is quite good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
1,759 reviews 1,759 reviews
695 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 333 cities Reviews in 333 cities
918 helpful votes 918 helpful votes
“Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Pros: tasty food, creative cuisine, fresh ingredients, extremely attentive staff, lovely decor

Cons: slow service

We had

- bacalao with tomato and bread
Delicious

- short rib with eggs, hash potato and pomegranate seeds
Very good

- mussels with bread
Good. It could be more tasty.

The owner is very helpful, nice and patient. It makes a big difference. I recommend this place for brunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Really Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I just ate there. The service and the food were exquisite. My friend had the mussels and I had the steak, with salad and fries. Everything was really good. The ambient move you to paris. Great decoration. We finished with very good cheeses and the service was over the top.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Chloe also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Chloe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Chloe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.