We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely yes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tower23 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Tower23 Hotel to your Saves list
Tower23 Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4551 Ocean Boulevard, Between Felspar St. & Garnet Ave., San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Tower23 Hat
Ranked #12 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Scottsville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely yes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Truly great accommodations, helpful staff, beach access, people watching, and easy walking to great bars and eateries. A bit pricey yes but honestly, treat your gang to this, both young and old alike will love it.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T23Manager, Manager at Tower23 Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thanks for choosing Tower23! So glad to hear you enjoyed our beachfront location and friendly staff. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    120
    24
    13
    11
See reviews for
98
235
28
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I was trying to decide to stay here @ tower23 or the catamaran resort. Julie the reservations girl helped me make my decision she ensured that we would love our stay here. Needless to say my stay at Tower23 in pacific beach was amazing. Cesar at the front desk checked us in without any problems, the rooms were clean and fresh. Alan helped us with our luggage and offer his services through out our stay. Loved the sunsets and night life. Lots of fun stuff to do around pacific beach. Will stay here every time i come to SD

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We loved every minute of our stay at Tower 23.
The service, unmatched.
The food, incredible.
The location, perfect.
We stayed in a surf room with a beautiful ocean / sunset view. The room was in perfect local to beach/sidewalk access, roof top fire pit, restaurant and bar. Also, very convenient to downtown, La Jolla and Zoo/Balboa Park.
My only complaint was a door card reader that took, on average, 20 swipes to allow entry into our room.
And, although on the pricier side, you definitely get what you pay for.
We will stay at Tower 23 on every return trip to San Diego.

Room Tip: Splurge on a Surf Room ~ it's definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Absolutely loved this place, brilliant location on Pacific Beach right by the Pier, excellent spot to watch the surfers.

Room was lovely, clean and fresh, we had a Sky Pad room with views over the ocean and the rooftop seating area, with the lovely fire pit for a late night drink.

Love the availabilty of USB sockets for charging phones and iPads without the need for international adapters.

Staff were excellent and we took up the offer of the free bike hire to cycle down to Mission Beach to ride the old wooden rollercoaster.

We only wished we'd had more time in San Diego to use more of the facilities.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraków
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Such an attention to the detail... Valet parking: top-notch. Crab served on the terrace. Always fresh newspaper and distilled water. Location: there is no further. The whole facility must have been designed by the team of architects who know what is valuable in travel. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose room with private balcony (so you could have the door wide open and listed to the Ocean)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Stayed @ Tower23 the beginning of June and can i say i loved every minute of it. From the excellent staff to the phenomenal food @ JRDN restaurant. Everyone that worked there made my stay especially special, although there were a few that stood out and helped me and my crew with any and every question i had throughout my stay.

First Cesar the front desk agent checked me in very quick and informed me about the hotel. He assured me that i was going to love staying here and become a frequent customer. He did not steer me wrong.

There was a tall dark bellman i believe his name was Alan. This bellman is the MAN. He helped out our group with bags on bags on bags. Our group consisted of 3 guys and 4 girls. Us men were able to help our ladies with their bags, yet Alan insisted that he would take all of our bags. after 4 trips up and down with our luggage he then brought us some complimentary cocktails that Cesar had promised us upon check-in. How great is that!

Then there was the lovely/beautiful Sara the concierge always smiling and willing to help with no hesitation. She helped me plan out my days even arrange transportation everywhere. I did not have to do a thing the entire time.

Lastly there was Arrendia.(I think thats how you spell it) the cleaning lady. After seeing her every morning cleaning the lobby and hallways etc. we began speaking to eachother more then a hi and bye. Although we had a language barrier (my broken spanish and her broken english) we were still able to chat everyday. I think its great when you can make friends and interact with even the housekeepers!


All in all this place is awesome. If you've never been to San Diego and you want a top of the line hotel with great people to help you out this is the place. We will be returning very soon. Just remember you get what you pay for!

Room Tip: get a surf pad its ocean front and awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

So five of my closest girlfriends came down to PB for a a fun ladies trip. After doing some research we chose Tower 23 due to it's beautiful design and patio. We knew it was going to be pricy but once we arrived the price was no longer an issue. This hotel was worth EVERY PENNY.

Upon checking in we were giving a complimentary upgrade to a sky pad which was beautiful! We were able to access the patio from our balcony area and had a view of the ocean. This hotel rocked because you are in the center of all the bars and restaurants. So if you want to tear up the town your in the thick of it. If you are having a rough morning from your epic night out the patio is out of the way of all the ruckus and you will be waited on hand and foot by there beautiful staff.

Ivan...was excellent. From the moment we arrived he wanted to make us feel as comfortable as possible. If we wanted music to be louder he'd handle it, if you want some shade he's already got an umbrella ready for you, If you seem bored he'll pull Jenga out for you and challenge you and your friends to a game. Even if you just want some light conversation he will hang out and chat with you. Honestly best service I've ever received at a hotel.

Lacy... Was an excellent server. She was so accommodating and if your not from the area she will give you great advice about the local bars and restaurants.

Gregory... Your the man. From arrival he dealt with five squawking chicks and their endless amounts of luggage all with a smile on his face. Whenever we saw him around the hotel he'd say hello and ask us how out trip was going and would accommodate any needs we had.

After reading the Debbie Downer posts which complained mostly about the expense and not living up to expectations, I came to realize those who complained were looking for a totally different experience. They wanted a high class grand hotel, a downtown that is expensive and a bit more "mature." Well the staff and management understand the price is high so they make up for it by allowing you to bring your own food and drink to the patio area. So yes your paying quite a bit for the hotel but you get prime location, a killer staff, dodging expensive drink and food costs, and an excellent experience. Every one of us fell in love with this hotel and we are already planning a trip back in September just because of the beautiful experience we had from this weekend. Keep doing what your doing Tower 23 we will be meeting again soon...

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tower23 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower23 Hotel

Address: 4551 Ocean Boulevard, Between Felspar St. & Garnet Ave., San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
#40 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tower23 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an Endless Summer at TOWER23 Hotel Beachside and Ocean View Accommodations. Each room features a private balcony, flat screen TV and complimentary Wi-Fi, award-winning JRDN Restaurant offering Contemporary Surf + Turf, luxurious sun deck with fire pit and sweeping ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Tower23 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tower23 Hotel San Diego
Tower23 San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tower23 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.