We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest bartender ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coronado Boathouse

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Coronado Boathouse
1701 Strand Way, Coronado, San Diego, CA 92118
(619) 435-0155
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #747 of 3,683 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Highway 75
Transit: We do have public transit directly across the street from our location.
Colleyville, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Friendliest bartender ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

We are staying at the Del Coronado Hotel, just arrived and wanted something close. We started with drinks (Dirty Martini & beer) and learned a lot about vodka...I have a couple I need to try! For dinner we had wonderful sourdough bread and each had a pasta dish as an entree. I had these wonderful egg noodles, that tasted homemade. They had grilled shrimp, scallops, spinach & mushrooms with a cream sauce. Ron had linguine with shrimp in a tomato based sauce with kale (he didn't like the kale, said it was bitter), other than the kale he said it was fab! I definitely give this restaurant five stars!

  • Visited February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“pretty average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

the table we had upstairs was disappointing. The place seemed tired and old. Food was okay. Service was so so

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Location and Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

Had dinner at the Boat house on a balmy San Diego evening. Service was fantastic and super friendly, food was great. The Clam Chowder came highly recommended by our server and he was spot on - it was delicious. Good pricing too!

  • Visited September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosillo, Mexico
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good seafood with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Located in Coronado Island, this place is a must. Food and service are very good. You can have lunch or dinner at the terrace and enjoy spectacular views. I have tried Fish & Chips and I felt like in London

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing views & outstanding service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Been to the San Diego area many times over the past 20+ years and we have to say, this was one of the nicest places we've decided to have dinner in. It was our anniversary so we spent the day exploring Coronado Island. We decided near the end of the day to find a special place there to have dinner but somewhere we could be casual and comfortable. We stopped at the Bluewater Grill and asked for a reservation table near the water. After walking the beach, we stopped back early and went upstairs for happy hour. We never left the delightful atmosphere or the wonderful view from our table there! After some wonderful wine and a cold beer, we ordered several appetizers. We never did get to the main course! The shrimp cocktail was outstanding, the service was wonderful, especially our server Danny, who was very personable and attentive - he even brought us a special dessert when he realized it was our anniversary! Can't say enough good things about the menu, the friendly staff, or the amazing views. It was truly an outstanding evening and made our trip extra special.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coronado Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coronado Boathouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.