We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Urban Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Urban Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Urban Boutique Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Urban Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1654 Columbia Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Hotel Contessa) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #173 of 270 hotels in San Diego
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed 5 nights. Rooms are small as other reviewers have said. But the room was clean and comfortable. Furnishings are simple but updated. Great location with at least 20 restaurants within blocks. $10 cab ride from airport. Super friendly front desk staff. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankf541, Public Relations Manager at Urban Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you very much. We love return guests. Book directly with us next time and save more. Thank you again for your business and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    15
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
6
17
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

This is a small hotel in central San Diego. Staff are helpful and friendly. Hotel and rooms are clean, comfortable and aircon works fine. I had a standard room which was fine but some people may find them small (by American standards) and double beds are not huge. Nevertheless it was quiet and has everything you need. I particularly liked the tube of toothpaste supplied.
WiFi is free and very fast. Hot and cold beverages are free and on tap 24 hours and breakfast buffet is of good quality and plentiful.
You can hire bikes for $10. The tram station is a 7 minute walk away with the waterfront about 10 minutes away. RC Church opposite and on saturday mornings there is a great farmers market outside.
On international standards I would rate this ** but obviously room rates are good value and given its size etc this is a good hotel. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankf541, Public Relations Manager at Urban Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
What a nice and detailed review. We know you have many choices and we appreciate that you picked our hotel and afterward wrote us such a pleasant review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a solid pick for someone who plans on spending very little time in their hotel, and is just looking for a cheap, clean place to crash at night. The hotel's best feature is undoubtedly it's location - located right in the heart of Little Italy, it's surrounded by bars and restaurants, and is in walking distance of many attractions. The rooms are pretty clean and the staff is friendly, but be advised that this hotel is no-frills. The rooms and bathrooms are very small, the beds are small and our mattress felt pretty old, and as others have noted, the walls are thin.

Also want to point out that parking can be difficult/expensive, especially on the weekends. Many of the surrounding streets have limited parking hours during the day, and are closed on Saturdays for a recurring farmer's market. There is a pay lot across the street, but weekend rates are pretty expensive ($22/12 hours).

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankf541, Public Relations Manager at Urban Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. It sounds like you had a great time while in San Diego. i wanted to let you know that you were in one of five rooms with older mattresses and we just ordered those 5 beds. The entire hotel will now have new beds. Thank you again for your business and we hope to see you again in the future. All the best, The staff at Urban Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martigny, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

PROS:
Free wifi, ok breakfast.

CONS:
Not the most friendly staff, noisy street plus near church bells, small breakfast room (only 2 bar tables), no parking option, extremely small room (can barely walk around-good for 1 person), very small and uncomfortable bed almost impossible to sleep in if you are 2, shower curtain has black mold everywhere and it smells like it in the whole room.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankf541, General Manager at Urban Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Hello. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. I am surprised that you found our staff unfriendly. We are well known for our customer service. I will get with housekeeping to double check all shower curtains. I appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Amazing location! Not even 1 min walk from Little Italy, which means: great restaurants near by! Closest public parking lot is 2-3 blocks away. Not very far, but you need to walk there. $15 for 24 hrs. All rooms are new. Not big, but comfortable. Juice and coffee available all day in the lobby area. Great service too!
The only problem was the noise. There is a church bell that goes on every hour starting at 7am. Walls are very thin, so room is a little noisy.

Over all, it was a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankf541, General Manager at Urban Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for your very nice review. We appreciate your business. Even though Little Italy has a village like feeling, it is in the center of Downtown San Diego. The hotel is in the center of all the action but yet it sits on a fairly peaceful street. There is a charming catholic church across the street and church bells do go off at the top of the hour from 8 a.m. till 7 p.m. Thank you again for your review and I hope we see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essexville, Michigan, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at The Urban Boutique Hotel for 2 nights. Our stay happened to coincide with the Little Italy Art Fair which was an unexpected treat!
Our room was small but extremely clean and neat. Considering we only wanted a room that was affordable and within walking distance of some nice restaurants, we could have chosen a better place. The staff was extremely helpful and had fantastic attitudes!
The shower was very nice and had excellent water pressure. The WIFI worked well and there was a nice flat screen TV. The morning breakfast was convenient and nicely presented, especially considering the limited space the hotel has.
The only downside to our stay was the parking. We knew ahead of our stay there wasn't on-site parking and we were okay with that. Our issue had more to do with the timing of our stay. Since the Art Fair was going on, parking was more limited than usual. We ended up parking 4 blocks away and the lot we used (at the corner of State and Ash) jacked up the parking to "Special Event" rates. That isn't The Urban Boutique Hotels fault and is part of the challenges you face when parking in any large city.
We would not hesitate to stay at The Urban Boutique Hotel again or to recommend it to friends visiting San Diego.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankf541, Guest Relations Manager at Urban Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
What an honor to get 5 stars from a tripadvisor senior reviewer. Thank you very much for your business and for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This was by far one of the best hotels I have staffed at. This diamond in the ruff has the perfect location. Upon check in the staff went above and beyond to help us. They made us feel like we were the only guest they had (even though we weren't). They recommended some amazing places to eat. The young lady with curly hair told us about Napizza and how wonderful it was, and boy was she right! The bike rental was a great bonus for just 10 dollars a day we were able to ride them everywhere.... Hands down this hotel will be my home away from home when I travel back to San Diego

Room Tip: they had us is room 406 - by far the room was amazing, and had a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankf541, General Manager at Urban Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you! We take customer service seriously, and I am glad we went the extra mile for you. Downtown San Diego is known for the huge "box" convention style hotels and we want you to feel at home at our hotel. We focus on clean, well maintained rooms and excellent customer service. I am so happy you enjoyed yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Urban Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Boutique Hotel

Address: 1654 Columbia Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Hotel Contessa)
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Little Italy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 270 hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Urban Boutique Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel in Little Italy area of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Urban Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urban Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.