We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views and Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tower23 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Tower23 Hotel to your Saves list
Tower23 Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4551 Ocean Boulevard, Between Felspar St. & Garnet Ave., San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Tower23 Hat
Ranked #13 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Views and Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Wonderful staff. Everyone (valet, desk, wait staff) friendly and very helpful. All questions and requests taken care of quickly. We had cool evening weather but the gas fire pit and heaters made the deck a great place to watch sunsets and evening drinks. Our deck servers were great, if needed, request blankets to stay out longer. Stayed in the Surf Pad (Room 320). The room balcony has a partial wall then glass. This allows you to sit out in the morning with coffee in their robes without people seeing everything. A hotel further down had railings to the floor, you really sit out in the open. This was a big plus which we didn't think about. Great coffee at Kono's and Pacific Bean Coffee Shop (around the corner from Kono's). Try their Mocha's, huge selection.

Room Tip: Surf Pad had direct ocean views, upper floors best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    120
    24
    13
    11
See reviews for
98
235
28
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Had the pleasure of staying at the Tower23 during December of 2014. Stayed in the the double room, it was spacious and clean. Bathroom was great. My slider opened to the pool and a gorgeous view and sitting area. Ate at the restaurant and the food was good as well. Rooms are stocked with free Keurig machines. Close to everything, beach, bars and shopping.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assisi, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

What else?
Very comfortable big beds, wake up and asking for a room service and have it on the terrace looking at the Pacific Ocean
We arrive late at night and the c in was fast as fast as was the room service even at that hour!!
Very clean and informal
More they borrow you bikes to make a tour around the area

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owosso, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I recently stayed at Tower 23. It was a perfect stay - the rooms were well appointed, clean and spacious with an amazing ocean view. The staff was courteous, helpful and gracious - especially William at the front desk. We look forward to coming back to Tower 23.

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floor with an ocean view - totally worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My mom and I stayed at Tower23 last weekend and we were both so impressed with everything the hotel had to offer. This is by far the best staff I have ever seen! William and Jimmy were so helpful at the front desk. They took the time to explain all the differences in the rooms and they told us about different activities in the area. After getting all set up in our room Cheyne set us up with some free bikes in the lobby and he was also helpful with heading us in the right direction. The staff is the most important part in a business and I was very impressed with everyone I came in contact with over the weekend. The rooms are also to die for and they have a nice patio area to have drinks at night that looks over the water. Thanks for an amazing weekend Tower 23!!!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California/Italy
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our four night stay at Tower 23 was delightful in every way. As others have mentioned the staff is absolutely professional, generous with their time, talented at interacting with guests and without a doubt among the best we have observed in recent years. The location on Pacific Beach, the views, the beach and access to everything from homemade Mexican food to a quick visit to the Salk Institute or an hour walk in the morning sun make this hotel a terrific venue for every age. Our room was immaculate and well appointed although one side of the bed had no night light or nightstand. Do keep in mind that one must pay a daily fee for valet parking or find a spot on the street. Otherwise, our stay was beyond criticism. They really know what they are doing and we will return.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the beach are extraordinary. Try any of those that overlook the sea toward the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I just returned from a 3 night stay at Hotel 23 and WOW, where to begin! I'll start by saying most vacations I have a daily itinerary, but this time we decided to wing it. Upon arrival, front desk staff, William and Lorraine, were mindful and very helpful with suggestions on what to do in beautiful Pacific Beach- they helped store our luggage when we arrived early and again when we left late. Jimmy, a smiling front desk worker, also helped us loan bikes several times from the hotel- for FREE- and gave us a map and suggestions on where to ride one day; that was pretty much all we did that day-a restful ride was just what we needed. One rainy night we stayed in rented a movie (great selection made it tough to choose) and had ice cold milk and cookies. Another day we laid on chaises on the sky deck lounge and that was amazing, plus attentive waitress, Lacy, brought us drinks and the grilled pita appetizer (scrumptious sauces for dipping-my husband typically hates hummus but not the one on this snack). We also enjoyed the Creme Brûlée from Jordan another night- yum! Hotel 23 is in a great spot, if u want to just lounge and relax-you can do that. If you want to explore the neighborhood and the night life-it's within walking distance of everything you could want. My local suggestions-all within a couple blocks: Bare Back Grill- best burgers and on Saturdays 50 cent mimosas starting at 10 and increasing from there. 710 Club-Thursday night live band Karaoke, such a blast. We were sad to leave this gem but would defiantly go back for the staff and atmosphere it provided!

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tower23 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower23 Hotel

Address: 4551 Ocean Boulevard, Between Felspar St. & Garnet Ave., San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
#40 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tower23 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an Endless Summer at TOWER23 Hotel Beachside and Ocean View Accommodations. Each room features a private balcony, flat screen TV and complimentary Wi-Fi, award-winning JRDN Restaurant offering Contemporary Surf + Turf, luxurious sun deck with fire pit and sweeping ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Tower23 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tower23 Hotel San Diego
Tower23 San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tower23 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.