We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tower23 Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Tower23 Hotel to your Saves list
Tower23 Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4551 Ocean Boulevard, Between Felspar St. & Garnet Ave., San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 273 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Verona, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed here for a wedding, and the staff was very excited and helpful with wedding things. This hotel is very nice looking, very modern, with a beautiful patio area and nighttime bonfire. Great view of the sea from some rooms. One particularly helpful person was Omar. He saw that my hands were full and I couldn't get to my key right away, and he offered to open the door to my room for me. Later, he brought up our room service quickly when they knew we were in a hurry. Definitely great service all around. I especially like the proximity to great food and shopping, and of course, the beach.

Room Tip: Make sure there's a definite ocean view. Some balconies overlook the patio, and you can see the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    136
    27
    13
    11
See reviews for
118
264
30
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Great location. Impressive bar, restaurant, view, and hotel all in one. Located in a very walkable part of Pacific Beach. Super relaxing venue and a nice guest only balcony above a trendy bar and restaurant with tasty food.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Truly great accommodations, helpful staff, beach access, people watching, and easy walking to great bars and eateries. A bit pricey yes but honestly, treat your gang to this, both young and old alike will love it.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T23Manager, Manager at Tower23 Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thanks for choosing Tower23! So glad to hear you enjoyed our beachfront location and friendly staff. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I was trying to decide to stay here @ tower23 or the catamaran resort. Julie the reservations girl helped me make my decision she ensured that we would love our stay here. Needless to say my stay at Tower23 in pacific beach was amazing. Cesar at the front desk checked us in without any problems, the rooms were clean and fresh. Alan helped us with our luggage and offer his services through out our stay. Loved the sunsets and night life. Lots of fun stuff to do around pacific beach. Will stay here every time i come to SD

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We loved every minute of our stay at Tower 23.
The service, unmatched.
The food, incredible.
The location, perfect.
We stayed in a surf room with a beautiful ocean / sunset view. The room was in perfect local to beach/sidewalk access, roof top fire pit, restaurant and bar. Also, very convenient to downtown, La Jolla and Zoo/Balboa Park.
My only complaint was a door card reader that took, on average, 20 swipes to allow entry into our room.
And, although on the pricier side, you definitely get what you pay for.
We will stay at Tower 23 on every return trip to San Diego.

Room Tip: Splurge on a Surf Room ~ it's definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Absolutely loved this place, brilliant location on Pacific Beach right by the Pier, excellent spot to watch the surfers.

Room was lovely, clean and fresh, we had a Sky Pad room with views over the ocean and the rooftop seating area, with the lovely fire pit for a late night drink.

Love the availabilty of USB sockets for charging phones and iPads without the need for international adapters.

Staff were excellent and we took up the offer of the free bike hire to cycle down to Mission Beach to ride the old wooden rollercoaster.

We only wished we'd had more time in San Diego to use more of the facilities.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraków
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Such an attention to the detail... Valet parking: top-notch. Crab served on the terrace. Always fresh newspaper and distilled water. Location: there is no further. The whole facility must have been designed by the team of architects who know what is valuable in travel. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose room with private balcony (so you could have the door wide open and listed to the Ocean)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#3 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,522 reviews
Pantai Inn
#2 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 315 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#44 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 809 reviews
Mission Beach
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#23 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower23 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower23 Hotel

Address: 4551 Ocean Boulevard, Between Felspar St. & Garnet Ave., San Diego, CA 92109
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Family Hotel in San Diego
#40 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tower23 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an Endless Summer at TOWER23 Hotel Beachside and Ocean View Accommodations. Each room features a private balcony, flat screen TV and complimentary Wi-Fi, award-winning JRDN Restaurant offering Contemporary Surf + Turf, luxurious sun deck with fire pit and sweeping ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Splendia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Tower23 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tower23 Hotel San Diego
Tower23 San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tower23 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.