We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Inn
202 Island Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #166 of 268 hotels in San Diego
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Good location and price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The hotel in itself is not magnificent, but given the price and location, it is a great value. It is a clean basic extended stay place for students, and young professionals who do not want to pay daily 200-300 bucks but still want to enjoy the proximity to san diego downtown, historic gaslamp district, and the train station. Note that if you are a "light" sleeper, you should not rent here because it is really close to the train station and you will hear the beeping all night long.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
1
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Helena, Montana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

Good hotel, much cleaner than hotels in the surrounding area. Lots of space in the room. Prices were low around $80-90. Staff was very nice and very helpful.

Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

I was in Island Inn San Diego from 27 march until 04 april for a Congress in Grant Hyatt only four blocks far. The localition is wonderful: next the Convention Center and the Gaslamp Quarter where was bars and restaurants(is possible to go by foot!). Therei 's a a large supermarket (Ralph's) two blocks far.The roorm is ok, large and clean. There was wi-fi free and one computer with intenet conetion use free in hall. The staff is kind, especialy ERIC, a very good guy!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
148 hotel reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
326 helpful votes 326 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

Having stayed seven times at the J Street Inn one block down (see those reviews, too) , I decided to try the Island: It's even better!
For the unbelievable weekly rate of $299, this place is equal to any Comfort or La Quinta Inn, right in the Gaslamp area.

The staff are very friendly and helpful, check-in and out are a breeze. The streets around the Inn are quiet, but you are minutes walking from all the restaurants, trams, and major bus lines.

My room was large, very quiet (good windows and walls), the bed was comfortable, and bath fine. There is a table, small fridge, microwave, and kitchen sink. Unlike the J St., the bathroom has a sink as well. The shower was great, with lots of hot water.

  • Liked — Incredible price, location, and comfort.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2008

I was attending a conference at the conveniton center and was looking for an inexpensive hotel close by. I was very happy to stumble across the Island Inn which isn't really a hotel but a type of short to long-term housing unit. They do rent out rooms by the week for tourists and the price could not be beat. The room was clean, but very basic. There was a fridge, microwave, and a basic bed. The location was phonominal, we were only a three minute walk from the convention center or the trolley. The location was very safe and the tenants in the Inn were quiet and kept to themselves. I am a light sleeper, and I did hear the sounds of someone walking on the floor above me but not for too long and I was able to sleep fairly well each night. The staff were pleasant but one clerk, Chris was outstanding. He helped us with each and every request quickly, and with such kindness. We asked for extra pillows, needed directions to the local grocery store, and had questions about laundry and trolley stops. Chris went the extra mile with every request we had. The Island Inn does have a non-air-conditioned small fitness room, a small library, and an inexpensive laundry room. If you are not looking for frills or up-to-date rooms, in other words, if you don't mind basic living conditions, you will love the Island Inn. I saved so much money, I was able to shop, shop, shop!

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2008

I really can't fault this place. My boyfriend and I stayed there for 2 weeks in February. We had had a bad experience elsewhere and just happened to come by the Island Inn by chance, but we were so glad we did! It was so affordable - it worked out to be $40 p/n plus tax for the whole room (we were paying $70 for a hostel with shared facilities!) The room was spacious with a private bathroom and kitchenette. It was extremely clean. It is more like a live-in temporary accommodation for most people therefore it was very quiet. The area was fantastic! Not on the 'strip' of the gas lamp area so it wasn't noisy, but the main street was right round the corner. You also have use of a private gym, and library. There's always someone on the front desk so you feel very secure. The only downside is it only has a microwave, no oven. But there is a fridge and toaster! Need to have your own plates and cutlery as well.


The owner has 2 other properties - J street is also very nice, although I didn't stay there, but the other one which I can't remember the name of was awful in an awful area.

  • Liked — Price, cleanliness, location
  • Disliked — No oven
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn

Address: 202 Island Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 268 hotels in San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Island Inn to your Saves list